We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Red Tin Roof
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Royal Hotel(Riebeek Kasteel)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riebeek Valley Hotel(Riebeek-West)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ridgeback House(Windmeul)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (141)
Filter reviews
141 results
Traveller rating
91
36
7
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
91
36
7
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscape townsunday lunchcentral loungefeel so welcomecomfortable accommodationguest housewater shortagepumpkin frittersunusual decorfairy lightsper headfriendly and efficient staffkind of placewarm atmospherecountry pubbacon eggspleasant stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
129 - 134 of 141 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2012

On a recent trip to Cape Town, I took a journey to Riebeek Kasteel and stayed at this beautiful little guest house. It was a relaxing experiene from the minute I walked in the door. Michael and George. the owners were the most gracious hosts.
The rooms are quite large and luxuriously decoarated The bed was so amazing, I did not want to get out of it
The food was delicious from a simple burer on one night to the grilled King Klip the next. The bar had a friendly mix of locals and other visitors from around the world.
I had a wonderful time and cannot wait to return on my ext trip to South Africa. Michele

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We have just had a superb weekend away to Traveller's Rest. George and Michael were fantastically welcoming, and the food was way beyond expectations. The room was very comfortable, and overall the stay was excellent! Thank you so much.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SammyScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Travellers Rest Guesthouse. The rooms are beautiful and cosy, and the food is excellent. George and Michael are the perfect hosts, they made us feel welcome and we felt very comfortable and relaxed. I can highly recommend the Travellers Rest Guesthouse, and we will definitely visit them again. Great value for money!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malinda v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

I have tried a few other establishments in Riebeek Kasteel but find myself returning to The Traveller's Rest time and time again. George and Michael are the perfect hosts and their establishment offers comfort and proximity to all the best attractions in town. Well appointed rooms with big fluffy towels and the shade of a giant Karee tree make this a must stay! And dont think of eating anywhere else but in their own restaurant - delicious country cooking with the added flair that sets them apart from the rest.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Travelers Rest is a wonderful secret hidden away in a beautiful part of the Western Cape. Only an hour from Cape Town but a different world. Typically the weather here is much warmer and the pool and garden setting make this an ideal spot for a weekend getaway. The hosts, Michael and George are a delight and very accomodating. Continental breakfast is served on the patio in nice weather and everything is first class. The rooms are luxurious with fine linens, and toiletries. Easy drive to Paternoster, wine country, the moutains.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bardian68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews