We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Cheshire Line”

The Cheshire Line Tavern
Reserve with OpenTable
The Cheshire Line Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #25 of 91 Restaurants in Cheadle
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“The Cheshire Line”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Went with my husband and children on new years eve for lunch. Very relaxed atmosphere. The tables and chairs upholstery could do with a bit of a makeover. However really good variety and choice of food. The food is always nice & hot and well presented, and great value for money. Definitely will be going again soon. Toilets are always clean.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    90
    21
    21
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tasty food at great value”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Fourteen of us enjoying a meal at The Cheshire Line. All meals served together, not easy thing to manage. All of us 100% satisfied with quality, quantity and value for money.
On average, I would say most meals are below the average price of equivalent meals elsewhere.
The two for £12 range is extensive and most couples would find something they like.
Most of our group had the two steaks and a bottle of wine for £19.95, wine names we all recognize too.
Go and enjoy!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great Find”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We were staying in Cheadle over a weekend and drove around on Saturday night looking for somewhere to eat. We drove through Cheadle and didn't see anything we fancied so we were looking for somewhere to turn around when we found this place. The restaurant was busy but they managed to find us a table. The food was very good and very reasonably priced. We both had steak and it was a very nice cut and cooked perfectly. We would certainly go back here if we were in the area again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
“Christmas Lunch”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Really disappointing. For a party of 40 there were not enough waiting on staff. All the meals came out at different times and one that had been pre-booked did not materialise at all. Perhaps they cannot cope with large parties

Visited December 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sunday Carvery”
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

This place has to be the best Carvery ever! The meat is fantastic and plenty of it!! There are about 10 different veg to choose from, gorgeous stuffing and the gravy is to die for!! I'd like to add that the staff are really friendly and genuine. Tonight we had a really good wine with our meal and it was only £11! I would definitely recommend this place. If you call a fee hours before they will reserve a table next to the train line.

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cheshire Line Tavern also viewed

Cheadle, Greater Manchester
Cheadle, Greater Manchester
 
Cheadle, Greater Manchester
Cheadle, Greater Manchester
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing