We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful experience and will NEVER book a room here again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Village Hotel Manchester Cheadle
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cheadle
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Cheadle House Hotel was the only hotel I have ever walked out of! After our 2nd room, we gave up!!! Firstly being put in a disabled room which if I or my partner was disabled would be ok but even then the room was extremely dark, dank and extremely small! The duty manager on shift was extremely apologetic but to be honest we wanted out of the place. There was mould covered blind, non working taps, dangerous non functional shower screen (which if we had used, we would have needed the disability equipped room on our next visit as we would have broken our necks slipping on the flooded tiled bathroom floor!), cracks up the wall, flood light right on the window sill illuminating the whole room to the point it looked like daylight even with the curtains closed.......and THAT was in a "superior double" room. Complaint sent. So watch this space.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank majutsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,090 - 2,096 of 2,457 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2014

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights. On arrival we entered our room to find a cracked sink in the bathroom, dirty bed linen, gouges on the bathroom door and a hole in the wall.

As it was late and we had just driven over from Frankfurt we were exhausted and so accepted the offered upgraded room instead of finding another hotel.

Even the "UpperDeck" room was lacking an eye for detail and cleanliness. There were hooks missing on the curtains, black mold in the file grouting and LOTS of dust and bits on the carpet in the corners and where the vacumn doesn't fit (between the bed and side table).

We were told by the receptionist who upgraded us that the duty manager was busy but that she would contact us, if not that first evening then definitely the next day. We didn't want to chase after the duty manager, were quite interested to see how important she considered here guests. Guess what? The duty manager didn't bother to contact us or leave a message at reception!

The person who did come knocking at our room door the 2nd day was security. The receptionist hadn't updated the records of the room and housekeeping staff were concerend that a room marked as unoccupied was in fact occupied. The issue was swiftly resolved, security were very nice about it, but still, it should not have happened.

Staff training is obviously lacking, the management really need to improve their act.

We will not be returning and will not be choosing a DeVere Group hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

12 of us stayed for a 60th wedding anniversary, expected more

We stayed in room 121 and was bit to pieces emailed the hotel to advise but had no response, was not looking for compensation etc but a response would have been nice.

We paid for the rat pack evening I went with an open mind as a 3 course meal and entertainment for £28.00 I was not expecting much, it was actually good food was nice also.

Don't think I would pay to stay over at a De Vere again

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We went to stay on valentines night. After a mess up with the restaurant booking me were told we couldn't have a table to dine till after 11 at night so would have to sit around the grill area. As you can imagine this was not ideal but there was 'nothing' else they could do. This was all be fore we have even arrived at the hotel. When you arrive the outside looks very impressive and the reception area very nice indeed. We couldn't wait to see what the rooms were like. The room itself looked fab but then under closer inspection we found it to be very poorly maintained. Our toilet seat was broken, soap dispenser was broken, there was mould on the bath room door and there was dust throughout the room very disappointing. When we went for our pre paid meal at 9.30 around the grill we had to wait a further 30 minutes to eventually sit down and be told half of the dishes on the set menu had ran out so the choices were limited. After filling a quetionnarie sent to me from the hotel the response i received from the hotel left a lot to be desired. They basically admitted that they knew about the faults but the room were due for renovation. A bit of a joke if you ask me. As for the response from the restaurant the manager who emailed me she was just rude. She took no responsibility for over booking in the restaurant on the night and just came up with lame reasons. I have stayed at a few de vere's over the past and have always felt like money well spent. This is the first time i have felt let down by the brand!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

First of all I would like to say the staff were very nice, friendly and happy to help when we arrived.

We went on a groupon deal that included a 3 course meal and breakfast.

We arrived after work at around 7pm, check in was very quick and very efficient, we were allocated room 204.As we opened the door the room smelt very musty and the bathroom door looked like it had been in a skip for 3 years before they installed it.
Please, first impressions are very important and this wasn't what I was expecting in a quality hotel for my money, even on a groupon deal.

The windows were full of condensation hence the damp smell, the noise from the many air conditioning units on the roof outside our window made a terrible noise but not as bad as the overhead planes from Manchester airport, I decided to shut the window which had obviously been left open to ease the condensation problem, only to find it was only single glazed to one side. Why on earth would anyone have single glazing on a hotel directly in the flight path to Manchester airport..
So not to spoil our stay we decided to have a few drinks at the bar before we went for our 3 course meal.we checked into the restaurant at 20.30 on the dot. We're shown to our table and given a small menu for the groupon deal and the al a carte menu at a small premium.
The wife went for the soup and one of the chefs specials ( butternut squash tortellini ) which was Amazing.
A had the prawn cocktail which was ok. But if your going to advertise

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Strongy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night whilst in Cheadle on business. Gym and pool excellent and all staff very friendly. Seating area in reception gets busy with gym users and coffee shop Mums and the room although dark was clean, comfortable and warm with a nice bed.

A hearty buffet breakfast with eggs to order and more friendly staff.

Manchester City were playing the night of my stay so the bar was taken over by sky blues but what I saw it was a good atmosphere although with a long drive the next day I didn't stay around to sample it.

Would stay again for business purposes but don't think I would be rushing here with my partner or family.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank tom13mck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We've stayed for a birthday celebration, received a bottle of wine on arrival, room was big, comfy bed. The meal in the restaurant was ok, good selection of meals to choose from. Relaxed in the pool/gym afterwards, was a pleasant stay, will return again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheadle
1.2 mi away
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
#36 of 120 in Manchester
170 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cheadle House
Cheadle House
#3 of 4 in Cheadle
573 reviews
8 mi away
Village Hotel Manchester Ashton
Village Hotel Manchester Ashton
#1 of 3 in Ashton-under-Lyne
1,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stockport
7.4 mi away
Village Manchester Hyde Hotel
14.4 mi away
Village Hotel Manchester Bury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Manchester Cheadle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Manchester Cheadle

Address: Cheadle Road, Cheadle SK8 1HW, England (Formerly De Vere Village Manchester Cheadle)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Cheadle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cheadle
Price Range: £40 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Manchester Cheadle 3.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Manchester Cheadle is nestled in the leafy suburb of Cheadle and just over 4 miles from Manchester Airport and close to the M60 motorway Junction 2. It is in an ideal location for accessing the M6 and M62 motorways. Nearby attractions include Tatton Park, Old Trafford Football Club and Quarry Bank Mill. Village Hotel Manchester Cheadle has 117 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 25 metre Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free parking and free wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Village Hotel Manchester Cheadle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Village Manchester Cheadle Hotel Cheadle
Village Manchester Hotel Cheadle
Cheadle Hotel Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing