We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bliss in Bezenac”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bezenac
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Borie des Combes
Ranked #1 of 1 Bezenac B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 December 2010

Didn't know what to expect from my first rental experience in France but it was lovely. The Dordogne region is magnificent......visually stunning, great food, full of history. As for this charming B&B, it was such a delight, we stayed on for a few more days. Paul and Jeri became friends almost immediately. Never intrusive, they made suggestions about what to eat/drink/see locally then joined us for walks with their friendly collie Hula. The area is worth investigating and La Borie des Combes is a delightful place to savor the experience.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JerseySue29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2010

We are two Australian couples who have made three journeys together to France. In so doing we like to stay in villages for one week before moving on to the next. In September just past, we had a week at Lacoste in the Luberon before driving via Luchon to the tiny Dordogne village of Bezenac and “La Borie des Combe”.

Here we found a rustic French farmhouse with spacious rooms furnished in a provincial style that made one feel right at home in the French countryside With Paul and Jeri the friendly, communicative owners living quietly upstairs, a well kept garden with plentiful herbs and tomatoes we knew from the moment of our arrival that our stay would be a happy and contented on. All our evening meals were prepared in the no fuss kitchen/dining area with its adequate storage space and wash up area which overlooks the garden. A short walk from the house we discovered a fig tree that provided us with a caramelized desert which, washed down with a good sticky wine was yummooooo. Yes, it was a very relaxing and enlightening week.

As a base to tour the Dordogne region “La Borie des Combe” is ideal. One does not have to travel far to enjoy the scenic beauty of the region or the earthiness of the small villages, their markets and their people.

Would we return to “La Borie de Combe”? Unfortunately life is too short to do repeats but we are quite happy to recommend this property to anyone who has a love for the French countryside, its produce and its people. It was truly value for money. Of course there must always be one negative thus it was disappointing that the bakery just down the road chose our time of year to close for renovations. Life’s tough!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rlg73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2010

What a wonderful way to visit our favorite region of France. Our visit at La Borie des Combes surpassed all of our expectations. Hosts Jeri and Paul were so very charming and helpful. Their home became our home, and was decorated with a loving touch rarely found in a vacation rental. The living room/lounge has a beautiful wood burning stove of white enamel, brightly colored sofas and chairs, and charming French Country decor. Jeri really has that touch, it was not only displayed here but throughout the house. The bedrooms were warm and inviting and the bathroom had wonderful towels and bathrobes, a truly rare find that was much appreciated. The kitchen was amazing, you can still see the ancient fireplace and sink area just adding to the ambiance of the home. The location was central to visiting all our favorite markets and sites and the common area was a fun way to meet the "neighbors" staying in other areas of the property. We will definitely return

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jdmanv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2010

Staying at La Borie des Combes in the Dordogne Valley was part of a larger trip around France and Spain that included a tiny town in the Pyrenees, and several places in Spain. Our stay with Paul and Jeri at La Borie des Combes was absolutely the best part of the trip. Their place is lovely, overlooking the Dordogne River, just minutes to LesCaux about 1/2 hour to Sarlat and 2 hours to Bordeaux with wonderful sights all along both routes. In fact, I liked it so much that I am returning to stay for a month in March of 2011 and again in October of 2011. The rooms/apartments are self catering, so be prepared to shop and cook or head to Sarlat or one of the other close by towns for great food and wine. This place is a gem for those who enjoy the beauty and tranquility of being in a tiny hamlet in the Dordogne Valley.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimmterrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2010

We are so lucky to have found this place! Charming, comfortable and every little detail covered. We stayed at the main house, loved the decor (Jeri is so talented) Some of the most comfortable beds in France. Both Jeri and Paul were so helpful about the area and places to eat and visit. Set above the beautiful dordogne valley we were blessed with wonderful autumn weather. We will be back!!! Anne and James, Santa Maria. CA

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank APenfold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2010

We recently returned from a month long trip in France. Every day was wonderful, but the highlight of our trip was a week in La Maison at La Borie des Combes. The location is perfect, in the center of the Perigord Noir, overlooking the Dordogne River in the distance and just minutes from Beynac, Saint Cyprian, Sarlat and more castles than one can climb. La Maison itself, while a centuries old stone farmhouse, has been brought completely up to date and appointed in exquisite Country French style. From the moment we walked in we felt "at home". We loved the big country kitchen, with everything a chef could need and the bedrooms were lovely retreats, with comfy beds (even robes for our use!) Our favorite times were relaxing in the beautiful courtyard with a glass of wine, while picking herbs & tomatoes from the garden. As if this weren't enough, the owners Paul & Jeri, are two of the most warm, gracious and helpful hosts you'll ever meet. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wishard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2010

This magical property is a 13th century farmhouse with thick stone walls, and just oozing french charm and vitality. You feel like you are in another world and we are planning on going back in May of 2011, in fact we have already booked our stay. We will be spending a week in Paris and then travel down to the Dordogne area for a relaxing week. Our hosts Jeri and Paul were so gracious and extremely knowledgable about the entire area. We were here with another couple who stayed in the studio and were very pleased with their accomodations. It is a peaceful and private location yet close to all the castles, the famous caves, the Dordogne River and Sarlat(wonderful delicious cafes). The countryside is lovely and green and you can take long walks from the chateau.

We stayed in Chambre Gold and plan on staying in this inviting room again for a week as we visit some more of the sites in the surrounding areas. La Borie Des Combs is a great place to stay as you explore this wonderfull gorgeous area of France. We can't wait to go back and see our delightful hosts, their beautiful Collie, and the friendly French people. What a delight...

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank auburn30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to La Borie des Combes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Borie des Combes

Address: 24220 Bezenac, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Bezenac
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bezenac
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
La Borie Des Combes France/Bezenac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing