We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great camp ground”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Karijini Eco Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed at Karijini for two nights camping in our tent. The camp sites are really big and spaced out. The bathroom facilities are clean. We will be coming back. The gorges are amazing. In this trip we did numerous gorges and walks. With highlights Kermits Pool and Knox Gorge.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Zobey88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda H, Sales & Marketing Director at Karijini Eco Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Hello Zobey88,

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Karijini Eco Retreat. It is great to know that you appreciated the camp site size and facilities available - and we thank you for sharing this information with future travellers looking to stay in the Karijini National Park - we believe we offer terrific value and an excellent location. It is also great to hear that you made the most of the stunning gorges. We agree that Kermit's Pool and Knox Gorge are fantastic. There are so many wonderful sites and gorges to explore - it would take another few visits to experience them all - each one more beautiful than the next....

We look forward to seeing you next time Zobey88!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (510)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

345 - 351 of 510 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

We had 4 fantastic nights here enjoying the park, the gorges, and the hospitality. The staff were very friendly and obliging. The only disappointment was the nearby tent that stayed up tip 2am one morning - noise carries great distances in this environment. To the staff's credit, they rectified the situation.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank Tommyp1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda H, Sales & Marketing Director at Karijini Eco Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Hello Tommyp1974,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us - we are delighted to hear you enjoyed the experiences in the National Park and our hospitality. It is truly fantastic to know that you received outstanding service from our staff - I shall ensure they are advised of your kind words. We sincerely apologise for the noise, we do our utmost to enforce our 9.30pm noise curfew and deal with noise curfew breaks in a serious manner. On occasion, there are still some situations where the guest does not fully comply which is frustrating.

Thank you again for the valuable feedback, we hope to welcome you back in the future!

Kindest regards from the team at Karijini Eco Retreat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We have just left the park and we are sad to leave. We spent 4 magnicient nights in the Eco Retreat where there was more than just gorges. The huge abundance of stars each night was a treat. However the gorges is what we went to see. They were truly beautiful. We walked to the bottom of many but our personal favourite was the Kalamini gorge where we walked all the way to the arch. The waterfalls on the way were very tranquil. We were lucky to get a large king bed which was very comfortable and the room itself was large and well designed. A lovely ensuite with very hot water was very relaxing at the end of each day. The restaurant was excellent. The food was great and a good selection to choose from. Each team member was very knowledgable, helpful and treated us very well. The nights were cold at this time of year! But the days were glorious! A big thank you to the Karjini team for making our experience and the start of retirement off with a great start.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Humps56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda H, Sales & Marketing Director at Karijini Eco Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Hello Humps56.

Congratulations on your retirement! We are delighted you enjoyed your time at Karijini Eco Retreat and chose this stunning destination as a leap into a wonderful new lifestyle that we are certain you will make the most of. It is fantastic to hear that you explored the gorges and enjoyed the waterfalls and night sky. We are very happy to know that you were satisfied with the deluxe eco tent with large bed and en-suite with solar hot water. It is also great to know that you enjoyed our restaurant and found our a la carte menu attractive -thank you for sharing that! I have passed on the positive feedback and congratulated the team on providing outstanding service. It is true that the nights have been very cold - thus we offer complimentary water bottle hire from reception. Best to pack warm winter woollies for the nights! We wish you the very best for your retirement years and many wonderful experiences ahead.

Happy regards from the Karijini management and staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We spend five nights camping in our tent at the Eco Retreat. We were undecided about which of the two campgrounds in Karijini to use but on advice from a friend chose the Eco Retreat.
After seeing the other option during our visit I am glad we stayed here.
The campsites were well spaced out, every twenty or so sites share two showers, two toilets and a bbq area. There showers a solar powered so it is best to get in around 5PM when the water is still warm. There is no mobile phone coverage but there is a public phone box. The restaurant and bar seemed popular but I did not eat there. Wi Fi is available at the bar for $5 for 30 mins.
This site is within walking distance of Joffre Gorge - a great swimming hole. It is also a short drive to the other gorges. My wife and I loved every minute of our stay here. Very comfortable bush camping.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank howhardwasthis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda H, Sales & Marketing Director at Karijini Eco Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Hello Howhardwasthis.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on the advice of your friend - we are delighted with the positive review and thank you also for highlighting the facilities so clearly to future travellers. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Karijini Eco Retreat and that you appreciated our excellent facilities and took advantage of our solar heating system, BBQs, flushing toilets, telephone and WifFi. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the amazing gorges and utilised our convenient and scenic location. We wish you safe an happy travels and wonderful experiences ahead.

Kindest regards from the Karijini team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a deluxe eco tent, the tent was well set out with own ensuite. Maybe a bit close to other tents due to our very drunk loud neighbors. You pay big $$$ for the eco tents but its worth it for a once in a life time bucket list experience. Make shore you climb all the way to the bottom of nearby joffrey gorge. We also dined at the restaurant which was not overly excellent but yet again worth it for the experience. I would also like to thank Chloe for her professional welcoming service and Karen for her very friendly bubbly service. Well done ladys good service is hard to find. My only other tip if you are thinking about staying is bring extra jumpers.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Holidaybugaustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiBelow, Sales & Marketing Manager at Karijini Eco Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2015

Hello Holidaybugaustralia and thank you for the review.

We are very pleased to hear that you received excellent service and delighted to pass this feedback on to our team. It is also great to not that you have ticked off a 'must do' and made the most of our gorge-side location.
Our price is a reflection to our remote location and the limitations which govern the operation of a wilderness retreat in a National Park. We have a 9.30pm noise curfew and we apologise that it was not adequately respected by all of our guests during your stay.
Unfortunately, it does get very cold in the park during the winter nights, during this time, we are happy to supply our guests with hot water bottles for comfort and extra clothes are recommended.
Thank you again for the feedback - we are proud of our customer service and the wonderful team that enhanced your experience.

All the best for your future travels from everyone at Karijijni Eco Retreat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Nice bush camping place with hot showers and kitchen facilities. Good size sites and well spaced. Easy drive to multiple gorges. Lots of bush animals for the kids to see. The kitchen and bar is worth a night out as well.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Gerrad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda H, Sales & Marketing Director at Karijini Eco Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Hello Gerard, thank you for the fantastic review. It is great to know that you were pleased with our facilities, campsites and convenient location. We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable time in our restaurant and bar - we agree it is a "must" when staying with us - great menu, super service and affordable too!. It sounds like you and your family took delight in the amazing outdoors which is key to the outback experience. Thank you also for choosing to stay with us and we hope you can come back and visit us again to re-live the magic that is Karijini.

Kindest regards,

Amanda and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Overall: an impressive campground and retreat. Offers camping with toilets and showers as well as Eco tend accom. Licensed bar and resteraunt on site. Beautiful setting, nice big sites, friendly helpful staff and a hot shower at the end of the day.
Location: close to Weano gorge right in the middle of the park. And backing onto Joffre gorge. A great base.
Cleanliness: very well maintained facilities
Food: the bar and resteraunt on site do great food, and offer sunset picnic packages
Staff: friendly and helpful
Other: the retreat also offers yoga, stargazing, gorge tours and info. Cold drinks and ice available.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megs B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda H, Sales & Marketing Director at Karijini Eco Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Hello Megs B,

Thank you for the fantastic review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Karijini Eco Retreat. It is great to know that our staff provided you with exceptional service and that you made the most of our bar, restaurant and sunset experience. We are pleased to hear our facilities were appreciated and met your expectations. It sounds like you have also taken advantage of our convenient location and enjoyed visiting the beautiful gorges. Thank you for sharing the love! We hope to see you again soon and wish you happy travels!

Kindest regards from the Karijini Crew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Karijini Eco Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karijini Eco Retreat

Address: Savannah Campground Weano Road | Easy Access Only 3km of Unsealed Road, Karijini National Park, Western Australia 6571, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > The Pilbara > Karijini National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Karijini National Park
Price Range: £101 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Karijini Eco Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KARIJINI ECO RETREAT - Designed with the environment in mind - the semi-permanent deluxe eco tents, cabins, campground and facilities incorporate eco friendly practices which ensure environmentally sustainable management of the natural and cultural values of one of the most ancient landscapes on earth. A short walk trail leads directly from the campground into Joffre Gorge - stand at the top and you'll find yourself overwhelmed by this powerful creation of nature. Whether you are camping or 'glamping'(glamorous camping)- the retreat offers the perfect solution for travellers seeking to blend a rugged encounter in the pristine Karijini National Park, with the soft creature comforts that are not traditionally associated with camping. An outback style licensed alfresco restaurant adds glamorous flair to a 'gorgeous' day of trekking whilst the sunset slowly merges with an endless blanket of stars that seem to reflect the timelessness of this place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Karijini Eco Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing