We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal place to explore the middle of Provence”
Review of Le Mas du Loriot

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Mas du Loriot
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Murs
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal place to explore the middle of Provence”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed three nights at the Le Mas du Loriot and found it an ideal place to explore the neighboring regions of Gordes, Senanc, Rousillion, Loumarin and Viens. The hotel probably has around 9 rooms and each room has a name. We stayed at the "Le Truffier" which has a nice terrace from where you can see the Milky Way on a clear night. Unfortunately this room has trees blocking the magnificent view into the valley - the rooms next to the "Le Truffier" have a better view.

The room was moderately clean and the heart decoration might be a bit overdone and not typical Provence style. A new shower curtain would be a good investment to upgrade the rooms appearance.

The patron is friendly and the breakfast with the tasty home made jam a perfect way to start off the day.

As dinner is not always served at the Le Mas du Loriot, the patron recommended the restaurant at the Le Crillon in Murs to a dinner which is was an excellent suggestion. Murs is a quiet village right next to the touristic Gordes.

Room Tip: If you want to enjoy the magnificent view into the vally it is better not to take the room "le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJ A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claude p, Propriétaire at Le Mas du Loriot, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear Sir, dear Madam,
Thank you for filing this notice on tripAdvisor.
Owner of the hotel since only 4 months. We are renovating the hotel and measure and will tackle what has disappointed you during your stay: Trees in front of the room will be cut this fall.
For the decoration of the room, we are sorry that it not completely satisfied you.
We have chosen the option to make all different, some very Provencal, others less.
For cleanliness, I am amazed that you have found it moderately clean and I apologize. We are not immune to an oversight and should therefore not hesitate to tell what is wrong when you are here to correct defects immediately.
We hope to see again you among us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    21
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
78
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

My fiance and I were travelling by car through France, Spain and Italy for 3 weeks and enjoyed Le Mas du Loriot as our 'base camp' travelling to Avignon, Arles, Gordes. All I can say about our experience at this 'hotel' was incredible! The owners have shown an extreme attention to detail and a real appreciation for what a traveller needs. The breakfast on the patio was unbelievable. The professionalism and thoroughness were unprecedented. The views into the valley were breathtaking. The room we stayed in was absolutely perfect!

From a practical point of view, for travellers choosing this location, just have a plan for lunch and dinner as the location is in the country and closest restaurants are in Gordes so make sure you eat dinner before returning. We brought back some cheese, wine, bread and olives one evening and ate on the balcony which was a treat.

You won't be disappointed with this choice! Would love to return one day.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank restless1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claude p, Propriétaire at Le Mas du Loriot, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Google Translation
Madame, Monsieur,

Vous avez passé un agréable séjour dans notre établissement et nous en sommes contents et vous remercions pour l'écriture de ce message.
Concernant les restaurants je voudrais simplement rectifié le fait que vous indiquez que les restaurants se trouvent uniquement à Gordes. En effet il y a des restaurants plus près: un à Murs (1km) et 4 restaurants, dans une gamme très variée, à Joucas (3 km).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Le Mas du Loriot is perfectly located for visiting the Provence Region all must see places are less than hour drive. If you do not want to drive it is quiet and relaxing place to stay in all day long.
We got spacious room with terrace and stunning view of Luberon. Room and bathroom were very clean and elegant decorated. If you spend evening in a hotel the only you could hear it is sound of the birds and smells of the flowers.
The owners are very helpful. Thank you for wonderful holidays.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AAvilnius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Le Mas du Loriot was a delight, we stayed here for a 2 night romantic break. It is perfectly located for visiting the Luberon Region, everything worth seeing was within 30 minutes drive away..Gordes, Lacoste, Rousillon..all nearby.

The owners were lovely and friendly, the breakfast was delicious but the view was absolutely stunning!! from our balcony and from the terrace. Nothing could be heard but the sounds of the birds, we even saw a woodpecker in a tree near the balcony.

The room was simple but elegant, the bed was comfortable and there was plenty of space and a good wardrobe. We hope to go back.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoJoEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murs
0.6 mi away
Le Mas des Herbes Blanches
2.4 mi away
Hotel la Cle des Champs
Hotel la Cle des Champs
#1 of 6 in Roussillon
253 reviews
2.6 mi away
Auberge de Carcarille
Auberge de Carcarille
#12 of 25 in Gordes
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Le Clos de la Glycine
Le Clos de la Glycine
#2 of 6 in Roussillon
255 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Crillon Hotel
Le Crillon Hotel
#2 of 2 in Murs
135 reviews
5.1 mi away
Mas de la Senancole
Mas de la Senancole
#11 of 25 in Gordes
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Mas du Loriot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mas du Loriot

Property: Le Mas du Loriot
Address: route de Joucas, 84220 Murs, Gordes, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Luberon > Gordes > Murs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Murs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Luberon, between Gordes and Roussillon, this small charming hotel of nine rooms, in the middle of the scrubland and its scents, offers you calm and serenity.A swimming pool surrounded by pine trees, a large park planted in dry-stone terraces will allow you to relax after your day walking on the many trails or visit neighbouring villages (Gordes, Roussillon, Menerbes, Bonnieux, Isle sur la Sorgue...)You can also enjoy a superb view of the Luberon, private terrace for each room and the opportunity to dine in the evening on the panoramic terrace.We can also advise you the best places in the area for walks, visits and restaurants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Le Mas du Loriot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing