We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below par”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Village Hotel Manchester Cheadle
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cheadle
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Below par”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

A little attention to detail could make a big difference at this hotel. My room had watermarks on the ceiling, stains on the walls and a previous guest's toothpaste (rechargeable toothbrush) marks in the bathroom. The paintwork on the bathroom door was in very poor condition and the skirting board paint needed attention (all damage from previous guests, no doubt, but not something that I'd expect to put up with at anything other than a budget hotel and so straightforward to put right.) The TV remote didn't work most of the time (flat battery I guess) but even when it did the picture quality was pretty poor.

Two sources of noise severely adversely affect sleep in this hotel - one is the inexplicably noisy air con unit outside the rooms that produces noise but, sadly, no cooling in the excessively stuffy rooms and the other is jet aircraft noise as the hotel is on the flight path for nearby Manchester airport but has inadequate acoustic insulation to prevent the noise transmission into the rooms.

I checked out early to stay elsewhere as I saw no point raising any of these issues with the hotel management as they have all been noted already on this site but nothing had been done about them by the time of my stay.

Perhaps Holiday Inn, Marriott or Hilton should acquire some land around here and introduce some much needed competition.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Meon_Meerkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,948 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    574
    590
    421
    212
    151
See reviews for
396
798
80
441
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed 17/18 April, with another couple, this was are second time in 6 weeks, we was given room upgrades because the rooms we had requested was not available, the rooms was upper deck and superb, the staff were all thoroughly helpful and friendly , especially Marcus(barman) he was really friendly on both visits, and remembered us all, the evening meal was very good and served on time, no crowding in the restaurant (last visit we didn't get our meal until 10.30), breakfast was excellent, the new manageress was very nice and very professional she as really made made major improvements and everything went very well, my friend was having a birthday, she was given a drink on the house, at dinner they brought out a tray full of assorted deserts, and when she returned to the room they had left a card a birthday balloons for her, we really had a great time , we will be returning again thanks, also when I got home I realised that I gad left some of my belonging behind in the room, I phoned the hotel who got the housekeeper to call me back, she immediately found my things and arranged to post them back to me. thankyou team Village xxx

Room Tip: opt for an up grade to upper deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawnie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed for one night bed breakfast and evening meal. The room was very basic ,tv very little channels and a bad picture ( tv' s need updating.). There is NO wifi or phone coverage in the room and we couldn't get wifi or a phone signal anywhere in the hotel not good in this day and age. The bathroom wash basin had a massive crack in it ( surely housekeeping must of seen it )
We had two sachets of coffee in our hospitality tray ,we had a coffee on arrival then there was no more,, not even to have a coffee in the morning .I could of asked for a couple of sachets but come on put at least a couple of coffee's for each person.
The swimming pool and jacuzzi were very nice.
The evening meal was very very nice and staff were very pleasant ,breakfast had mugs no cups and saucers (felt more like a cafe) :-( Overall hotel rooms need updating .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diamondkim21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Been staying here alot recently due to work it's really nice place , good bar,good food not noisy and staff are friendly and helpful. I've had no problems when I've stayed which has been a few weeks worth!
I've stayed in normal rooms and a family room both were great ... Been inside an upper deck room wasn't that much difference except the tv channels and iPod Dock really!
Always happy when I here I'm staying at the village!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

All I can do is moan about this hotel. I'm thinking it's because I upgraded to the upper deck and I expected much more! It's made to sound so exciting.

I booked one night before our holiday. It was both our birthdays and also our wedding anniversary so I wanted everything to be be great.

The hotel looks great when you first arrive although it not the biggest village hotel we have stayed in it still had the same layout, just smaller.

We were in room 218 - not a very big room considering its on the upper deck! The room is at the front of the hotel and above the restaurant facing the main road. All though the noise from the road was loud, you can't close the air vents so it's noisy. The worst part came about 5:30 pm when the restaurant extractor fans started. We asked to be moved to another room. We were given Room 231 without any hassle. Again this was on the main busy road but you put up with traffic. If this was a week day, it would have been very load with the commuter traffic but we arrived on a Friday evening for a Saturday flight. Our flight was not until the afternoon and we could have driven the smae day, but thought it would be nice to relax.

I really can't understand what the £40 upgrade was for??? All you got was sky tv and a Bose idock. We did not use the TV, and the Bose docking station had the remote missing, so we could not have used it if we wanted to! There was 4 small sachets of Starbucks coffee but you can buy a box of these for £4.95 at Waitrose! There was also a cup with a sticker on saying you can take the cup and they will add £10 onto your bill. £10 for a cup.

They have small toiletries you can take as part of the upper deck upgrade, they call them pinchables MY GOD pinchables? We left them! The shower was very dirty with mold I have photos I will try to upload to this post.

The velocity fitness centre- two words - VERY TIRED !

Breakfast - one word - COLD !

Conclusion.

If you have to say there - book a basic room and don't bother with the extra payment for breakfast or the upper deck upgrade !

My honest opinion is - Waste of money and out of the 5 village we have stayed at - had to be the worst.

Room Tip: You get coffee in the standard rooms - breakfast is better at wetherspoons. If you have an early fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cliff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cheadle hotels

Aveley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

My friend chose this hotel because we were running the Manchester marathon, j didn't pay much attention until we turned up.

We were upgraded for two nights to the "upper deck" which was nice of the hotel to do. The room was nice and clean, the bed was comfortable and the amenities were very good. My only complaint is that the room was a little smaller than i expected and could have done with some brighter lighting (it was quite dark).

Used the pool, jacuzzi and sauna to recover from the marathon, and they all seemed very clean etc. The pool was very busy with locals but hey ho.

My friends had printed off a voucher for a discounted meal as part of the room rate, so it may be worth looking online in advance to see if this is an option for you. I didn't eat in the restaurant because the menu didn't appeal to me too much.

I would have no problems staying here again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OscarShakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Do go there if theres a big football match on-you wont get served even though your a hotel guest. They would rather have a load of football hooligans nursing a pint all night. They reserve table for outsiders as well so you have no chance. Go elsewhere. BTW I have stayed more than once so I know this isnt a one off!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrinceLard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheadle
0.8 mi away
Cheadle House
Cheadle House
#3 of 4 in Cheadle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
1.2 mi away
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
#57 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester (Cheadle) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Village Hotel Manchester Ashton
Village Hotel Manchester Ashton
#1 of 3 in Ashton-under-Lyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,524 reviews
7.4 mi away
Village Hotel Manchester Hyde
1.8 mi away
Didsbury House
Didsbury House
#9 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Manchester Cheadle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Manchester Cheadle

Property: Village Hotel Manchester Cheadle
Address: Cheadle Road, Cheadle SK8 1HW, England (Formerly De Vere Village Manchester Cheadle)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Cheadle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cheadle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Manchester Cheadle 3.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Manchester Cheadle is nestled in the leafy suburb of Cheadle and just over 4 miles from Manchester Airport and close to the M60 motorway Junction 2. It is in an ideal location for accessing the M6 and M62 motorways. Nearby attractions include Tatton Park, Old Trafford Football Club and Quarry Bank Mill. Village Hotel Manchester Cheadle has 117 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 25 metre Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free parking and free wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Village Hotel Manchester Cheadle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Village Manchester Cheadle Hotel Cheadle
Village Manchester Hotel Cheadle
Cheadle Hotel Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing