We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italians would be ashamed!”

La Casetta Italian Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 95 Restaurants in Cheadle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$27
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: La Casetta- At the house of Claudio and Leo, we are an independent, family run business in the heart of Cheadle Hulme.As a family run business, we pride our self on family values, providing excellent customer service with honesty and knowledge.We at La Casetta are hard working giving you the best Italian experience possible.We bring with us flavours and traditional recipes, which come from Nonna Maria's kitchen from Naples and Nonna Rosalia from Sicily. All our food is freshly prepared daily, using the finest produce available, with a wide range of dishes.
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Menu is huge with lots of specials biggest push was on burger and chips!Too many waiters to customers constantly mithering starter was burnt toast with tastes chicken liver late and a mountain of green leaves drenched in balsamic vinegar. Main was pasta (so dry and rubbery)with crab meat (none seen or tasted!), prawns ( 3 so overbooked I could have bounced them on the floor!) chilli lots and lots of chilli and cherry tomatoes (1 squished on top!) Parmesan on top sprinkled by the waiter was the pre grated sort bought in packets in tesco! There is no surprise that the waiter was pushing the burger as the chef obviously can't manage pasta! Puddings not tackled as looked so unappetising. Cappuccino cold and minuscule and given without biscotti! Friend complained so waiter found some dry wafer to go with the coffee. My advice if you want ItalianI food give this restaurant a wide berth.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Tamsin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeoZino, Proprietario at La Casetta Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

In my career i can say i have cooked for many celebrities and sports personalities who have asked for me personally. For you to say all i want to do is push to sell burger and chips because i cannot cook real italian food is a hoax because burger and chips is not even on my menu, we have fresh fish and meat!! As for the waiters there are only 2, yes 2! This must seem like a lot to you. I can also add that my parmesan cheese is bought from an italian supplier with invoices to prove so, would you care to see them? Obviously as well you have never experienced real italian custom as Italians do not serve cappuccino with biscotti. For your final point i wish you yourself do give this restaurant a "wide berth" as i don't appreciate hoax reviews like yours. There is only one person too be "ashamed" of themselves and that is you.
BUON APPETITO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 137 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Nice atmosphere, great service and lovely food. All in all, great !! I ordered a filet of beef with Gorgonzola sauce and it was cooked to perfection. Very good.

Thank Kai K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeoZino, Proprietario at La Casetta Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thank you very much, we are proud to have customers like you that appreciate our food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We go here regularly as the food is so good, the owners are lovely and we always feel so relaxed there. We have tried pastas, steaks, chicken and they are all superb. Really hope this restarant does well. Thankyou Claudio and Leo.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank KathWoodfordCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeoZino, Proprietario at La Casetta Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you very much, it's very kind of you. See you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We made a last minute booking for Christmas eve, having the Christmas menu. It was our first visit to the restaurant despite being local and passing it regularly, why did we leave it so late. The staff were friendly, the service excellent and the food superb! The atmosphere was relaxed and festive, all on all, this was a great start to the festivities. We will be returning.

Thank TheRealClarkster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeoZino, Proprietario at La Casetta Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Thank you very much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We visited on Bonfire Night, so the restaurant was a bit quiet. Nevertheless, we thoroughly enjoyed our meal which was beautifully presented by Claudio and his brother. What a delight to find such personal service when many so-called Italian restaurants are just part of a chain! Not the easiest place to find, but well worth the effort.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SuzygirlMacclesfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeoZino, Proprietario at La Casetta Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thank you very much for your review, see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Casetta Italian Restaurant also viewed

Cheadle, Greater Manchester
Cheadle, Greater Manchester
 
Stockport, Greater Manchester
 
Cheadle, Greater Manchester
 

Been to La Casetta Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing