We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place resonates sweet serenity.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bluewater Sumilon Island Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The place resonates sweet serenity.”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We had the day use package for only 1500 php and that already included a lunch buffet, hiking, snorkeling, kayaking, access to the infinity pool and the jacuzzi.

It was worth every penny we paid. The island is gorgeous that treats everyone with its fine white sand and crystal blue water. It's secluded away from the city, which definitely makes the experience more relaxing.

Check my full story here: http://vacationchecklist.blogspot.sg/search/label/Sumilon%20Island?m=1

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Neoxclinke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    163
    83
    33
    7
See reviews for
129
129
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kristiansund, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We just stayed there for a day, no room rental. First impression was that the resort has seen better days. The prices was high.

Quiet and not too many people. Nice view from the pool, but no beach to use by the hotel. The roads that leads to the hotel are very bumpy, even got punctured one weel on the car bringing us there.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kjeei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

Sumilion, as an island is just OUT OF THE WORLD!! it's a paradise which is once in a lifetime experience and memorable... The beach, sand bar , trek to light house are great experiences... The Cons:

1. Over priced, not value for money for sure
2. Need improvement on the infinity pool, it's not as cool as it looks in pics.. So u might be disappointed..

Overall a great place but definite scope of improvement.. Would I go back?? NO!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank palamitwipro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Always read reviews. I didn’t for this one for it was highly recommended by a friend. My fault.

I was really looking forward, in fact I was super excited for this trip since I’ve heard of the gentle giants/butanding, what could have been a great vacation for me turned out to be a disaster, I had 100+ bites I when I woke up on our 2nd day. I had never in my entire life been bitten with this amount. I had taken every precaution I can think of to tick away the bugs since I know that I attract insect/bugs. I even showed the crew my bites; he said it might be jellyfish.

The island and the resort have a charm in it if they had maintained it. I would have recommended it if it was preserved. It was very serene and peaceful but…
The room badly needs improvement as mentioned by most reviews (w/c I just read now). They need to update everything. They are adding up new cabins (currently constructing) instead of updating the old ones. On high tide you can appreciate the cabin area since it covers the dead corals. Pool needs lot of scrubbing. Pictures can be deceiving.

The area of the beach and dead corals has a lot of trash, it’s a shame they don’t attend to it. Unlimited kayaking but limited to a small lake? How can you even admire the beauty if you’re confined to that area? I understand the risk/safety precaution but hey they should hire MORE crew to serve as a lifeguard. I would not risk going beyond my limits. Badly need a manager to organize everything!

I personally love the crew from the dinning (kudos William - the running man); although they were unmanned they tried their best to attend to your needs.
I would return to oslob for the butanding and tumalog falls but not for sumillon island.

Lastly, cliché as it may sound, foreigner’s got a welcome visit at the dock by the information attendant, bags we’re being carried while we had to ask for a drink while we wait. Aren’t we paying the same???

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jadee018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bacolod City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

The island and the resort itself could be beautiful. What it lacks is a proper manager and more cooperation with the local community. The rooms are big but the air conditioning had a hard keeping the room cold. The rooms, resorts, equipment etc needs rehab and a makeover as they look dirty and old. The eternity pool is dirty as you have hardly visibility even when you have goggles under water. You would see trash around left by the other hotel guests around and the staff would be just looking at it rather than automatically picking it up. We went to the marine sanctuary and you would see loads of trash floating around as well as in the sand. Its a pitty cause the sanctuary could be nice you would see some parts with nice corrals and lots of fish, but then again you would see fisherman encroaching and fishing inside the reserve. The resort should cooperate with the local government to secure the (make it bigger) sanctuary properly as well as insure proper conduct of the guests with fines etc. If this place is managed properly within a few shorts years this place could bounce back and become a super eco tourism destination. The highlight of our trip was the whale shark watching which was not natural but a lot of fun never the less...This part I would highly recommend...Please Blue water resorts do more cause you have potential...

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dinogutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

The island and the facilities are very nice. A quiet and good place to relax and get away from everything. The sand is not very fine as its mostly a coral beach but snorkelers will enjoy the surrounding waters.

It's a small island and you can hike the entire place in an hour. There are kayaking and snorkeling gear that you can use for free.

The rooms are very big and will fit groups of up the 6 people in the room. Hot water is available and it's overall design fits the theme of the resort.

What disappointed me is the service and food choice/quality. The staff tries hard but their training may be inadequate. Food portions are very small for their price. The buffet disappoints as well.

I think that this place has great potential as it is a nice, quiet, and peaceful island. A few tweaks to the service and a review of their food/resto might do the trick.

Might be wise to bring some snacks but be a bit discrete about it at its generally not allowed. :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nelson Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Our family was really looking forward to this trip but we were disappointed when we got to the resort. The rooms really need a lot of repair and some updating. Rooms are really dark. You cant open the main sliding door to let some natural light in because it will make the room hotter and humid and defeat the purpose of having airconditioning on. There were a lot of holes in the window and door screens. The result - mosquitoes in the room! There are actually a LOT of mosquitoes in the whole resort and they are DENGUE carrying type. So me and and my family had OFF lotion all the time. There are also cockcroaches inside the room (big ones) and ants and lizards in the bathroom. :) The pool and jacuzzi is also dirty. Considering the resort rates are expensive, you would also expect better amenities and toiletries in the bathroom, but they are wanting in this area as well. The good points for the resort are the excellent staff - very accomodating and helpful. There is free and very fast wifi in the whole resort. Also the food (adobo rice and carbonara) is very good although a bit in the expensive side. Drinks are very very expensive. One coke costs around php 145. The beach is also so-so. I probably will not go back here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mzphr77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sumilon Island
6.2 mi away
Eden Resort
Eden Resort
#1 of 1 in Oslob
263 reviews
38.7 mi away
The Blue Orchid Resort
The Blue Orchid Resort
#1 of 6 in Moalboal
430 reviews
72.5 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 42 in Mactan Island
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
139.9 mi away
Tepanee Beach Resort
Tepanee Beach Resort
#2 of 13 in Malapascua Island
530 reviews
133.6 mi away
Kandaya Resort
Kandaya Resort
#1 of 1 in Daanbantayan
114 reviews
70.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 90 in Cebu City
3,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluewater Sumilon Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluewater Sumilon Island Resort

Property: Bluewater Sumilon Island Resort
Address: Sumilon Island, 6025, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Sumilon Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Sumilon Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bluewater Sumilon Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 24-hectare coral island, located on the Southeastern tip of Cebu, is home to Bluewater Sumilon. Pristine white sand beaches abound. Its sandbar is known for its changing shapes and shifting locations around the island, depending on the season. There is a natural lagoon teeming with high mangroves. On the south side, a lighthouse rests on a protected tree park and a "Baluarte", a 19th century historical watchtower. It is also home to the Philippines' first marine sanctuary.At Bluewater Sumilon, let the islander's easy-going friendliness shine through and keep the pace low-key enough to let you feel pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Travel Book Philippines, Inc. and Cancelon so you can book your Bluewater Sumilon Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sumilon Bluewater Island Hotel Sumilon Island
Bluewater Sumilon Island Resort Cebu Island, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing