We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally different”
Review of Indian Tiffin Room

Indian Tiffin Room
Ranked #2 of 91 Restaurants in Cheadle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
stockport
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Totally different”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Can it really be that good I thought when reading through some of the evangelical reviews...we called in at 5.20 on a Thursday when only 1 table was occupied... Did you book? Why asked I looking around. You can have the table till 6.30, this suited us fine - within 20 minutes every seat, every table was taken - and people were being turned away from the door. Surely no other small suburban restaurant in this area gets that full that early - must be for a pretty good reason.

I simply have nothing with which to compare the food we had - never had an Indian meal quite like it..no popadums and chutney no chicken tikka starters, no madras, no vindaloo ... Just an array of some of the most unusual and flavoursome dishes we have ever tasted..

Excellent service and very reasonably priced.

An absolute gem of a restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank IMD33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    620
    111
    36
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely food and service:-)”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Although I live in Cheadle, I wasn't aware of the Tiffin Room until some friends invited us to join them. We had booked a table for 6pm to ensure we could get a table and the waiter was extremely helpful at explaining what everything was. It's certainly not your average Indian cuisine, more like Indian street food - I ate dishes that I'd never heard of before. We had a great meal and would certainly recommend giving them a try:-)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank I_love_snorkelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“What a winner!”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Simply a dream of a place to visit with wonderful food, great staff and a super experience. The quality and variety of the dishes sets this apart from other Indian restaurants. Can't wait to return

Helpful?
1 Thank Bedeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“WOW absolute must try”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Food was amazing, service was amazing the whole experience was amazing. I found the issue with space all added to the experience... will be taking more friends and family to show off what we have in Cheadle. I asked our waiter to pick a selection of meat and veg starters was all perfect I recommend you do that... Prices are really cheap as well although I never judge a restaurant on price alone. 4 people lots and lots of food lot of beer and wine. £104.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing, Delicious, Fantastic!!!”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We have been waiting to eat here for ages and can honestly say the Indian Tiffin Room exceeded all expectations.
Small, busy and relaxed the friendly and approachable servers were great, they explained the menu and really looked after us.
We shared four starters and one main which was the perfect amount. Everything was delicious and the peshwari naan was AMAZING.
We will be back! Thank you.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Rowan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Indian Tiffin Room also viewed

Cheadle, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Stockport, Greater Manchester
Cheadle, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Indian Tiffin Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing