We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it!”

The John Millington
Ranked #4 of 88 Restaurants in Cheadle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$25
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Love it!”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Eaten & drank here lots! Brilliant in the summer outside, fab atmosphere, food delicious (slightly pricey) but always busy & thriving. Never any issues. Can't beat their burgers or steak fajitas!

Helpful?
Thank Leah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris b, Manager at The John Millington, responded to this review, 22 September 2014
Thank you for taking time to review The John Millington

I am glad you enjoyed your experience and we hope to see you again soon

Regards

Chris Baldwin

Manager

The John Millington

01614869226

thejohnmillington@hydesbrewery.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    375
    176
    70
    19
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 454 helpful votes
“Oh Dear”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Beautiful Summer Evening, beautiful setting, ruined by ignorant bar staff
To busy chatting amongst themselves to notice customers waiting
When they did eventually notice that customers were waiting it was a case of "first to hit the eye" rather than longest waiting to be served!
Walked out and went to the Governors instead. Much better service! and I encourage you to do the same.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Darrandurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris b, Manager at The John Millington, responded to this review, 22 September 2014
I am sorry you did not have the experience you were expecting. If you could contact me directly via phone or email I would like to discuss the matter further with you

Regards
Chris Baldwin
Manager
The John Millington

01614869226
thejohnmillington@hydesbrewery.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Family Meal”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We had an extended family meal here. It was a really busy Friday and the place was packed. The staff gave us an excellent part of the restaurant that gave us an element of privacy. The food was good and they we're prompt. They accommodated all the requests of my guests, too. Well done to all of them.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris b, Manager at The John Millington, responded to this review, 22 September 2014
Thank you for taking time to review The John Millington

I am glad you enjoyed your experience and we hope to see you again soon

Regards

Chris Baldwin
Manager
The John Millington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Well seasoned, freshly prepared food.”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Threee of us had different courses for lunch and all appeared to be flavoursome, home cooked food. Good attentive service, nice wine list and a very good selection of beers.
Nice tasteful decor and a pleasant busy atmosphere.
Couldn't find fault with anything

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris b, Manager at The John Millington, responded to this review, 22 September 2014
Thank you for taking time to review The John Millington

I am glad you enjoyed your experience and we hope to see you again soon

Regards

Chris Baldwin
Manager
The John Millington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bramhall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Customer Views”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Disappointed that you are no longer taking reservations to eat in the bar area. I wanted to book a table of 6 for Sunday lunch. The restaurant was full as you had a party on - yet the lady on the phone said you'd stopped booking/reserving the bar area to eat in because people had complained. I think this is wrong when people want to be organised, call in advance and not take the risk of coming in with 6 people and not being able to get a table for lunch. Should you not comprise on 50/50 (reserve 50%) and keep everyone happy. I went elsewhere today because they happily took my booking. Its a shame because I love your food. All customers count….

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa_B556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris b, Manager at The John Millington, responded to this review, 22 September 2014
I am sorry you did not have the experience you were expecting. If you could contact me directly via phone or email I would like to discuss the matter further with you

Regards
Chris Baldwin
Manager
The John Millington

01614869226
thejohnmillington@hydesbrewery.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The John Millington also viewed

Stockport, Greater Manchester
Cheadle, Greater Manchester
 
Cheadle, Greater Manchester
Stockport, Greater Manchester
 
Cheadle, Greater Manchester
Marple, Stockport
 

Been to The John Millington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing