We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”
Review of Cheadle House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cheadle House
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cheadle
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Just returned from a one night stay at Cheadle House. We used it as stop off after visiting the Trafford Centre for a shopping trip.

Have to say was a very good VFM break, booked on the winter offer so paid a reduced rate but even at standard price would have been worth it.

Stayed in room 6 and have no complaints regarding decor or condition of the room, only negative was the lack of complimentary binoculars to see the TV that was positioned some distance from the bed on the desk in the corner.

Staff member on duty Thursday evening on our arrival was very welcoming and helpful, nice touch of free Tea and Coffee in reception, breakfast had limited cold choices but that was probably to do with the fact the hotel was very quiet (still a reasonable choice), hot food was plentiful, some looked a little tired (Bacon, Scrambled Egg) but all in all a great selection.

The wife and I paid a visit to the equally friendly late bar attendant to consume 4 JagerBombs before retiring to our room for a good nights sleep, my wife did say that she could hear the planes in the night, however I did not (she is quite a light sleeper).

An enjoyable experience and would certainly return.

Room Tip: Only experience is room 6, despite TV being a little too far away room is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davijd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Front Office Manager at Cheadle House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Dear Davijd,

Thank you for your recent review of Cheadle House; we were all very pleased to read you enjoyed your time with us.

We hope to see you again in the near future!

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (572)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

297 - 303 of 572 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

The building and pleasant, open lobby areas give hope of a positive stay. We also found the reception staff and breakfast staff helpful and welcoming. However, it is clear that this place is run on a minimal budget.

The most bizarre penny-pinching behaviour is that the tissues in the room are manually cut in half, presumably so you don't use as many, but they are then so small that they are useless. The heating bills in this place must be very low, because the rooms and whole corridor we stayed in were very cold. The rooms have tiny radiators - wholly inadequate for the job.

The walls are paper thin, so you become fully versed in the comings and goings of other guests, even if they are respectfully quiet. Contrary to other reports, our rooms were clean, albeit quite basic. I'm not sure who they asked to tile the bathrooms but they must have been cheap. The duvets were barely wide enough to fit the bed - not a great feature to have when partnered with a cold room.

Don't be fooled by the DeVere name - this is not a typical DeVere Venue. Think "cheap" and you will not be disappointed. Or stay somewhere else, especially in the colder months. Oh yes - it is also sited right under the flight path into Manchester Airport.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaptainPacific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Front Office Manager at Cheadle House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Dear CaptainPacific,

Thank you for your recent review of Cheadle House; we were all disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your time with us as we do pride ourselves on service and offering.

I was particularly shocked in relation to your comment regarding tissues; all of our supplied items throughout the hotel are provided as received from the supplier. Please be assured that we never undertake activities such as cutting tissues to extend their use as this is truly unacceptable within any De Vere Venue. I have passed these details to our housekeeping team for investigation, and please rest assured that this is a highly unusual incident, and one we have never had raised to us before.

The details regarding temperature have been passed on to our maintenance manager for review of the central heating and air conditioning systems; we do provide additional heaters on request as it can sometimes be difficult to maintain an even temperature throughout the building, particularly owing to the age of the structure; please remain assured that we would never deliberately cause you discomfort.

In relation to the walls in the rooms, these do contain sound insulation to minimise disturbance from other neighbouring rooms as we understand the importance of a good nights sleep. We do hope you will accept our apologies and assurances that we do provide alternative rooms where guests find rooms to be unsuitable for their needs. In several years here, this is the first such time I have ever had any comment passed regarding thin walls or similar, so please accept our apologies that you found your night disturbed.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you back soon for another opportunity for us to showcase the high levels of standards and service we strive to provide to every guest.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Myself, partner and young daughter stayed here on the 30th December. We visit the area a lot and are familiar with this hotel, but is the first time we have stayed here.
Clean, spacious place, we loved the choice of seating areas on each floor. Receptionist was helpful and friendly. Our room was spacious and served its purpose. We had room 16, only niggle would be the radiator could have been bigger as only the one, also one of the tiles was stained on the ceiling. Our daughter had an inflatable bed, she was fine with this.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mumchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Front Office Manager at Cheadle House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Dear mumchef,

Thank you for your review of Cheadle House; we were all delighted to read your high praise regarding the staff and the public areas. I have passed your comments regarding the bedroom tile to our maintenance manager and we apologise you found a stained tile; we have recently received new tiles and a new one will be in place shortly - thank you for bringing this to our attention.

We are aware of, and are reviewing options, in relation to the radiators in some of our rooms. We do have a central air conditioning system that maintains temperatures throughout, with the radiator providing additional heat to individual rooms; we do also provide portable heaters on request if necessary for your next stay.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed for one night over Christmas while visiting family - was a convenient location for the visit. The price was right as well- we paid in advance and got a good deal. The reception check in was cheerful, friendly and efficient. The room was large - but in bad need of refurbishing- the carpet was filthy and I was glad I had slippers with me as it was sticky if you walked bare foot on it!. The bed coverings were not the cleanest- my husband picked hairs off the bed- we threw the scatter cushions off the bed as they looked none too clean. The settee in the room (could be used as fold out bed) was dilapidated and worn, not very clean) we would not even sit on it. The bathroom was large and the shower worked great- powerful. Having said that- the hot water runs onto the windowsill and causes mold and mildew to build up on the sill from the water constantly sitting there- not a good design!. The TV was nice and big and there was tea/coffee facility. We had intended on perhaps extending our stay for a night or two to give our relatives a break from having us there, but once we saw the room, we changed our mind. The breakfast was ok- on a scale of 1-10, about a 5. Everything was plastic, the food had been sitting out a long time, pretty low quality items, but passable if you are hungry,.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aremac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Front Office Manager at Cheadle House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Dear aremac,

Thank you for your review of Cheadle House; needless to say we were all dismayed by your comments regarding bedroom and dining standards as we pride ourselves on high standards throughout all of our offering and service provision.

I have passed your comments to our houskeeping team for further review and rectification as it is agreed that such standards as those you report are unacceptable within the venue; particularly within our premier rooms (which are the only rooms with sofa-beds). Please rest assured that these comments will be acted upon and further inspections carried out within all rooms; we have recently undertaken a full deep clean of all our rooms so we were surprised to hear your notes regarding the carpet and sofa-bed as these are checked and cleaned on a daily basis, with a full deep clean on a rotating basis - we sincerely apologise that you did not find the room to be satisfactory and please be assured that we would happily have arranged a full deep clean of the room and an alternative bedroom for you immediately upon us being informed during your stay.

We do hope that you will give us a second chance in the near future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We arrive on the night of our stay, the receptionist was nice and helpful, room was dated and needed a good clean and it didn't smell very fresh!
The bed was comfy we just didn't sleep very well as very noisy
In the morning upon checking out we wanted a coffee so we went to the free coffee making facilities and stood at the machine for 10 minutes having trouble getting it to work when a bald man in a suite (hotel manager?) came over and said 'don't use that it's not working' he had been stood 3feet away chatting to another member of staff about what they had drank over Christmas and had noticed us struggling!! Found this very rude
When we did check out the receptionist, answered the phone and thrust the receipt at me!! No goodbye, did you enjoy your stay NOTHING!! so all in all a pretty rubbish stay

Room Tip: Don't stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dolly986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Front Office Manager at Cheadle House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Dolly986,

Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your stay at Cheadle House. The entire management team here were dismayed to hear of your experiences and please rest assured that this is not the standard of stay that should be provided to guests. I have passed on your feedback to the General Manager here and I will personally speak to the reception team regarding your departure experience. Please accept our apologies for the manner of the team who spoke with you during your stay and rest asured that these matters will be addressed.

I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back for a future stay so that you may experience the true level of service we aim to provide; to this end I have contacted you privately so that we draw matters to a resolution for you.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Booked a room to be nearby Airport for our son's early morning winter return..glad we did when there was delay of several hours as this place only 15 mins or so away. We met several friendly staff especially on reception and in the bar. The hotel was nicely clean, not spotless. Room was very small, to be honest, but ok for one night. Went to use facilities at sister hotel which was a real bonus, someone had told us we could do this, and very glad we did as it was very peaceful in the swimming pool. The free coffee in the reception seemed to be turned off when we arrived but was switched on later on and even later on than that some cups appeared! It had fruit teas which was a real bonus as I had been feeling under the weather. We had food in the bar which was fresh and tasty, and my husband's beer was regular bar prices, to where we live - which happens to be a tourist area though. We would go here again, and were very pleased with this 'find.'

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Front Office Manager at Cheadle House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Dear Julie W,

Thank you for your recent review of Cheadle House; we were all pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that we provided a good respite space for you during your delayed wait.

We hope to see you again soon in the near future!

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Lovely hotel, clean and spacious rooms and very quiet even if it's near Manchester airport. Staff are also friendly and accomodating. TGIF is just a minute away. Big bonus! I definitely would like to return if given a choice.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isla1331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Front Office Manager at Cheadle House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

Dear Isla331,

Thank you for your great review of Cheadle House; we were all very happy to read that you had a great time here and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheadle
0.8 mi away
Village Hotel Manchester Cheadle
1.8 mi away
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
#38 of 120 in Manchester
157 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Manchester Airport Wilmslow Pinewood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester (Cheadle) Hotel
5 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,661 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheadle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheadle House

Address: Cheadle House Business Park Royal Crescent | Royal Crescent, Cheadle SK8 3FS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Cheadle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cheadle
Price Range: £50 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cheadle House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Cheadle House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheadle House Hotel Cheadle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing