We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple logde, lousy service at restaurant”
Review of Sodwana Bay Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sodwana Bay Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sodwana
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
107 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Simple logde, lousy service at restaurant”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We had a nice stay at Sodwana Bay Lodge. The lodges are simple, but comfortable with fan, a/c and fridge. We booked with half board, so we had breakfast and dinner in the restaurant. Breakfast was buffet style with quite some choice. Unfortunately the juices were very artificial.
The service at night in the restaurant was very poor. The kitchen as well as the waitresses couldn't cope with the amount of people. The average waiting time was an hour. The first night our youngest daughter ordered a pizza with green pepper, but she got the pizza without the green pepper, because it was finished, but they didn't tell her before hand. The second night she got the wrong dish and the sauces didn't come together with our meals: we had to wait for those quite a long time.
The day after we got home we received an e-mail with a 'forgotten' bill from the restaurant: our lunch from the day of arrival.
Behind the restaurant is a very nice and cozy bar with live performance every night.
On our arrival we wanted to book the turtle tour (one of reasons we came out there), but they told us it was already fully booked for the two nights we were staying. Very strange!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karlien K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    78
    34
    9
    2
See reviews for
57
58
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

The menu and actual food are really disappointing and absolutely redundant, but the service is fast and efficient. The atmosphere is also very pleasant and the milkshakes are great.

I would not recommend this restaurant if you are looking for something different and fresh menu wise.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Bertus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Algeciras, Spain
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Originally planned on a 2 night stay but couldn´t tear myself away so added on an extra night and plan to go back in a couple of weeks :-) The lodges are very comfortable, all the staff very friendly and helpful. The Dive Centre was great, did my refresher dive and 2 dives and it was well worth it. Wonderful variety of corals and fish! Special 2 night / 3dive package cost 1995R so very reasonable also. A definite recommend!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed 2 nights on the resort. The room was fairly small, and there was only a wall between the bedroom and the bathroom/toilet (ie no ceiling). However the room was clean and comfortable and as a gated reserve it is very safe.

We had a great morning at the pool area. It was a shame that due to weather conditions we couldn't snorkel and as we aren't divers we were limited to what we could do.

The only beach is the KZN reserve which charges for entry, However it is a beautiful beach and with the right weather it would be amazing.

The restaurant on site was good. There was a good choice for dinner, although the best part of breakfast was the pancakes.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank c d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midsomer Norton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
652 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 511 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

In itself this is a very fine place. As others have said, it is completely safe being locked from the outside world by guards and so forth. We stayed there for one week on a timeshare. Be warned it is not cheap, I think about R1200 / night but it does sleep four so it's not too bad.

There is a halfway decent restaurant open from first thing in the morning until late at night and a little bar. There is a swimming pool if you don't mind swimming in leaves at certain times of the year. Tours are organised, and don't forget this is one of the best areas in South Africa for exploring the coral reefs. The beach is 5 km away and you don't want to walk directly to the beach through the forest unless you like being bitten by snakes.

The beach is something else, very sandy, and besieged by people in their best snorkelling gear. Don't let that put you off because the beaches are huge, miles long, when we were there it was a bit windy so we had a free exfoliation but there are always places to avoid the worst of the wind.

The weather in KwaZulu Natal is hot to humid especially at the height of the season which is around November to February so be warned. We were there when it wasn't so bad there was one day of rain and cloud in the week but we were told that was exceptional.

Anyway back to the property, it is good value for a group of people and you are surrounded by delightful seasonal restaurants where you can have fun.

Room Tip: All the accommodations are arranged for privacy. I would not choose the ones abutting on the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian-Snellgrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
239 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

This was a stop on our 550km charity cycle ride and I must say I was disappointed. Everything about the lodge was average - food, accommodation and location. Although it is a dive and fishing lodge, the actual establishment is approx. 5km from the coast so for a casual visitor there is no direct access to the beach. In my view it is not a general holiday destination - but, it certainly caters for divers and fishermen and by all accounts there is world class diving and fishing in the area

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JohanMoolman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Lovely place, well mantained.
Absolutely safe (completely fenced) by oposition to other sodwana bay accomodation options.
Great staff in our experience, kind and caring.
Whale watching didn´t let down, whales were there jumping for us (though they tend to hide once you are trying to aproach them)

Yes I would recommend this place.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Meropsapiaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sodwana
4.4 mi away
Mseni Beach Lodge
Mseni Beach Lodge
#2 of 15 in Sodwana
147 reviews
4.4 mi away
Coral Divers
Coral Divers
#1 of 15 in Sodwana
385 reviews
14.8 mi away
Thonga Beach Lodge
Thonga Beach Lodge
#1 of 4 in iSimangaliso Wetland Park
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Triton Dive Lodge
Triton Dive Lodge
#3 of 15 in Sodwana
83 reviews
2.0 mi away
Natural Moments Bush Camp & Diving
4.3 mi away
Vis-Agie Fishing and Diving Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sodwana Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sodwana Bay Lodge

Property: Sodwana Bay Lodge
Address: Sodwana Bay, Sodwana Main Rd | Near Mbazwana, Sodwana 3974, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Sodwana
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sodwana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sodwana Bay Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sodwana is situated In the heart of Maputaland, close to the pristine Lake Shazibe nestling behind the world's highest natural dunes, a short distance from the sea, Sodwana Bay Lodge has been carefully designed to match the rustic eco-orientated nature of the region. Here, on the relatively untouched eastern seaboard of southern Africa, wide lakes and extensive river estuaries shimmer with life, fertile swamp and sand forest abound with rare and protected animal and plant species, while towering dunes shelter golden beaches from the lush interior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Sodwana Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sodwana Bay Hotel Hluhluwe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing