We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to stay”
Review of Hotel Montmirail

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Montmirail
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Gigondas
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

A really characterful place in beautiful countryside, with a shady lawn and lovely quiet restaurant where we ate one of the best meals we've ever had in France. I suppose a minor criticism would be that the rooms were decorated in a contemporary, 'office' style rather than the antiquey, lavandery style they're crying out for, but that seems to be a problem right across this area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AAdolph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    58
    17
    6
    3
See reviews for
27
79
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sacramento, ca
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This property makes me feel like I've gone back in time, a genteel french resort set in an expansive space in nature. A swim in the pool was inviting and refreshing. Robes supplied in the rooms are worn to the pool. The garden and terrasse provide excellent places for lounging or having a drink. Many flowers and foliage create a pleasing ambiance. Dinner on the terrasse was a delight. On the demi pension menu I didn't want the beef. When I asked at the desk if there was another choice, I think he was the owner, said he would let me know. Later after we were seated he came to tell me the chef could prepare fish. So many clients, yet he remembered me and my request. The meal was superb, from the amuse bouche to the dessert. Each plate was not only a work of art, but the tastes and ingredients were the best. Excellent service with many employees at hand to make sure everyone was well taken care of. Petit déjeuné was the same. The room was a slight weak point. The bed sagged a little, and the decor was a little dark and austere. Otherwise, BRAVO!

Room Tip: We chose a corner room with two windows, one faced a stone wall and the other, an unused boules cour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chatfemme7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreux, Switzerland
Level Contributor
220 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,064 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Stayed 1 night here and it was nice and quiet, what we wanted while touring the aera. The hotel is outside Gigondas so you have to drive a few km/miles to find some shops or other restaurant. Hotel has it own restaurant which looked good but we've been in another place.
The staff was nice and polite and welcoming.
Room was big enough and bathroom was modern.

The only downside is that that the breakfast is served only until 9.30 am (on a Sunday).

Book a nice room and ask for a pool/terrace view.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwissAirTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
231 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Good service and meals but slightly degraded room facilities. Here the hotel does need some improvements. You need to speak some French to make your holidays enjoyable although the host does speak English and German, too. Whoever loves the openess of a French maitre, this is the right place to go. We are repeaters and still will be. The little downsides are acceptable when you get your dinner served: absolutely delicious - devine! It is the right place to relax and regain power!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank urbanwinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

This is one of our favourite places to spend 2 or 3 days when we visit Provence. It offers very good value. The owner is very helpful and friendly. The garden is lovely and shady - just the perfect spot to relax. The food is excellent and very reasonably priced. Also the hotel is in the midst of what I think is the best wine producing area in the south.

Looking forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShadeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedale, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Previously we stayed at this hotel by default as the hotel we had booked had closed down - fortunately Montmirail had some vacancies. Secluded hotel with lots of mature trees for shade in the heat of the Summer - plus a perfectly adequate pool to cool off in.Eating out on the terrace for breakfast and dinner is a real treat . In the evenings the patron comes round to each table for a chat and to take your orders - very accommodating if the set menu is not to your taste (he laughed that I did not like rabbit -"ah bunnies" was his response !!) Excellent quality food - great ambiance.

Room Tip: Book a cheaper basic room if you are not too bothered about luxury and a view. These rooms are at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This hotel is slightly off the beaten track, but less than 5 minutes from village of Vacqueyras so not too remote. My main concern would be the rooms are looking a bit dated and quite small so would benefit from a refresh. All staff were very helpful and welcoming. dinner and breakfast served on the outside terrace was lovely, although i think i was the only person in the hotel alone on business, mainly full of older couples and families having a nice holiday!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gigondas
0.6 mi away
Hotel Les Florets
Hotel Les Florets
#1 of 2 in Gigondas
178 reviews
3.0 mi away
La Bastide Bleue
La Bastide Bleue
#2 of 2 in Seguret
66 reviews
3.0 mi away
Domaine de Cabasse
Domaine de Cabasse
#1 of 2 in Seguret
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel le Pradet
Hotel le Pradet
#1 of 1 in Vacqueyras
62 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel La Bastide
Hotel La Bastide
#6 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
15 reviews
3.3 mi away
Le Relais des Dentelles
Le Relais des Dentelles
#2 of 2 in Beaumes-de-Venise
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montmirail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montmirail

Property: Hotel Montmirail
Address: Chateau des Eaux, Gigondas, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Gigondas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Gigondas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montmirail 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Montmirail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montmirail Hotel Gigondas
Hotel Montmirail Gigondas, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing