We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good aside from the loud Yuppees”

Gusto Restaurant & Bar Cheadle Hulme
Ranked #14 of 91 Restaurants in Cheadle
Price range: US$8 - US$64
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Very good aside from the loud Yuppees”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Had a table booked for 6.15 as there were no reservations for any time after, but even then the restaurant was packed and quite noisy. Surprisingly the service was really quick and despite being very busy, the staff took good time to explain the menu etc and even agreed to prepare a chicken risotto despite it not being on the menu, this was appreciated and the dish certainly did not disappoint when it arrived, nor did the starters including kalamari, brusheta, olives which were all very nice. Overall a good stylish restaurant with food and service that cannot really be faulted, however i would not go here again on a busy Saturday night as it was just too noisy with lots of Yuppee type of people talking too loudly and thinking they own the place, otherwise very good and probably worthy of an excellent rating

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    186
    69
    31
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Consistently great”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have visited this restaurant around 10 times and I can say it is consistently great. It is our 'go-to' restaurant if we want to go somewhere we KNOW is good. The food is always excellent and extremely tasty and the restaurant has a lovely warm busy atmosphere. The service is consistent, I have never had bad service but equally it is rarely above and beyond, nothing I have any complaints about. The food is great value considering it's quality and also if you join their free dining club you can take advantage of great deals if you book online. Overall, highly recommend this restaurant, a great place with fantastic food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sophieh99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Nice food and good service in a vibrant place”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We had pasta and risotto. Very nice. Good portions. Tasted fresh. Service was great although the place is busy. Reasonable value. All in a
L a very good meal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PhilipJepson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“New spring menu”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We chose some of the new additions to the menu.
We both had the new melon & prosciutto ham with basil sauce starter which was fantastic in both flavour & presentation.
I had the new home cured salmon, sliced fennel & orange salad which was lovely though more orange would have been a good idea as it contrasted well with the cured Salmon.
My husband had the new lasagne and said it was the best he had ever eaten very cheesy good all round flavour.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 704suer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Food fantastic, tasty and good size portions”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Despite being in the area many many times over the years, sorry to say I have never been here and I have to now question why???
The deco is lovely and seating in the main restaurant not too close together so very comfortable. We were seated quickly and presented with the menu, drinks were ordered and arrived a little slow for my liking as the place was not full or even half full despite being well staffed.
We ordered humus and meatballs for starters and was really surprised at the size of the portions. Great value.
Mains we had pasta, which again were well portioned, hot and contained plenty of seafood and meat.
The atmosphere was relaxed and a good mixture of families, couples and friends. A great place to dine and enjoy lunch or dinner.
The reason why I don't give this top marks is purely down to the length of time it took to obtain the bill. A good 15 mins, despite asking twice. Whilst I don't like to be hurried out, when you have decided to ask for the bill you are ready to leave.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sheppypeppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gusto Restaurant & Bar Cheadle Hulme also viewed

Cheadle, Greater Manchester
Cheadle, Greater Manchester
 
Cheadle, Greater Manchester
Cheadle, Greater Manchester
 
Cheadle, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Gusto Restaurant & Bar Cheadle Hulme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing