We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“French chic with blissful beds”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bezenac
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Borie des Combes
Ranked #1 of 1 Bezenac B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“French chic with blissful beds”
Reviewed 12 November 2010

We are so lucky to have found this place! Charming, comfortable and every little detail covered. We stayed at the main house, loved the decor (Jeri is so talented) Some of the most comfortable beds in France. Both Jeri and Paul were so helpful about the area and places to eat and visit. Set above the beautiful dordogne valley we were blessed with wonderful autumn weather. We will be back!!! Anne and James, Santa Maria. CA

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank APenfold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    2
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 28 October 2010

We recently returned from a month long trip in France. Every day was wonderful, but the highlight of our trip was a week in La Maison at La Borie des Combes. The location is perfect, in the center of the Perigord Noir, overlooking the Dordogne River in the distance and just minutes from Beynac, Saint Cyprian, Sarlat and more castles than one can climb. La Maison itself, while a centuries old stone farmhouse, has been brought completely up to date and appointed in exquisite Country French style. From the moment we walked in we felt "at home". We loved the big country kitchen, with everything a chef could need and the bedrooms were lovely retreats, with comfy beds (even robes for our use!) Our favorite times were relaxing in the beautiful courtyard with a glass of wine, while picking herbs & tomatoes from the garden. As if this weren't enough, the owners Paul & Jeri, are two of the most warm, gracious and helpful hosts you'll ever meet. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wishard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 September 2010

This magical property is a 13th century farmhouse with thick stone walls, and just oozing french charm and vitality. You feel like you are in another world and we are planning on going back in May of 2011, in fact we have already booked our stay. We will be spending a week in Paris and then travel down to the Dordogne area for a relaxing week. Our hosts Jeri and Paul were so gracious and extremely knowledgable about the entire area. We were here with another couple who stayed in the studio and were very pleased with their accomodations. It is a peaceful and private location yet close to all the castles, the famous caves, the Dordogne River and Sarlat(wonderful delicious cafes). The countryside is lovely and green and you can take long walks from the chateau.

We stayed in Chambre Gold and plan on staying in this inviting room again for a week as we visit some more of the sites in the surrounding areas. La Borie Des Combs is a great place to stay as you explore this wonderfull gorgeous area of France. We can't wait to go back and see our delightful hosts, their beautiful Collie, and the friendly French people. What a delight...

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank auburn30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2010

"La Maison" : we paid for three weeks renting a "house" with two bedrooms, sitting room, large "fully equipped" kitchen, "full bathroom" in a "large private courtyard" and invited friends to stay with us.

What a shock : what we got was part of the dirty, dismal ground floor with the owner living upstairs, pounding around and day and night over our heads or screaming down from his open window. No dish-washer, a microscopic sink, no telephone, no TV and no internet after the 1st week. We had to hire a maid to clean just to be able to put away our food ! A narrow, dark 3/4 bathroom with the only toilet - accessible from our gloomy bedroom only through the sitting room and the kitchen (no door between our bedroom and the sitting room). The "private courtyard" was to be shared with other guests (6 or more) for acccess and parking.
NO PRIVACY whatsoever… and a very misleading web site.
We all fled after the second week as it was not a holiday but a siege - daily harassment and threats of expulsion for us having to hire a maid !
An awful experience.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ldltgw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wwwfrancestonehouse, Owner at La Borie des Combes, responded to this review, 4 December 2010
We know that when you are dealing with the public you can’t please all of the people all of the time, no matter how hard you try. We honestly feel badly about how this couple perceived our property and wish they could have enjoyed their stay here. However, it quickly became apparent that there was nothing that would have made them happy. They rented La Maison, which is the original 600 year old heart of this property, which over the years has been added onto and upgraded into a charming accommodation. I think they were looking for a Chateau experience, rather than a more simple farmhouse experience.

It’s unfortunate that these guests didn’t take the time to read our website more carefully. If they had done that, perhaps they wouldn’t have been so disappointed in their choice. They tried to make us responsible for the choice that they had made, after envisioning things that weren’t actually offered. They expected total privacy and no shared areas. One casual look at our website should have told them, with four distinctly different rental areas, that would not be the case. That would only be the case if they rented a stand alone house, with no other rentals anywhere on the property.

While it is disturbing to us to see such negative comments posted here, we choose to look at this as an opportunity to learn how to better serve our guests and we’ll be taking this opportunity to continue that constant quest.

The bottom line here is....If even ONE of their derogatory, misleading comments about our property (and us) were true, we wouldn’t have survived one season in this business, let alone years. Going into our fourth year of renting, we can honestly say that we have had some of the most delightful guests stay with us. Some have become lifelong friends and bought properties here because of their brief stay with us. We feel truly blessed to have had so many wonderful guests stay here, who have enriched our lives tremendously.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Applegate, CA
1 review
Reviewed 8 September 2010

I've been to France before but never to this area, and I found it to be really very charming, beautiful and magical. In the Fall, when I was there, chestnuts were on the ground, figs were ripe, and fields of yellow corn filled the valley. I loved it. Spent a week with Paul and Jeri at la Borie des Combes, and found the quiet village of Bezenac to be so nice, I kept looking at the other houses and wondering if they were for sale (non, alas!). La Borie has a stunning view from the courtyard out over the valley and the river below. We had several long lunches in the courtyard with wine flowing freely, and Paul and Jeri were very congenial hosts. They go out of their way to make you feel welcome, and are very knowledgeable about the area. This is good, because there is a lot to see and do in the Dordogne. We also loved their collie, Hula. She is a sweetie!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyJacquelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopkinton, MA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2010

My wife and I felt compelled to write a review of Les Borie des Combes after seeing several negative reviews posted by others. These reviews are completely unfair and inaccurate based on our 10 day visit.

Les Borie des Combes is a delightfully charming place located in the Dordogne region of France. The property is known as a gîte, which is a French holiday home that is available for rent. The property is divided into a four sections. La Maison and the Artist Loft sections are more spacious sections. Chambre Gold and the Studio are essentially single bedrooms. The weekly rates for each section are very reasonable.

There were three things we liked most about our visit: 1) our hosts; 2) the property; and 3) the region.

Our hosts - The best part of staying at Les Borie des Combes was Paul & Jeri, the property owners. They generally stay in one of the sections because this is where they live. They are warm wonderfully accommodating hosts who made our visit special. From sharing wine in their courtyard to telling us what we should see and do, they were terrific. Our experience was significantly richer because of their presence. The other guests that were there during our visit shared this sentiment.

The Property - The property is a 13th or 14th century farmhouse that sits on the side of a hill overlooking the Dordogne River and valley. Since the property was built in medieval times guests shouldn’t show up expecting all the modern amenities found in a Ritz Carlton in New York City. You go to a place like this to experience the medieval architecture, charm, history, and beauty it has to offer. The property is clean, well-maintained, and oozes with charm. You get the feel of living in a different time and place. We particularly enjoyed the courtyard area. It offers a cozy area to enjoy the spectacular views of the valley and setting sun below, as well as an opportunity to sit, talk and share wine with Paul, Jeri and their guests. We loved being there.

The Region - The Dordogne region has to be seen to be appreciated. We thought it was one of the most beautiful and picturesque places we’ve ever seen. The property is situated right smack in the middle of all this beauty. We had a thoroughly enjoyable time doing some of these things: 1) visiting the cool surrounding towns, like Sarlat, Domme, Saint Cyprien, Belves, La Rogue-Gageac and La Bugue; 2) canoeing down the Dordogne River, 3) Eating at wonderful outdoor restaurants and buying croissants and pastries in the local French bakeries; 4) going to farmer’s markets; and 5) visiting lovely castles and gardens. And contrary to what you may hear in the American press, the people were warm, welcoming and friendly.

Our visit was one of the best vacations we ever had. We hope to return again someday. We loved this place.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hop-Hillers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2010

Our trip to the Dordogne River Valley was magical and the most beautiful place we have ever visited in France. There was so much to do and see, yet it was totally relaxing and carefree. We spent two weeks at La Borie des Combes and found the location perfect. The house sits high on a hillside in a peaceful setting with lawn and garden, and guarantees a quiet nights sleep.

Paul and Jeri are welcoming hosts; they were in the yard to welcome us when we arrived, and graciously provided us with our first bottle of local wine. They are exceptionally knowledgeable of the history of the region, and go out of their way to make your stay pleasant.

Whether you seek long walks on well-marked nature paths, boat rides down the Dordogne River, exploring prehistory by visiting the amazing caves of Lascaux II or Font-de-Gaume, visiting chateaus/castles high above the river valley, or wandering in awe through the lovely medieval villages and towns, you will find much to do in the Dordogne Region. La Borie des Combes is a perfect place to base yourself to explore this incredible area….we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amf1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to La Borie des Combes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Borie des Combes

Property: La Borie des Combes
Address: 24220 Bezenac, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Bezenac
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bezenac
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
La Borie Des Combes France/Bezenac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing