We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good pub food in traditional setting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Church Inn

The Church Inn
Ranked #8 of 88 Restaurants in Cheadle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$27
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
438 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
“Good pub food in traditional setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

The Church Inn is a traditional well used local pub with a restaurant. The pub area is small and cosy, usually packed with local people. The restaurant at the back of the pub offers good value quality food with daily specials. The restaurant area is reasonably well presented and can get very busy - so booking is recommended.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    71
    19
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
2 reviews
“Not floating my boat”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

I live within walking distance of the church and thought we'd try it out for Father's Day. Worst. Mistake. Ever.
The lady "serving" us should NOT be responsible for looking after customers. I got the impression they were short staffed and she'd just jumped in to help. Maybe an owner, I'm not sure. The simplest request like asking for 4 glasses of water, she responded with "ermm ok" ... Sorry is that too difficult?
At 7 months pregnant with an appetite that's all over the place, I ended up eating some bread and butter and a bit of cheese because the menu was horrendous.

The young lad who works in there, I think the owners son, is an absolute delight and deserves credit for his wonderful attitude however the whole experience of the church inn was a great disappointment and we would not recommend to anyone.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravellingFamily95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Continuing Excellence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

I have been a regular at the Church for some years and I'm pleased to say that our meal last Thursday was again excellent. Head chef Graham will always adjust the meal to match our requirements -- "no fresh coriander" I eat all around the UK with work travel and the Church ranks amongst the best in it's class.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 800FennyBentley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwen
Level Contributor
196 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Small and perfectly formed.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Traditional pub, dark interior with exterior seating areas also. Very pleasant and friendly service and good food and atmosphere. What pubs used to be like.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good Pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Nice ,cosy pub that serves good food. Do remember to book as its quite small and gets very busy. Service pleasant ,all in all a very nice night out.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fatcat2631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Church Inn also viewed

Cheadle, Greater Manchester
Cheadle, Greater Manchester
 
Cheadle, Greater Manchester
Cheadle, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Church Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing