We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not sure of Eco part”
Review of Eco-Omo Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jinka
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Eco-Omo Lodge
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Nice but not sure of Eco part”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

The lodge consists of several large "tented" rooms. The only "eco" part I could notice was that the water taps would only run 10 seconds before you had to tap them again. The shower drain in our room was clogged and we could not get it fixed until the next day, and the mosquito tent on one of the beds was too small to close. We had to hang some clothes over the opening until they bought another net the next day to cover the gap. Electricity was limited, from a generator. Despite location out of town, it was noisy with music in the evening and lots of cattle sounds all night long. The food was only OK, despite our guide saying we should expect the best of the trip - one evening was a limited buffet that they closed up quickly, the second night had some average a la carte choices. Maybe the chef others mention was not there. WiFi was from 5 to 7PM only, and then only while sitting next to the bar. But, once connected, it worked fine. Lots of upside if they keep at it.

Room Tip: Check the room amenities - mosquito net especially - ASAP.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garybirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    60
    38
    11
    5
See reviews for
22
50
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

As others have said, this lodge provides 'tented cabins' with comfortable beds, mossie nets, en-suite bathroom - but limited electricity as you might expect in this location. We had hot water from 6-9pm at night but nothing the next morning. This was provided by having drums of cold water being heated over wood fires outside the cabins and piped to the bathroom - hence the unreliability!
Our dinner was buffet-style as there were a couple of groups also dining but this was very good with home-made Italian food and Ethiopian dishes. We had minestrone soup, choice of lasagne, penne with bolognese or tomato sauce, chinese vegetables with rice, stir-fried beef tibs, and for dessert there was 'puddino di latte' (Italian milk pudding which was very good).
However, the buffet cost 300Birr each which was expensive by Ethiopian standards and the only wine available was Italian at 450Birr a bottle - but it was lovely!
The owners - Frederico and Tamara - are very pleasant, attentive and speak excellent English.
Staying here is overall a good, different experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank silversurfer6550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Okay, there is a flush toilet and sporadically hot shower attached to your tent, but that's it for the glam part of this camping experience.
Not having to bring a sleeping bag does not constitute glamping.
Glamping is about high level service, pampering and luxury in tented accommodation.
This was more like a motel made up of very basic tents.
Very limited electricity accounts for the 'eco' label.
The main building, equally bland but with 'good bones', houses the restaurant which was going to be remodeled soon after our stay.
Someone knows what their doing in the kitchen.
The food was some of the best we ate in our 16 days in Ethiopia!
In many cases, in both southern and northern Ethiopia, extremely limited accommodation/dining options result in a lack of competition that has lead to serious mediocrity.
The manager here is young, bright, hardworking and motivated.
She shared plans for improvements with us and it sounds like the coming changes to the main building will make a big difference in creating some atmosphere where none currently exists.
Our recommendation- take a walk down to the river in the late afternoon...

This is one Ethiopian property on the rise.

Room Tip: They are not all the same. Some are twin beds and others are doubled bed. If you want to share body...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ritajeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We enjoyed our 1 night stay at Eco-Omo lodge. It is quite far out of town (maybe there is a short cut walking but by road was about 10mins) and the accommodation is set around a large, green field with a stream at the bottom. It feels peaceful and a nice respite from the busy town and crazy roads/driving to get there!

Accommodation is in tents with a thatched roof. This means it can be quite chilly, but they provide extra blankets. Each tent has a large double bed with mosquito net, chair, and a seating area out front. The bathrooms are not great, water pressure is low and the bathroom is small and a little dingy, but it was clean and we had hot water when we needed it (not sure if it is 24 hour or not).

There are little paths and lights leading to the main eating area, which is a big room with a terraced seating area outside. The food was some of the best we had in Ethiopia, the owners are Italian and import some cheese and meat so we had delicious panini sandwiches (not being a fan of Ethiopian food this was a real treat and change from spaghetti with tomato sauce!)

We didn't use wi-fi so can't comment, personally I love being cut off from home sometimes! The staff were all very lovely and friendly.

My only complaint, and it's not really the hotel's fault, is that it was very noisy. We were woken up at 4am by cocks crowing, and from about 5am onwards the sounds of the town were loud and clear in our bedroom! Not much you can do apart from bring ear plugs and wake up to enjoy the sunrise.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilovetravel16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed at Eco-Omo last week; it was more than I expected and a real treat after a long drive. This is my type of camping.. or should I say glamping. Of course, you expect electricity and Wi-Fi to be restricted; but even though this is Ethiopia, where electricity is never reliable, and this is an Eco lodge and a long long way from the Addis; we didn't find the restrictions at all problematic; actually, we enjoyed the lack of Wi-Fi as it meant we sat with a glass of wine and talked instead of burying our heads in our respective laptops!! Food, especially the selection at lunch was great and a real treat. And the service was second to none; the staff was exceptional. We spent some eight days travelling around the area, from Awassa to Arba Minch and Jinka; Eco-Omo certainly lived up to expectations and promises; something you don't often find here. Well done Eco-Omo; I look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank French M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarnia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

When we arrived we had no running water..however, the staff quickly remedied the situation. We were disappointed that the wifi service was limited to two hours.
The dinner was satisfactory but the only option available is from the buffet which was way overpriced. ( about two or three times what we paid in much nicer locales.)Since you are too far from JInka you really have no other option but to eat there and they seem to take advantage of that in gouging the tourist.
Staff were pleasant and helpful. " rustic " accommodation and lovely wooded setting ....

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jinka hotels

Herzliya, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
357 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

well equipped tents . good light up to 10pm. than-no electricity up to 0600am. warm water . bathroom maintenance is not great. broken plumbing. free Wi-Fi only 2 hours at the evening in dinning room. food is fair. road aren't paved.

Room Tip: all tents are the same. better stay near the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zippi_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jinka
0.0 mi away
Paradise Lodge Arbaminch
Paradise Lodge Arbaminch
#1 of 6 in Arba Minch
439 reviews
0.0 mi away
Goha Hotel
Goha Hotel
#1 of 14 in Gonder
338 reviews
0.0 mi away
Haile Resort Hawassa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Blue Nile Resort Hotels
Blue Nile Resort Hotels
#4 of 16 in Bahar Dar
111 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tukul Village
Tukul Village
#2 of 9 in Lalibela
412 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jupiter International Hotel - Bole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eco-Omo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eco-Omo Lodge

Property: Eco-Omo Lodge
Address: Jinka, Jinka, Ethiopia
Region: Ethiopia > Southern Nations, Nationalities, and People's Region > Jinka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Jinka
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing