We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most enjoyable”
Review of Istanbul Grill

Istanbul Grill
Ranked #3 of 88 Restaurants in Cheadle
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
222 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Most enjoyable”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We went on a Saturday evening and had no problems with service or the food. We chose the Turkish wine as we had never tasted this before and we were really impressed. The food was excellent with a wide choice. We have always gone to Turquoise in the past but feel that the standards have slipped there so we will definitely be visiting the Istanbul grill again soon

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne1237511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    310
    133
    48
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Turkish Restaurant”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This was our first visit and our overall impression was of a friendly well run restaurant serving a good range of food ( including vegetarian of which our party included one) at a reasonable price.
It's worth getting here before 19.00 as cocktails are two for one and we each had an Istanbul Sunset which was very pleasant.

For the food two of our party had fish- one had halibut and the other whole sea bream, one had lamb and the other had chicken all of which was well cooked and delicious. Prior to this we had starters including chilly prawns, calamari, humus and cozbiz kofte which were also very good.

I would recommend this restaurant to others and my only adverse comments would be that I thought that the service was less than attentive (although they were busy) and the wine which cost £17.50 (Sauvignon Blanc) was in my opinion very poor and I would be disappointed if I had paid £4.99 for it and drunk it at home.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mafia2303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place,lovely food”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Just been to the Istanbul Grill tonight (3/8/14) for a works do. Ignore the negative reviews on here. The food was excellent and the staff very friendly. We all thought it was one of the best nights we have had for a long time. We will definitely be going back

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SharmloverCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disgusting”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Bad service poor quality food made me sick the drinks weren't much better and when trying to advise I wasn't happy i was appalled by the utter rudeness! Expensive night out for bad service never again!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ottgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Lovely - with some amazing veggie food”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I'm used to not having much choice on a menu, but this was great. Loads of starters and several main courses were on the menu as veggie.
The food was lovely. We had mezze to start and it was an interesting mix of a few items. The moussaka was hot, spicy and very filling.
The waiters were very knowledgeable and attentive.
Shame it is not local to me or I'd be back really soon!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank slugbreff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Istanbul Grill also viewed

Cheadle, Greater Manchester
 
Cheadle, Greater Manchester
Cheadle, Greater Manchester
 
Cheadle, Greater Manchester
Cheadle, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Istanbul Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing