We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and Relaxing”
Review of Red Tin Roof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Red Tin Roof
Certificate of Excellence
Noordhoek, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful and Relaxing”
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We were met by Claire (the Manageress) the first day who was so friendly and welcoming and made us feel right at home. The room's decor was very tasteful and the bed was so comfortable ! Claire cooked us a beautiful breakfast the next day and after wandering around the village we spent the afternoon lounging by the pool, sipping sundowners and enjoying the peace and quiet of this lovely B & B. We met George on the last night (what an amazing host) and Michael (the chef) cooked us the most incredible dinner. We really really had a most enjoyable 3 days.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nut46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    29
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
23
54
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
77 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

We visited Cape Town for 2 weeks in January 2013 what a fantastic surprise this place is Traveller's Rest is in beautiful settings and a beautiful Village feel, The owners make you feel truly special, the decor is gorgeous and tactfully done, well what can i say about the accommodation except I give it a five star,clean, fresh, wonderful decor so tasteful and the linen is to die for, Michael cooking is exceptional and every detail and need is catered for. Without going on I would definitely give this five star, well done to George and Michael for giving us this wonderful surprise in a little corner of South Africa.

Room Tip: I would definitely book in advance, and this is well worth a trip and visit, all the rooms overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crunchynu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cala'n Porter, Spain
Level Contributor
328 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

During our stay in South Africa we normally venture outside the Cape Town city centre and head for some peace & quiet one of the weekends and boy did we make a great find here.

On arrival to the Travellers Rest we were meeted & greeted by George Heathcote one of the owners and taken thru a lovely peaceful garden with pool to our rooms.
The rooms are actually suites as they are big in size and attention to detail was noted as George talked us thru the amenities & details of Travellers Rest.

Our afternoon was spent in the beautiful garden around the pool area reading books and drinking some lovely local wine which the staff served us with no problems and all during the time we were there felt totally relaxed and pampered as the staff kept our wine bucket topped up with ice .

As my partner & myself did not know the area we had booked an evening meal with George at a cost of Rand 120 being £9 sterling for a three course menu and were not expecting such a culinary delight for the cost because if we were in London this would have been £30 per head !!!

Michael Clarke is the Head Chef and I can honestly say even having just 3 choices of Starter, Main & Desserts these were of brilliant standard all presented like a Michelin Star establishment.
Just to say my Duck main course was one of the best I have had for a very long time.

Our morning of departure we sat in the courtyard garden under the trees where George came long with breakfast menus and again we offered three kinds of juices, teas, coffee and a delightful dish of fresh fruit, yoghurt & muesli plus a choice of cooked breakfast being full English or some lovely Smoked Trout with eggs , I can honestly say that these two guys know how to look after there customers and nothing was to much trouble from start to finish... Well done Travellers !!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 18 January 2013

This is simply the most beautiful place to stay...peaceful and elegant, with excellent, considerate service and a wonderful warm atmosphere. Our extended family stayed in Traveller's Rest, hiring all the rooms for the weekend, and it suited our needs in every way. The hosts were kind, thoughtful and proactice. Nothing was too much trouble for them, and they went out of their way to help our friends who were also in town, who were not even staying with us. I would recomment Traveller's Rest without hesitation to anyone wanting to enjoy Riebeeck Kasteel, which is simply a delight.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2013

A friend in London had told me about this little jewel called Traveller's Rest tucked away in in sleepy Riebeek Kasteel. When I arrived I was greeted by the owner George, a very friendly, helpful fun guy. I immediately felt at home. The dining room was charming this lead onto the garden and pool area which also had dining facilities. The 4 rooms were at the end of the garden in a private section. It had a great communal area with an honesty bar and seating plus books and info on the local area. The rooms were fantastic. A great size with en suite shower room and fabulous views of the gardens. Quiet and clean - just perfect. No TV but who cares?
The food was nothing short of spectacular and faultless. Michael, the chef is truly a find.
A charming little bar area and the guys could not have been more hospitable.
You'd be mad not to book in at this guest house it;s also very reasonable priced. What a find and what a bargain!! I'll be back soon....

Room Tip: I viewed all 4 rooms and they were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Have stayed often and every time it gets better.

Hosts George and Michael cannot be more accommodating - they are the most wonderful hosts !

The Guesthouse is perfect. Each room is beautifully decorated and lavishly appointed. The honesty bar is a big plus and not having to sign bills all the time contributes to a very relaxing stay.

My wife and I travel in SA extensively and also eat out a lot and have to say that the cuisine at Travellers Rest matches that of any of the best around Cape Town.

The pool area is very inviting and so pretty when lit up at night and the establishment being on the outskirts of town just makes it the ideal situation.

Writing this note makes us want to return this weekend.

Susan and Bruce Fairlie

Room Tip: Impossible - every room delightful
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franschhoek, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We took the place over from the Friday evening, till Sunday. George and Michael made everyone very welcome and we felt so at home. Friday they catered for about 65 of us, a fantastic braai. They then accommodated the groom and the groomsmen on the Saturday away from the bride and her bridesmaids. Breakfast every morning was so delicious. A very special treat for me, Mother of the Bride.

i can only highly recommend staying there. Nothing was too big to ask for. George and Michael, absolute treasures.
Thank you

Room Tip: All the rooms are magnificent, we took all four of the rooms for my daughters wedding and we all lov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riebeek Kasteel
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 1 in Riebeek Kasteel
289 reviews
3.3 mi away
Riebeek Valley Hotel
Riebeek Valley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Riebeek-West
311 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shiraz Estate Guest House
Shiraz Estate Guest House
#1 of 16 in Riebeek Kasteel
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Montagne Bed and Breakfast
La Montagne Bed and Breakfast
#7 of 16 in Riebeek Kasteel
30 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vineyard Views Country House
Vineyard Views Country House
#1 of 4 in Riebeek Kasteel
21 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shades of the Valley
Shades of the Valley
#3 of 16 in Riebeek Kasteel
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Tin Roof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Tin Roof

Property: Red Tin Roof
Address: 23 Hermon Road, Riebeek Kasteel 7300, South Africa (Formerly Traveller's Rest)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Riebeek Kasteel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Riebeek Kasteel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Tin Roof 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Tin Roof is a manor house that has been sleeping guests, feeding strangers and quenching thirsts for decades. The new owners gave her a complete facelift and donned her in new colours. Known as a bit of a party animal, they enlarged the bar - and added another! They have re-vamped her from head to toe and decorated her with an eclectic mixture of art and collectibles from around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Red Tin Roof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing