We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fosseuse
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chateau de Fosseuse
Ranked #1 of 1 Fosseuse B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 June 2013

The Chateau is an amazing sight from the drive, with a warm welcome from Shirley. The interior is full of antquities and interesting artifacts and paintings, and has the feel of a home rather than a cold hotel. The rooms are delightful, original hexagonal tiles in some, with comfortable beds and views over the gardens. The Tower Suite is perfect for families (and better value than two rooms elsewhere), and has a room over the breakfast room with views of the lake, and a secret passage down to the breakfast room as well!
The breakfast is superb - croissants and hot chocolate as one would so wish for in France. We had supper in the Pizzeria in Méru which was great for families.
The station for Paris is 5 minutes away in the next village, and the trip is really easy to the Gare du Nord taking only 40 minutes.
Can't wait to find an excuse to come again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PiersMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2013

Can't add a lot to my previous review. Shirley is an excellent, welcoming, but not too intrusive host. The place itself is unique, a large chateau in huge grounds. Sit and have breakfast in a wonderful old drawing room in front of a window overlooking the lake and grounds - something special and really quite idyllic. If you are passing this way, you really must pay a visit.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nergelag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We still talk about our breakfast-the best we've ever had. The adorable Irish Shirley and her husband made us feel most welcome. The chateau and grounds are wonderful. Remembering the story of how the arboretum was cut down by a former owner and turned into clothespins still brings tears to my eyes.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank upsandowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We stayed here on our last night during our 2 weeks' tour in France. The chateau is located only 30 min. drive from Chantilly Palace and is about 40 min. driving to CDG airport.
We were greeted by the elderly and friendly owners, Shirley & Jean-Louis Marro. Shirley speaks English too. Our room was the Moustier room. It was of a good size; facing the garden. Very quiet room with free Wi Fi. The chateau is a little rundown and would benefit from some attention and caring (even replacing the dead plants at the entrance)...Breakfast was ok.
Dinner at La Marsala, an Italian restaurant in Meru (4km drive) was excelent value; thanks to the Marro's recommendation!

Room Tip: be aware of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hershie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

...for what we all felt to be back here, having missed our planned 2011 stay because of illness in our family. The thrill of our first familiar glimpse from the drive, the warmth of our greeting from M and Mme Marro, the latest loving furnishing touches around the inside, the view from the windows, the breakfast time conversation, the ginger in the homemade jelly (quince this time) - what is on offer to guests here is a passing share in the way of life of an exceptionally nice family. The place itself is, of course, out of this world.
We love it.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MmmmeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

A little hard to find, but once we got there, words can barely do it justice. Beautiful house in huge grounds. Very quiet and peaceful and great value. Mme and M Marro were excellent and friendly hosts. This might be a little more expensive than the Campanile but there is absolutely no comparison for value. Must be the first hotel/B&B I've ever stayed in where the owner advises you to not leave the window open overnight or bats may fly in! - gives you a feel for how rural this is. If you need to stay just outside Paris, you must try this out. You can also feel good in that part of what you pay will go towards the restoration of this wonderful house.

Room Tip: Doesn't really matter - every room is full of character and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nergelag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Beautiful surroundings, wonderful rooms and friendly and attentive hosts. What more could one ask for?

Room Tip: The Tower Suite is very romantic, with views over the park in one direction and the lake in the othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kabal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Chateau de Fosseuse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Fosseuse

Address: 104 rue du Vert Galant, 60540 Fosseuse, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Oise > Fosseuse
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Fosseuse
Price Range: £66 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B in a 16th C listed chateau set in 40 acres of wooded parkland with a river, small lake (fishing possible,)formal garden, mature trees and plentiful wild life. Picnics possible in summer.The owners are restoring the château after it was ransacked by an antique-dealer n the 30's. Convenient for Paris 40 kms,(or 40 mins. by train) Beauvais & Chantilly 30 kms, Auvers-s-Oise 20 kms, Parc Asterix 40 km, CDG Airport 40 mins; Versailles & Euro-Disney can be reached in 1h15 by car. Boulogne 2h15, Calais 2h30. The situation, on the edge of 3000 acres of forest, is very quiet and peaceful. Spacious bedrooms with queen-size beds, ensuite bathrooms and central heating; 1 double, 1 triple, 1 suite (60m²) for 4-5 pers.Generous Continental breakfasts. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing