We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice food and good service but.......”

Piccolo Italian Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #16 of 88 Restaurants in Cheadle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Piccolo has been created with the sole purpose of bringing the real taste of Italy in to a small corner of South Manchester with a combination of great food and a delightful venue.Established in Gatley, a small friendly village in Cheadle Cheshire, we chose a beautiful 250 year old disused chapel to create our restaurant with an atmosphere so delightful and warm that our customers regularly comment; "we feel like we are on holiday".We provide our customers with high quality food by using the best ingredients, prepared with love and an unsurpassed passion. Combining a warm ambiance and friendly atmosphere, amazing food served and Live Music on Friday & Saturday nights, dining at Piccolo is a memorable experience for all.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice food and good service but.......”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

We went here for the first time this week. The food was nice and the service was good. We really enjoyed it until we went to pay the bill and was then told it was cash only because the phone line was down and they couldn't take cards.
I understand if the phone line is down, it is not there fault and is totally out of there control. This I can forgive but they knew the line was down and the consequencies of this before we sat down. There was an older man running in and out, talking on the phone about problem with the line as we entered the restaurant. Of course this meant nothing to us, we had no idea they weren't able to accept cards. I think it would have been polite and much more proffessional if we had been told before we ordered that it would be cash only. Luckily I had cash on me otherwise they would have had a problem.
Will I go again though? Yes, probably. Apart from this one hiccup we did enjoy

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dale T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    62
    23
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“1 hour wait for starters totally unacceptable.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Nice place good atmosphere but after over an hour's wait for starters we were starving and fed up. Drinks expensive but needed to do something to pass the time. A shame because it's local but we won't be going back, food nice but by the time it arrived we would have eaten anything!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsMac1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheadle, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

First went in May and last went last night.
Been here quite a few times now and it's just what the village needed!
It's a beautiful restruaunt and the food is fabulous!
Definitely worth every penny!
They have live music on at the weekends so if you don't like too much noise I'd stay away at weekends. Also recomend booking if you do want to go at the weekend.
They also do a really good family meal deal offer!
Overall amazing place and will be returning!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Best Italian in Manchester!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

We were a little dubious of this restaurant when it first opened as we were big fans of Bellini's in Cheadle and we'd heard a couple of poor reviews about slow service, etc. So we gave it a wide berth for about 3 months, everywhere suffers teething problems.

When we went, we were not disappointed. The food was absolutely fantastic. Real home-cooked Italian food. From the mussels to start to the spinach & ricotta canneloni to the melt in your mouth garlic bread with cheese!!! Yum!

The service is always friendly and fast. And they sell a really nice Australian Shiraz too!

We're regulars at Piccolo now, we go at least once a month. We went to their 'FREE' 2nd birthday party also, which was all in aid of Charity where so very serious cash was raised!!

And NYE was good value in 2012, £59 each for all inclusive evening, doesn't get much better than that!! It didn't finish til 4am!

We've tried more or less every dish on their menu now from pizza & pasta to steaks, fish and chicken, and everyone has been fabulous.

We also enjoy sitting outside watching the world go by with a drink in the summer! Like a little slice of an italian Piazza in Gatley!

I have noticed recently that they do seem to be getting very busy on Friday & Saturday nights, with larger parties also, so I would suggest that unless you are going early doors, that you call ahead and check they have availibility.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CandyLadyManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Amazing evening and beautiful food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

This is an incredible little restaurant, make sure you book to avoid missing out. The atmosphere is great in the week and especially at the weekend with live music while you eat. The singer was great and took requests and pretty much knew every song we asked for!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Piccolo Italian Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Gatley, Cheadle
Cheadle, Greater Manchester
 
Cheadle, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Piccolo Italian Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing