We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“France Profond”
Review of Hotel de l'Abbaye

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Longpont
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel de l'Abbaye
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Longpont
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“France Profond”
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

Imagine driving for hours through lousy weather and then finding yourself in a perfect little village with a superb ruined abbey and a wonderful coaching inn. Go inside and you're greeted by locals enjoying a pastis or three. Move into your small but perfectly formed bedroom and them slide into the bar for an aperitif and then into the log fired dining room.
Food is excellent in both quality and pricing.
I thoroughly recommend this for anyone looking for an attractive stop off point that shows France as it used to be. Truly Excellent

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelinTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    38
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
20
39
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel/auberge is just like we remember from years ago. A lovely quiet village, superb hospitality and really good food.
Well worth taking a detour to stay here and fantastic for the first night in France as it's so typical of France profoned.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MichelinTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I can't comment on the accomodation as we only stayed for dinner.

We visited Hotel de L'Abbaye for dinner whilst staying at Les Relais Heritage du Chateau Fort de Droizy(which is a lovely). The owner of our accomodation had reserved a table, admittedly at short notice. In fairness the Hotel de L'Abbaye diningroom was full, but the owner of Heritage Droizy had persisted in getting us a table.

We arrived at around 8.15pm and my wife myself and our two children aged 11 and 9, were shown to a room at the back of restaurant which was next to the toilets. It was explained to us the restaurant was busy that evening and we would be moved into the main restaurant(which was rustic, cosy and attractive) if a table became free. However the understanding was in the meantime we would be served in the backroom where a table had been set for dinner.

We then sat waiting for around half an hour for our orders to be taken (including drinks). Finally our orders were taken, three courses from the set menu.

Drinks arrived after another 15 minutes but they had forgotten about our childrens drinks orders. Our starters finally arrived after 10pm an hour after being ordered. No one bothered to ask whether we wanted more drinks despite our glasses being empty. Mains arrived at around 10.50pm and our desert orders(from the set menu) had been forgotten.

We were hungry following a day travelling up from Sarlat so were desperate to be fed and watered. However, after we'd eaten the mains and the time had passed 11pm we decided to cut the night short and ask for the bill.

Despite having no desert and sitting at a substandard backroom table we were charged the full price of the set menu, with no apology made for having been ignored all evening.

I can accept it was a busy evening and they'd done their best to fit us in at short notice. However, we were given a decidedly second class experience with very poor service for which we were expected to pay full price. The setting is pretty but all in all an extremely disappointing experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
habbaye, Gérant at Hotel de l'Abbaye, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Very sorry, We said to the owner of the bed and Breakfast who send you here: we are full and unable to receive you, but he said "nothing else is open so they will come"
it is true and we were overbooked unable to help you corectly
It was a mistake to charge you fullprice because it was to long and yours children tired
excuse me
.I hope you will come again in Picardie and I will be very happy to offer you a drink in better situation
Best regards Ben.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deal, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

A lovely French rural Inn, set in an amazing village with the ruins of an old abbey. Perfect but small bedroom, clean & comfortable. Nice food, with an excellent breakfast. Very friendly. Near to lots of interesting historical cities & towns, & not far from the champagne area.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walmeractually
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
474 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We have stayed here six times over the last ten years and love the romantic charm of the place.

M Verdun runs a great operation including a bar where the local equippage from the many chasses in the area come, dressed in their marvellous hunting uniform and playing thei troupe.

Lots of hunting memorabilia, books, whips, badges, maps and other goodies for sale.

Charming restaurant with a strong gibier (game) flavour, try the rabbit rietttes, quite sublime.

Wine list good but stick with the house Chinon supplied en vraque and served in plain bottles.

Lovely croissants for breakfast in the snug breakfast room.

Lovely garden for outside eating in summer.

Lots of characterful rooms all with en suite showers.

Lots of Belgians, Dutch and Germans but far too many Brits!

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view of the Abbey ruins
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sm0ky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night and wished it had been a longer visit. The staff couldn't have been nicer. Our room was comfortable and the bathroom exceptionally clean and roomy. The food and service were superb. The best dinner in our entire trip. The village is lovely and it was delightful to walk around it. We couldn't have been more pleased. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C0rgiL0ver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We stayed here for 1 night, largely due to the positive reviews on this Website, and weren't disappointed. Our bedroom (no. 11) was unusual, in that it consists of a long narrow room with a single bed, leading to a double room, each with its own bathroom. It was warm and the bed was comfortable so, given the quietness of the village, a good sleep was achieved. WiFi worked well: stable signal and quite fast, though not password-protected.

The restaurant and bar area are full of old-world charm and there is a very cozy atmosphere. We were given a table next to the log fire, which added to the ambiance. We had the Menu du Terroir (@ €24) which has some interesting dishes. The food quality was extremely good but even more remarkable was the generosity of the portions, such that after 4 courses we were well and truly "stuffed"! The chicken fricassee for 1 was really enough for 2. Particularly delicious was the fromage frais accompanied by a chestnut purée, both of which were presented in large dishes and left for us to take as much as we wanted. A huge piece of wonderful apple pie + cream + icecream followed that........and was consumed with some difficulty! This was truly a good value and delightful meal.

The house wine (@ €4 for a small carafe) was quite acceptable, the red being a little better than the white. However, a tin of fizzy orange at €4 was expensive, as was a shot of Calvados @ €7.50.

Service was fine but neither the owner nor the waitress seemed to want to engage us in conversation, though the locals seemed very friendly.

Overall we were very pleased with our stay and hope to return.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whistleman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longpont
16.4 mi away
Chateau de Courcelles
Chateau de Courcelles
#1 of 1 in Courcelles-sur-Vesle
429 reviews
8.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Des Francs
7.7 mi away
Ibis Soissons
Ibis Soissons
#2 of 6 in Soissons
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Bonanite
Hotel Restaurant Bonanite
#2 of 2 in Villers-Cotterets
47 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Le Regent
Hotel Le Regent
#1 of 2 in Villers-Cotterets
68 reviews
12.1 mi away
Hotel Beaudon
Hotel Beaudon
#1 of 3 in Pierrefonds
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Abbaye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Abbaye

Property: Hotel de l'Abbaye
Address: 8 rue des Tourelles, 02600 Longpont, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Aisne > Longpont
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Longpont
Number of rooms: 11

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing