We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food good, service excellent but way overpriced!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pointing Dog

Pointing Dog
Ranked #21 of 88 Restaurants in Cheadle
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Manchester
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Food good, service excellent but way overpriced!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

We've eaten here a few times now, though the 1st couple of times were only light bites for lunch, this time we had an evening meal. You can't really fault the food, it is good, though not outstanding and the service is great; it's the menu prices that would stop me going back again in the evening. It was up to £9 for a starter, which we didn't bother with. The mains were from about £12 for a chicken dish, which I had and up to almost £27 for a steak; which would have been ok, had you not then had to add on your side dishes. The desserts I admit were lovely and I would definitely recommend the chocolate cake in a jar. Overall good but not worth the money.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happyhouseManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    167
    102
    57
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Oh dear!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

The atmosphere and ambience here is great, and the staff are really good - very attentive and helpful. You feel a bit special when you come here, but it is about the food and drink, after all. I popped in one lunchtime and had a nice exchange of conversation with Noddy Holder (really!) whilst I waited. My cup of tea was lovely - very fresh tasting.
The handmade crisps were greasy and a bit burnt, so I left most of them. The artichoke soup was strange; it was lukewarm and bland. The odd stringy things floating on top were unidentifiable and added nothing to the soup. I can only think that the bread served with it was yesterday's, as it was hard and dry, so I left it.

Such a shame, such a lot going for this place. I will go back as I do like it ... Will hope for better food next time. Sorry to be negative.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice place, but a bit overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

The pointing dog has a friendly atmosphere and the staff are always great, but the food is nothing special, and slightly pricey for what it is in my opinion!

It can sometimes be a bit pretentious because of the clientele!

However, It is lovely sitting outside in the summer as there is a large outside area that catches the sun until late!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank tbboy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nom nom ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Went for a meal for two on a Saturday evening. Seated immediately. Food was a short wait once ordered. Given bar snacks whilst we were awaiting our starters. Food was excellent. Only minus would be the price. Slightly too expensive. £80.00 for two. Is a little too much as only one was drinking alcohol.

Helpful?
Thank Bert8961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea for Two”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

Treated a friend to afternoon tea a couple of weeks ago. First impression was it wasn't something they did a lot of - our table wasn't ready, for instance. After a somewhat uncomfortable start, things improved when the food came out. It was really very good. The sandwiches were freshly made, with imaginative fillings and the scones were excellent. There was a nice selection of cakes and the tonka bean panna cotta was delicious. Just one black mark though. Afternoon tea is all about the tea and all we got was a glass (!) of hot water with a tea bag. When we asked for a refill, we were charged extra. So we're still looking for the ideal local venue for afternoon tea. Sorry, folks, but it's all about the tea.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tangerine26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pointing Dog also viewed

Cheadle, Greater Manchester
Cheadle, Greater Manchester
 
Cheadle Hulme, Stockport
Cheadle, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Pointing Dog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing