We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The real thing!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fosseuse
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chateau de Fosseuse
Ranked #1 of 1 Fosseuse B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband and I were travelling with my sister and her dog to the south west of France and chose to stay at the chateau as a one night stopover. Whilst the directions to the chateau seemed clear it can be easy to miss the entrance. On arrival we were met by Shirley and her husband and taken to our rooms which were up two flights of concrete stairs. The rooms were next to each other and were comfortable and very clean. My sisters room had a small note in a frame stating that her room had been the room of the mistress of Henry IV! Shirley is a lovely host, happy to tell you the history of the chateau. She had also kindly recommended and booked a restaurant for us in nearby Meru as she does not provide evening meals. The restaurant is an Italian and it was very good. The chateau is set in its own grounds which are very beautiful even on the murky day we left. It is great for travellers like us with a dog, Shirley showed us to the 'boot' room where there are lots of Wellington boots of various sizes to use for a walk. There is WiFi but this is better in the dining room. We had a lovely breakfast of bread pastries and jams overlooking the grounds. This place is not a Travelodge so if you like matching modern furniture and TV in the room this will not be for you. However if you like history, hearing owls, cuckoos and enjoy quirky buildings as well as a lovely owner this is a must! We loved it and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Makalolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
There are newer reviews for Chateau de Fosseuse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

We decided at the last minute to book a short break over to France for the Easter weekend, and I managed to find this incredible gem by accident and luckily they had a cancellation for the nights we required!!

Perfect dog friendly stunning accommodation in the Chateau, our room was beautiful, huge, warm and we loved it. The Chateau is in amazing massive grounds for splendid walks with a beautiful lake and forest surrounding it.

I can see why the reviews have been at 5 stars, the owners, lovely Shirley and her lovely French hubby do a smashing job of looking after you with various recommendations for places to visit and restaurants to enjoy.We indulged in leisurely breakfasts with homemade produce each morning with helpful suggestions on the days activities.

The location is perfect for convenience, as its near to Junction 13 on the Main A16 motorway so great to get to either as a long break or on the way to the South.

We will return for sure.

Thank you both so much for such a relaxed short break!


Mr and Mrs Barker plus 'Harvey' who still misses the grounds! :)

Room Tip: They are all delightful.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luc48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Stumbled accross this amazing place on trip advisor and only came as it was dog friendly and had pictures of the same breed on here!
amazing grounds and building, its just a shame there is not the money to get the rest of the chateau to the standard is deserves.
Shirley and her family (including her Grandson) were more than welcoming. The room was big and spacious and breakfast was good - including her own homemade tea.
Everything was clean and tidy. Its a quirky place - but just how we like it.
The grounds that the chateau is in are brilliant for a walk around with the dog - who was also made just as welcome.
we will definately return and recommend to friends.....
thank you so much for sharing your home with us.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joannieday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Chateau Fosseuse is a real hidden gem in the French countryside just North of Paris (which is easily accessible by train). This was our third stay here, and it has become an essential part of our French holiday. Very convenient for travelling longer distances to or from the South of France, given that it is just a couple of hours from Calais (thereby breaking up the journey nicely for us).
The rooms are spacious, clean, beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The Marros are wonderful hosts who always extend us a warm welcome. The grounds of the Chateau are lovely for wandering around. Simply magical.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wendy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Just returned from another wonderful stay at Chateau Fosseuse. The Marros are delightful hosts and are passionate about their home. They are always happy to suggest local attractions and places of interest. We have stayed there many times and it's always a delight. The rooms are large and beautifully decorated and we will certainly be going back again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kabal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

The Chateau is an amazing sight from the drive, with a warm welcome from Shirley. The interior is full of antquities and interesting artifacts and paintings, and has the feel of a home rather than a cold hotel. The rooms are delightful, original hexagonal tiles in some, with comfortable beds and views over the gardens. The Tower Suite is perfect for families (and better value than two rooms elsewhere), and has a room over the breakfast room with views of the lake, and a secret passage down to the breakfast room as well!
The breakfast is superb - croissants and hot chocolate as one would so wish for in France. We had supper in the Pizzeria in Méru which was great for families.
The station for Paris is 5 minutes away in the next village, and the trip is really easy to the Gare du Nord taking only 40 minutes.
Can't wait to find an excuse to come again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PiersMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Can't add a lot to my previous review. Shirley is an excellent, welcoming, but not too intrusive host. The place itself is unique, a large chateau in huge grounds. Sit and have breakfast in a wonderful old drawing room in front of a window overlooking the lake and grounds - something special and really quite idyllic. If you are passing this way, you really must pay a visit.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nergelag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fosseuse
2.9 mi away
Le Clos Mimaut
Le Clos Mimaut
#1 of 4 in Meru
10 reviews
3.0 mi away
La Grange de Boulaines
1.5 mi away
Ferme du Roy
Ferme du Roy
#1 of 1 in Anserville
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Les Granges d'Haillancourt
Les Granges d'Haillancourt
#1 of 1 in Saint-Crepin-Ibouvillers
159 reviews
7.7 mi away
Le Clos des Vignes
Le Clos des Vignes
#1 of 1 in Neuville-Bosc
359 reviews
1.5 mi away
Le Manoir du Menillet
Le Manoir du Menillet
#1 of 1 in Bornel
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Fosseuse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Fosseuse

Address: 104 rue du Vert Galant, 60540 Fosseuse, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Oise > Fosseuse
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Fosseuse
Price Range: £66 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B in a 16th C listed chateau set in 40 acres of wooded parkland with a river, small lake (fishing possible,)formal garden, mature trees and plentiful wild life. Picnics possible in summer.The owners are restoring the château after it was ransacked by an antique-dealer n the 30's. Convenient for Paris 40 kms,(or 40 mins. by train) Beauvais & Chantilly 30 kms, Auvers-s-Oise 20 kms, Parc Asterix 40 km, CDG Airport 40 mins; Versailles & Euro-Disney can be reached in 1h15 by car. Boulogne 2h15, Calais 2h30. The situation, on the edge of 3000 acres of forest, is very quiet and peaceful. Spacious bedrooms with queen-size beds, ensuite bathrooms and central heating; 1 double, 1 triple, 1 suite (60m²) for 4-5 pers.Generous Continental breakfasts. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing