We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food just kept coming”
Review of Domaine Le Parc

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Danizy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Domaine Le Parc
Ranked #1 of 1 Danizy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Excellent food just kept coming”
Reviewed 28 February 2013

It is almost 100 years since this part of France was the scene of some of the worst battles fought in modern European history. The Domaine Le Parc played more than its fair share in those dreadful days and evidence still remains within the large wooded grounds that surround this fine 18th century house perched on a high ridge overlooking the Oise River in the shape of concrete bunkers.

The house is tastefully decorated in traditional style and the public areas are enhanced by interesting objects d'arts such as the rocking horse that keeps watch on the landing whilst a selection of Hogarth-like boudoir scenes adorn the walls of the main stair case immediately below. An atmosphere of relaxed comfort is clearly the intention that this lovely couple have strived to produce and they have successfully achieved their goal.

We ate alone in the romantically appointed dining room but felt completely relaxed and were well served by Anne in a professional but informal manner. Dinner, which is cooked by Anne's husband, Josh, is without choice but this is no hardship and we ate firstly a superbly prepared fillet of sole with Puy lentils with a glass of Bourgogne Aligoté and this was followed by a succulent boeuf bourguinon partnered by generous quantities of an excellent Cotes du Rhone red.

The cheese board consisted of a choice of about eight different cheeses and our dessert was a pièce de résistance apple tart. Then came the free coffees with petits fours. This was a lavish meal and all for £38 per head!

Our capacious bedroom was very comfortable with an en-suite of comparable size containing both bath and shower and tea / coffee making facilities. All very much appreciated by tired travellers.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the River Oise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ted H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    5
    0
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
46
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013 via mobile

This is a charming place, comfortable and very good food cooked up by the husband and wife team. The rooms are comfortable, good bathrooms albeit if I were to complain I like soft beds and the bed we were in was hard. An extremely convenient place to stop en route to south of France and a short distance from Calais.

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Londoner093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
477 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

What a find! An extraordinary French Country House, with huge and beautiful bedrooms - and really astonishingly good value food and wine (No choice - but just 38 Euros for 3 courses, including plentiful wine and coffee. And astonishingly beautiful grounds. We were delighted....
And the friendliness of the welcome was very special too. Enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davidh of england
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Little to add beyond the good reviews before mine, our rooms were big with a sitting area overlooking the valley and lakes, tea/coffee making facilities, big clean, well maintained bathroom. The food was really well done and cooked with care.
Very good value for money - be aware you will need to pay cash.
Some other guests were on a special champagne break (with free champagne at the begining and end of their stay) - may be worth hunting for this one.
Would we stay again - YES

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ian2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

My husband and I were travelling from Calais to Riquwihr and wanted somewhere to spend a night to break the journey. We couldn't have found a more perfect place. Although the town is nothing special, once through the gates of the chateau, you find yourself in another world, in another time. The grounds are small but perfect and the views of the lake lovely. The house is charming, well-maintained and elegant. Our bedroom and bathroom were huge with views of the grounds from both. We had a large spa bath and separate shower and enjoyed a relaxing bath after a long journey from England. The food was delicious and great value at 35 euros for 4 courses, including wine, in a small, intimate dining room. We even had a kir as an aperitif in a cosy sitting room first. Breakfast the next day was served in an equally charming breakfast room and our host cooked us scrambled egg to go with the selection of breads, croissants and cold meats and cheeses. It seemed nothing was too much trouble for them. I would definitely recommend this hotel and if we are ever in the area again, would stay there.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spaniel11176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Anne and Jos are some of the most welcoming people I have met. They have a lovely home into which they welcome guests. Jos is a fantastic chef and the evening dinners are very good indeed - no choice but you should not be worried by that. The bedrooms are very well appointed and huge especially right at the top of the house. A great find and I will return.

Room Tip: Splash out and have the largest room at the top of the house - it is a steal at 95 euros.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodfanUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verbier, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

very comfortable, good food, good price, nice people.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimWatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Danizy
8.2 mi away
Auberge de Villequier
Auberge de Villequier
#1 of 1 in Villequier-Aumont
44 reviews
22.5 mi away
Domaine de Barive
Domaine de Barive
#1 of 1 in Sainte-Preuve
659 reviews
10.9 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Belle Vue
Hotel-Restaurant Belle Vue
#1 of 1 in Coucy-le-Chateau-Auffrique
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Hotel de la Banniere de France
13.5 mi away
Hostellerie St-Vincent
12.9 mi away
Le Florence
Le Florence
#1 of 15 in St-Quentin
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine Le Parc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine Le Parc

Property: Domaine Le Parc
Address: Rue du Quesny, 02800 Danizy, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Aisne > Danizy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Danizy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Bed and Breakfast with Gourmets Table in Picardy near the Champagne. Jedy and Damien welcome you warmly in their authentic 18th century Manor-House, situated in a wooded park of 5ha and overlooks the Oise valley. Periods sitting rooms . The comfortable rooms provided a sitting area, Wif, TVsat. and airconditioning, bathroom equipped with shower, toilet and balneo bath from 75,-€ to 95,-€ breakfast included. An international breakfast will be served in the winter garden during springtime, on the terrace in summer and in the dining room, near the kitchen in front of the fireplace in autumn and winter. Every evening, Damien, experienced chef in qualified restaurants, suggest you a different Menu des Gourmets with the seasons suggestion Menu includes an entrée, main course, cheese, dessert, 1/2 bottle of wine and coffee or tea. It's a elaborate and tasty kitchen, served by Jedy in the dinning room or on the terrace while you enjoy the sunset. Domaine Le Parc is a nice, peaceful place for one or several nights. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing