We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kenneth and Gill, Sheffield”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Athena Friville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Booked this hotel for a 1 night stay on route to Brittany. Exceptionally clean and bright, Laurent on reception was brilliant and spoke really good English. He helped us out with a car emergency and we couldnt thank him enough. We enjoyed our stay so much that we re-booked another night for our return home trip. Rooms are nicely done out, very modern and the bed and linen were clean and fresh. Enjoyed our meals in the restaurant next door, the 10% off voucher given to us at the hotel was very much appreciated. All in all a good experience both times and great value for money. If we were in this area again we wouldn't hesitate to re-book.

Room Tip: Rooms are all the same as far as we know as we stayed in 2 different rooms and they were identical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Scotlandsforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2012

We stayed one night in this hotel during a sunny weekend in September. Our main target was Saint-Valéry-sur-Somme but all hotels were full due to the nice Indian summer weather. The hotel was located at around 17 km from Saint-Valéry-sur-Somme. Upon arrival (at 15:00) we found the door of the hotel closed and reception unmanned. A note pointed out to us that the reception closes daily between 12:30 and 17:00. It might be good to keep this in mind when planning your trip. We therefore decided to go and have coffee and a nice walk along the Somme in Saint-Valéry. By five we returned and were given a room. Every guest is given a unique access code that gets you into the car park, through the front door and into your room. The rooms are almost identical to the former Etappe hotel rooms by the Accor group (currently renamed as 'Ibis Budget'). Everything is basic and no frills. The bedding was maybe slightly better than the analogue of Accor. The room smelled of cigarettes even though we had asked for a non-smoking room. Expect absolutely no charm and just a place for the night and you will be ok. After dinner we returned to the hotel and found that our unique access code was so unique that it didn't work and didn't open the gate of the car park. Luckily it wasn't past 10 pm yet and we could get the manager to get in. We weren't the only ones with this problem. Wifi is free at the hotel but you do need a code to log in. We got two codes and one of the two didn't work. The manager said it sometimes happens but he doesn't know why. He gave us another one. All in all an absolutely basic hotel for one night that just aims to give you a place to sleep and take a shower. Totally devoid of charm and trimmed down to the absolute essential. If this is what you're looking for you'll be ok. The price is in line with what is offered.

Room Tip: All rooms are identical. Some come with an extra (single) bed but that doesn't get you a bigger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marc A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pa14ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Thank Alexandre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ericmahy6470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Jean-Jacques C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Friville-Escarbotin
5.9 mi away
Ibis Budget Le Treport-Mers les Bains
7.8 mi away
Madame Vacances Residence Les Terrasses De La Plage
10.5 mi away
Hotel de la Baie de Somme
Hotel de la Baie de Somme
#2 of 5 in Le Crotoy
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Le Neptune
Le Neptune
#1 of 3 in Cayeux-sur-Mer
152 reviews
7.9 mi away
Camping Le Val de Trie
Camping Le Val de Trie
#1 of 1 in Moyenneville
119 reviews
7.8 mi away
Camping Le Clos Cacheleux
Camping Le Clos Cacheleux
#2 of 7 in Abbeville
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Athena Friville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Athena Friville

Address: 19 avenue du Parc | Zac Le Parc, 80130 Friville-Escarbotin, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Somme > Friville-Escarbotin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Friville-Escarbotin
Price Range: £41 - £51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Athena Friville 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Athena Friville is located in Friville-Escarbotin, just 13 kms from Le Treport and Mer-les-Bains. It offers free Wi-Fi access and guest rooms with a flat-screen TV. The rooms at Hotel Athena Friville Le Treport are decorated in a contemporary style. Each one is also furnished with a desk and has an en suite bathroom, which has a shower. You can enjoy the eat-as-you-can breakfast every morning in the morning room. There is also a vending machine in the reception and a French restaurant can be found opposite the hotel. The property is situated 4 kms from the Vimeu Industrial area of activity and 4 kms from the Gros Jacques area . Free private parking is provided on site and the A28 motorway is a 17-minutes drive away. As well as visiting Baie de la Somme, local activities include driving the 30 km to both Le Crotoy and Abbeville. Saint-Valery-sur-Somme is 15 km away. We speak your language! Property highlights : Free WiFi & Free parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Athena Friville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing