We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for diving, not for eating”
Review of Sodwana Bay Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sodwana Bay Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sodwana
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good place for diving, not for eating”
Reviewed 12 November 2012

The dive organization is good. The rental equipment is ok, not very good, but acceptable if you don't have your own equipment. The staff is friendly (especially Mika, thank you) and willing to help.
The rooms are only average. When there is wind outside, there is also wind inside the rooms. When we arrived, there was no electricity and while taking a shower, the gas bottle became empty so the shower went cold.
The restaurant was very bad, bad quality meat and the lasagna was hot on the outside, but frozen inside. After reporting this problem, it was offered to deliver a new one: same problem. So apparently the people in the kitchen do not even know how to warm a plate of lasagna. The following days we decided to have diner in the Lighthouse restaurant, just outside the gate, on the opposite side of the road which is really good.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rienk v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    79
    34
    9
    2
See reviews for
58
59
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

I really enjoyed my time at Sodwana Bay. The huts are basic but good, the bed are comfy and everthing is very clean. Each hut has it's own veranda so nice to sit outside and listen to the birds.

Diving was great too! Bradley was a great dive instructor and after 5 dives I succeeded for my PADI Advanced. Nice! Atmosphere in an around the diveshop is also relaxed, laid back and helpfull. Definitely a place to recommend. The material is a bit dated but everything works fine.

If you're not into diving and fishing: only go here if you want to do absolutely nothing ;-)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We booked Sodwana Bay lodge for the 'Shootout special' which was good value for money. My only gripe is that the dates for the shootout were 3-6 Oct and the special was for 4-7, so we only got two dives in before the photos had to be submitted for the competition and we missed the whole registraton/orientation evening. The bathroom in the family unit was better than the one we stayed in last time, bed very comfortable, clean, we could actually regulate the water temp but the showerheads need to be changed! they are inexpensive to change and the lodge would find their water consumption would decrease if the direction of the water actually went where people needed it.

The restaurant was the same, adequate, and excellent staff as usual. I asked reception for a needle and thread to do a quick repair but no chance, this is a simple thing that surely one of the housekeeping ladies has in the laundry? but no. I find at this lodge after two visits that the reception staff are pleasant enough but not willing to put in any extra effort to help guests.

For families who don't want to self cater this is still one of the best choices and if you get a special like we did R1650 for 3 nights dinner, bed, breakfast and 5 dives per person its really good value.

The dive centre is excellent, Ben runs a great operation, helpful and friendly (and loves to tease!) the skippers, DM's and helpers all good fun and knowledgeable. We will surely be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annalagos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Between Ben all the other people at SBL, this was one of our best dive trips. Perfect conditions & excellent sightings underwater thanks to eagle-eyed DM Isaac. The service was always friendly and effecient. As a group of regular divers, the 5 of us had a superb time. The accommodation in the family unit overlooking the dam felt like 5*. The maids service friendly, quick and unobtrusive. Cant wait to go back as often as possible.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level 6 Contributor
665 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

When I arrived, based on price and what I read, I expected a really lovely place on the beach. Its not really lovely and 10 mintues from the beach. Its built for booking dive groups - period. Thus being truly overpriced. You can use the diveshop for your dives and stay somewhere else as I did. As a dive guide and shop I give it the highest marks. Very safe and organized!!!!

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank PelleasPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

This definitely looks like the best place to stay in Sodwana Bay as after driving through quite a shabby main street it was good to enter the private gates to a nice looking resort. Our double chalet was nice with a good balcony but lacking in seats for relaxation. The lodge boasts a expansive food menu but the quality was poor and mealtimes were disappointing. As non-divers there was little to do. We went on a whale watching tour organised by the lodge and while sitings were good the service was poor - regular changes in departure time to accommodate divers and no information provided on the trip. In short, unless you want to dive, stay away and visit St Lucia instead.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank macnoosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We checked in for a no hastle diving trip. The room allocated was small and cramped, especially seeing we had diving gear cluttering up the room.... and a bicycle that had to be brought inside due to security issues. It was changed without a problem to a "family unit" space problems not addressed as the rooms were full of beds. No table space for computors and camaera gear. It felt as if the mattresses were some sort of foam.... very uncomfortable.....and those pillows ah bring your own. This is primeraly a diving operation I suppose, but did not join thier operation. The restuarant is pretty aveage............... We got value for money I suppose, but for me, I will in future as I have always done, is go for one of the many self-catering options available. The worst thing is the cramped and ill concieved bathroom.........HATED that.. why no ceiling???????

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatsoJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sodwana
0.0 mi away
Coral Divers
Coral Divers
#1 of 17 in Sodwana
392 reviews
14.8 mi away
Thonga Beach Lodge
Thonga Beach Lodge
#1 of 4 in iSimangaliso Wetland Park
358 reviews
0.0 mi away
Triton Dive Lodge
Triton Dive Lodge
#3 of 17 in Sodwana
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Vis-Agie Fishing and Diving Resort
19.1 mi away
Wilderness Safaris Rocktail Camp
Wilderness Safaris Rocktail Camp
#1 of 4 in Maputaland Coastal Forest Reserve
194 reviews
24.9 mi away
andBeyond Phinda Forest Lodge
andBeyond Phinda Forest Lodge
#2 of 6 in Phinda Private Game Reserve
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sodwana Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sodwana Bay Lodge

Property: Sodwana Bay Lodge
Address: Sodwana Bay, Sodwana Main Rd | Near Mbazwana, Sodwana 3974, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Sodwana
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sodwana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sodwana Bay Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sodwana is situated In the heart of Maputaland, close to the pristine Lake Shazibe nestling behind the world's highest natural dunes, a short distance from the sea, Sodwana Bay Lodge has been carefully designed to match the rustic eco-orientated nature of the region. Here, on the relatively untouched eastern seaboard of southern Africa, wide lakes and extensive river estuaries shimmer with life, fertile swamp and sand forest abound with rare and protected animal and plant species, while towering dunes shelter golden beaches from the lush interior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Sodwana Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sodwana Bay Hotel Hluhluwe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing