We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional Italian with a Modern twist”

Gusto Restaurant & Bar Cheadle Hulme
Ranked #14 of 91 Restaurants in Cheadle
Price range: US$8 - US$64
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We have visited this restaurant on a number of occasions over recent months and we have always found the food to be both consistently well prepared and presented to a very high standard. The menu and wine list is extensive with some delicious starters and enticing main courses which means that despite our frequent visits we do not get bored with the same meals. Of course, there is always the temptation to sample one of their mouth watering desserts but if that is too much to face we can recommend the Afrogato, served with a generous portion of ice cream, strong coffee and Amaretto for pouring, delicious!
The young team of waiters does tend to change frequently but they are always very attentive. The restaurant itself is quite noisy, especially when there is a large party of people dining at the next table. As it sits beneath an office block it is not the most attractive building from the outside and there is limited car parking on the main road. That said, if it is good food that you want then Gusto can certainly deliver.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CheshireSpices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LivingVentures, General Manager at Gusto Restaurant & Bar Cheadle Hulme, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding our service, I have passed your feedback on to our team. For future referance we do have a car park which can be used by our guests after 6pm and at weekends in the Landmark House office building. We hope to welcoming you back to the restaurant very soon.

Kind Regards,

Mike Bignell,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (500)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

392 - 396 of 501 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2013

Went here with friends. Have been to quite a few Gusto's but Cheadle was a first. We very much favour the little sister company of it called Olive Press in Manchester so the menu was similar and we knew the food would be good.

It was one of my friends birthday so i brought a cake with me which the staff had already advised was ok. The service was not the quickest but it was a sat night and we were in no rush. We were there for around 3 hours in total.

The setting is really nice and it was one of the largest Gusto's (alot bigger then the alderly edge one).

Starters consisted of chicken cesar salad which was gorgeous, best one i have had in a while. 2 of the party had garlic bread which is always good and one had the celaric and chestnut soup which she adored.

Mains took a while to get served...prob about 30ish minutes. They had run out of lobster so i order steak. My fillet steak was not as good as it usually is at the other restaurants i have been to. It was a little to rare and chewy rather then melt in the mouth. The fries however were particularly good.

Two of the party had pasta which was good and the fourth had the meatball sub which was very filling she couldn#t finish it.

We had the cake for dessert and ordered a seperarte bowl of pistachu icecream which was delicious.

Drinks - Have to say the processco was disapointing, far to drive and the mojitos tasted of water and no trace of alchol.

Bill came to just over £100, unfortuntly 2 of the pary took a severe dislike to the service which was uncomfortable for myself and friend who didn't see any problems.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank natstarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LivingVentures, General Manager at Gusto Restaurant & Bar Cheadle Hulme, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Guest,

We are glad that you enjoy visiting Gusto and our sister restaurant Olive in Manchester. We are pleased that your party had an lovely evening with us and you enjoyed the food and service, the points you raised about our cocktails have since been addressed. However if the other guests who were not as satisfied with their visit would like to contact me on 0161 488 1180 I would be more than happy to discuss this with them. We hope to welcome you back to the restaurant soon.

Kind Regards,

Mike Bignell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

We went here on a Tuesday night for my daughters birthday it was her choice. It was really busy and very noisy but the staff were attentive and friendly and the food was lovely. Absolutely nothing to complain about definately would go again

Thank stella499520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LivingVentures, General Manager at Gusto Restaurant & Bar Cheadle Hulme, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words I am pleased that you and your daughter had an enjoyable evening and we lookforward to seeing yu soon.

Kind Regards,

Mike Bignell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Went for a meal with some work friends. Atmosphere was lovely and all the staff pleasant and the service was quick. The food was slightly bland but it was still very nice.
Everything was reasonably priced.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RinksB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

we live locally, and have visited Gustos on many occasions. Last night was quite prefect up until the time that we were approached by what we deemed to be the 'Head Waiter ' ( or Haed of House). we were having our main course of pasta, and this person stood there with a large pepper pot and just said ' Pepper' ??.. then came with some cheese and said ' Parmesan' ?? There was nothing nice or polite about this, more just matter of fact. We then ordered a dessert between us, and 2 glasses of pudding wine. These actually came with the coffee some 10 minutes later, by the same person, and when I questioned why they did not come wit the dessert, all we got was' Well do you want them then'? we politely said no as they were too late.. No apologies, no nothing !
Our waiter was brilliant.. smiling, professional and very attentive.. This ' head of House' spoiled what was up until he appeared on the scene, a very enjoyable evening.
we will be back but will avoid this person

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lawmanCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LivingVentures, General Manager at Gusto Restaurant & Bar Cheadle Hulme, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Guest,

We are sorry to hear that your visit to Gusto Cheadle Hulme was not to our usual high standard and we have since addressed the comments you raised in your review. We are pleased however that your server on the evening was attentive and professional, we have passed on your positive feedback. If you wish to discuss the matter further then please don't hesitate to contact me on 0161 488 1180.

Kind Regards,

Mike Bignell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gusto Restaurant & Bar Cheadle Hulme also viewed

Cheadle, Greater Manchester
Cheadle, Greater Manchester
 
Cheadle, Greater Manchester
Cheadle, Greater Manchester
 
Cheadle, Greater Manchester
Stockport, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Gusto Restaurant & Bar Cheadle Hulme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing