We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Village Hotel Manchester Cheadle
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cheadle
West Hartford
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Pretty average hotel, breakfast and reception food ok, staff very helpful.

Big let down ludicrous bar prices for functions.

I use local village hotel and their normal bar prices are high enough without raising them for function room bar.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,948 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    574
    590
    421
    212
    151
See reviews for
396
798
80
441
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Just returned from a 3 night stay in a double standard room on a B & B basis. We have stayed many times before. The room well equiped, clean, everything worked. The only problem was difficulty opening the window as the room was quite hot. However, we managed eventually. The breakfast was very good with lots of choice. the staff were pleasant and cheerful and there was no delay with the provision of tea/coffee and seating us. The only minor issue was that on the saturday morning breakfast was not available until 08:00. We had plans that involved an early start. When the restaurant opened at 08:00 there was quite a few people waiting and would have also preferred it earlier. However, Sunday i would agree with the later breakfast. During the week 06:30 ideal.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2014

At first I thought it was due to the fact that I had arrived fairly early - then I stepped back outside to find out that the daylight was indeed brighter than the inside of this hotel.. Luckily the reception desk was straight ahead, but that's all there was...Does this hotel have any staff?? Once I found a couple of employees, I then felt guilty for disturbing their conversation about how to fall down stairs drunk.. No matter - they would not be deterred by the inconvenience of having to deal with me - they didn't even make eye contact and simply waved me on to my room. Finding my way through the gloom, to the room was sad but at least easy enough. I sat on the bed which was very comfy, and noticed the vast array of different pillows available. Forget togg ratings - get your mind round these! :-) So I logged into the free wi-fi (dangerous, I know) to get on with some work, as it would be some hours before my meeting.
Towards the time of my meeting - it seemed that I had no phone signal - so off I popped to reception. Still no phone signal - what's this building made of?? Then it all became clear.. It's not a hotel - it's a secret cavern or bunker! So off into the rain I walked - again - getting in the way of the hotel's deliveries coming through the front door and being tutted at by the staff who don't make eye contact.
Never mind - I managed to conect with the lady I was having a meeting with.
So we then decided that in order to actually see each other - we would search the hotel for a glimmer of light - and we found it in the Victory Bar! a nice little conservatory, so great for using a laptop, but at least we could see each other. I asked for an orange juice, and this I got - I can't tell you what it tasted like, at the table had such a slope to it that when one of the jets passed what felt like only 10 feet above us it simply slipped off the table - neat trick! I explained this to the staff (in the bar they do in fact make eye contact), and the answer seemed to be to have me pay for another...
Not wishing to cause a scene, I paid for another drink. This time I had to place it on the window ledge behind me and not on the table, as I now had more faith in the structure than the fittings.
We concluded our meeting - fairly quickly as neither of us wished to leave blind, but we decided to have a quick bite to eat.
The menu is a bar menu, so I would never be expecting houte cuisine... I did simply ask for a a tuna sandwich. Now - I am a lady who is in her mid 40's, although I am lucky enough to look a tiny bit younger! :-) However - when the "sandwich" turned up, I thought that I had the wrong meal - this was clearly something either created by a child or intended for one. Let me explain. Instead of the traditional mini baguette, or two slices of bread or a bread roll/bap etc - The "child" chef had decided that this was far too simple, and had created a "block" from slithers of stale white bread and butter, with the tuna as a clear after thought!? with a small pot of cirsps on the side. Now - I do have all of my teeth, so even a side of salad would have been nice - but this must have been the unhealthy "child" chef on today.. As a grown up - I dont tend to wish to have my bread in "soldiers" - especially when caked in butter - a simple brown roll with a bit of salad on the side would have done - not the gluten, with fat, with more fat on the side.. I didnt eat it - I simply opened the door and gave it to one of the workmen. He thanked me, but said - "ooo - bit salty love"!? That would be the enormous amount of butter you've just consumed - here - have a crisp instead!
Nobody came to ask if the meal was ok, nobody cared - it seemed that eye contact was the best I was going to get here. Not wishing to detract from the positivity of my business meeting, I paid for the gluten fat and the flying OJ, but I'll stick to meeting there on a sunny day with a bottle of water, and bring my own sustinance - shame, as I've been sending business to this place for over 11 years - my, have times changed.. :-(

Room Tip: You do have to understand that you are on the main flight path of an international airport, so you h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaiflixx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cheadle hotels

West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I spent lastnight at the De Vere Village.
First impressions of front of house were efficient, wellcoming and informative.

I was not expecting the room to be as well appointed- an upper deck room

-very effective climate control system
-tastefully decorated with comfortable quality linens
-modern screen entertainment unit with FULL sky channels
-docking station speaker system
-very comfortable bed, numerous pillows, high thread count crisp cottons
-Starbucks coffee/tea facilities
-modern tasteful bathroom with quality toiletries, especially liked the heated condensation free mirror

Although i stayed just one night it was the type of room I would have been very comfortable spending several days in.

What didn't I like?
-lack of soft close toilet seat didn't match the quality of the bathroom fittings
-whilst plentiful the bathroom towels were not of the best quality
-very cheap thin toilet tissue, says a lot about an establishment

I did eat in the bar and this was perfectly acceptable.

Wifi very effective within room and public areas

I found the room and public areas to be spotlessly clean during my stay

All the staff were found to be friendly and efficient by myself and my colleagues.

Room Tip: Invest in an upper deck room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fordwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Great staff great hotel dont know where these people come from find any excuse to complain. book and see 4 yourself aircraft noise yes rooms a little stuffy yes but everything else spot on.
Booking in a breeze room great free wine and chocolates Sky sports on the box what else do u need.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Very tired hotel in all areas. Unfriendly staff, and unhelpful in general (try getting a coffee at the reception coffee shop one minute before closing!).
Room not ready upon arrival even though they were previously advised that a specific time/event was being attended (we would have stayed elsewhere if they couldn't accommodate us). When a fuss was kicked up, guess what? The room was miraculously ready! Sheer laziness of staff in not checking, and following the party line of 'your room is not ready'.
The rooms themselves are extremely basic. No aircon and our fan fell apart when touched (so much for good legal electrical testing). Evidence of mould in the bathroom, and only soap available for free in the bathroom. Our view was of a roof and aircon vents. Rooms are stuffy and even though we were first floor overlooking the ground floor roof, the windows could only be opened one inch - do they think guest are children and going to throw themselves 3 ft out of the window? Do they have a burglary problem? Either way, room air circulation is very poor and this makes the rooms even more stuffy.
Public areas are dirty and in desperate need of a facelift. Low ceilings and little natural light do not help but there is no effort by the hotel to brighten reception up.
Concierge is a bit of a joke. After leaving our luggage my son collected it later and upon his return half the items were missing. I actually had to go into the locker room to identify our belongings, at which point I could have claimed some other guests items and not a glance would have been given (not ticketing/receipt system in operation so it really is a free for all and do not leave valuable items with them).
Staff are rude and curt. We arrived for breakfast ten minutes before closing (a guess really as no one told us upon arrival of restaurant timings) to be told 'you are late, we are closing, you can only have what is on display'. Add that to our welcome of things not being ready and no one caring, no one to help with luggage to the room, not even any directions to the room being given, etc etc and you can see the staff are not that keen. I was not the only one to report on the staff - my group and two other groups all complained. It made no difference even though as three groups we accounted for over 30 rooms! Clearly, size of business makes no difference to your treatment (not that it should, but they didn't really care that none of us would come back in the future and that's a lot of disgruntled people).
Overall, it's a room and that's all you can say. And an expensive one too for what you get.
If you have a choice, forget this hotel.

Room Tip: there are no good rooms so the best room is at another hotel. Room views are simply attrocious in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NightOwl1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Hotel is ok for what we paid ... but that's all. So dark it's like walking into some kind of underworld and the rooms are no better - we could barely see each other in the gloom! Quite noisy as right on the flight path from Manchester airport and fans from the bathrooms on either side, above and below don't make for a restful night. On the plus side, the bed was comfortable and sheets clean. Could be so much better but I just don't think they're that bothered.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank kobi54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheadle
0.8 mi away
Cheadle House
Cheadle House
#3 of 4 in Cheadle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
1.2 mi away
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
#57 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester (Cheadle) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Village Hotel Manchester Ashton
Village Hotel Manchester Ashton
#1 of 3 in Ashton-under-Lyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,522 reviews
7.4 mi away
Village Hotel Manchester Hyde
1.8 mi away
Didsbury House
Didsbury House
#9 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Manchester Cheadle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Manchester Cheadle

Property: Village Hotel Manchester Cheadle
Address: Cheadle Road, Cheadle SK8 1HW, England (Formerly De Vere Village Manchester Cheadle)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Cheadle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cheadle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Manchester Cheadle 3.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Manchester Cheadle is nestled in the leafy suburb of Cheadle and just over 4 miles from Manchester Airport and close to the M60 motorway Junction 2. It is in an ideal location for accessing the M6 and M62 motorways. Nearby attractions include Tatton Park, Old Trafford Football Club and Quarry Bank Mill. Village Hotel Manchester Cheadle has 117 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 25 metre Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free parking and free wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Village Hotel Manchester Cheadle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Village Manchester Cheadle Hotel Cheadle
Village Manchester Hotel Cheadle
Cheadle Hotel Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing