We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful, go with a bunch of friends or make some there”
Review of Coral Divers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coral Divers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We spent a long weekend diving in Sodwana. The location of the lodge in the park makes it easy to get and go for dives early in the morning. Some of the DM's seem a bit inexperienced but we had pretty easy dives for our entire stay. The dive planning and the actual dive spots were fantastic. There is usually great viz (15-20m) and lots of coral and marine life to take in. We were fortunate enough to spot a leopard shark towards the end of our last dive!

The accommodation was reasonable considering the price and I thought showering outside under the trees was really soothing after spending the whole morning in the surf. I don't think it would be everybody's cup of tea though.

One suggestion would be to carry your own gear around. Although there are staff willing to assist you for a small fee, they tend to drop your gear in the sand a lot. I only found out how much sand I had in my BC and regulator during my next dive.

Room Tip: Go for the best accommodation available, it's still affordable and will give you the best nights...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Suven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoralDivers, Manager at Coral Divers, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Good day!

Leopard shark sightings are very rare so we're extremely pleased to hear you spotted one. We do think that being inside a National Park with private, outdoor showers adds to the appeal. With accommodation to meet everyone's budget you can spend more time diving trying to spot something like a Leopard Shark!

I have noted your comment about our Gear Assistants and will be passing it on to our Beach Managers to address with them. The best place for sand is on the beach and not in your gear!

Thank you for the review and we look forward to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (405)
There are newer reviews for Coral Divers
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

335 - 341 of 405 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

Awesome place, the central pool, dinning area and pub make for a festive time. The boma braai area surrounded in sand is great and the catering facilities excellent.
Dive shop is organised and staff very helpful.
The chalets can be hot in summer and the small fans not always enough - take your own!

Room Tip: The chalets with en suite are best
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SunnySABallito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoralDivers, Manager at Coral Divers, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Hi there

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor for us.

It is a great place to meet people. All the facilities are shared, open and with everyone having diving in common it's easy to make new friends!

We agree with regards to bringing extra fans for our hottest months (December to February). Though we are looking at putting better fans into our accommodation before our next Summer rush.

We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I have used most of the dive operators in Sodwana, but since I stayed with Coral for the first time in February 2011, I have never even considered going anywhere else. Firstly, accommodation wise it is the most convenient spot in Sodwana; you are inside the reserve so there is no issue with regards to entering every morning, there is a shuttle that takes you down to the beach throughout the whole day and the best of all is the fact that you don't have to take anything along. They provide fridges, cutlery, fires for the braai every evening and there is a great bar and all round fantastic vibe at the lodge. The diving runs like a factory. It is the only charter I have used that is always on time, has enough boats and have great DM's that actually know what they are doing, promote safe diving and have an immense passion for the ocean and its critters!! I have done a few courses there as well and the instructors are very professional!If you are considering going to Sodwana, don't look anywhere else! Paul van Marle

Room Tip: Use the standard cabins with private bathroom (not ensuite). They are very affordable and that extra...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank paulvmarle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoralDivers, Manager at Coral Divers, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Hi there

Thank you for taking the time to write such an informative review, it is greatly appreciated! We're very happy to see we have not disappointed you after all these years.

We are very privileged to be located within the National Park. Not only does it allow us to provide the shuttle service during launches but also gives you a bush experience with Duiker, Mongoose, Guinea Fowl all wandering around the camp.

I have passed on your comments regarding the diving, DM's and Instructors.

Thank you again for all your comments, if there is any way we can improve our service to you, please let us know!

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Always have such a good time! By far the cheapest courses, but what a bang for your buck! Diving never seems to fail to produce awesome sightings! Mantas, dolphins, sharks, the works! Fun people, amazing diving and good chow! Highly recommended! Shot guys!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CalvinKipling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoralDivers, Manager at Coral Divers, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Hello there

Thank you for your review. It is always great to hear such positive feedback from our guests. We are always trying to improve our service to you. If there is anything we can make better, please let us know!

We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

First time at Sodwana with Coral divers, had a most enjoyable time, well done, will be back again, the free coffee and tea on tap was a real winner, the kitchen staff were amazing always busy, helpfull and friendly

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smal4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoralDivers, Manager at Coral Divers, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Hi there

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor.

We're very glad to hear your first experience staying at Coral was a favorable one! All our guests appreciate the free tea and coffee on offer, especially those early morning before the diving starts!

I have passed on your comments to our Kitchen staff, they were very thankful.

We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We have been to Coral Divers a number of times and have only loved it. The stuff are friendly and the Food is always amazingly good. Everything is always well organised and the staff, dive master and Gareth more then go out of their way for us every time.

The only negative might be other visitors who make it unpleasant but that cant be blamed on Coral Divers. That is purely people not knowing how to behave in public.

Highly recommend Coral Divers

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Mharding87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoralDivers, Manager at Coral Divers, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Hi there

Thanks for your review, it is always great to hear feedback from our guests! Our diving may seem rather structured and rigid with the schedule we keep but we are more than willing to be flexible with regards to our guests' needs!

All you have to do is ask and we will do a backwards roll for you!

We look forward to seeing you very soon at Coral!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We have stayed at Coral Divers many times. It is a world class dive resort and worth a visit. They offer great accommodation as far as a dive camp goes, the food at the restaurant is the bedt on offer in Sodwana and their service is always great. Most importantly of course the whole scuba diving experience is very efficient, making every dive a memorable one:)

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EsteeSuzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoralDivers, Manager at Coral Divers, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Hello!

We appreciate you taking the time to review us on tripadvisor! We're very thankful for your comments and appreciate any kind of feedback from our guests.

Food is always important after a hard days diving and nothing finishes it off quite like a Coral Pizza and Milkshake!

We look forward to seeing you again at Coral very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sodwana
6.8 mi away
Sodwana Bay Lodge
Sodwana Bay Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sodwana
192 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mseni Beach Lodge
Mseni Beach Lodge
#2 of 18 in Sodwana
162 reviews
0.0 mi away
Triton Dive Lodge
Triton Dive Lodge
#3 of 18 in Sodwana
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Thonga Beach Lodge
Thonga Beach Lodge
#2 of 4 in iSimangaliso Wetland Park
367 reviews
3.0 mi away
Natural Moments Bush Camp & Diving
0.1 mi away
Vis-Agie Fishing and Diving Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Divers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Divers

Address: Private Bag 320 | Mbazwana, 3974, Sodwana 3974, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Sodwana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Sodwana
Price Range: £33 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Divers 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coral Divers is a PADI 5 star Gold Palm IDC/CDC Centre situated in Sodwana Bay, South Africa. We are proud to be able to provide all levels of PADI scuba instruction from Bubble Maker to Instructor Development Courses as well as accommodation and dive charters. Lying within the boundaries of the Isimangaliso Wetland Park, Sodwana Bay provides the travelling diver with a vast array of unspoilt coral reefs populated with a huge diversity of Indo-Pacific fish & invertebrates. Apart from the great diving & beautiful coral reefs, the area offers fun and excitement for the non-diver too. From quad bike riding, kiteboarding and paintballing to day trips to Makhasa Game Reserve for Rhino or Buffalo tracking on foot, you're sure to find something that appeals to you, your friends and/or family. Coral Divers offers you a very comfortable diving holiday experience while retaining the rustic appeal of an out-of-the-way bush camp. The area is covered with dense coastal forest offering exquisite scenery, bird watching, and a number of small mammals including Bush Babies, Genets, Duiker and Striped Mongoose. Sodwana is accessible by car, however we can arrange transfers from Hluhluwe - Bushlands (The BazBus drop off point) should you not have your own vehicle. Petrol & Diesel are available from the petrol station in the National Park, and there is a small supermarket which can provide you with essentials such as food, drink and sun block. There are a couple of restaurants both within and outside of the Park, as well as our local night club, 'Maak 'n Jol', where you can dance the night away. Sodwana is also within driving distance of a number of amazing game reserves including Makhasa Game Reserve, Mkhuze Game Reserve, Phinda Game Reserve & the Hluhluwe Mfolozi Park. We invite you to take a look through our site to find out a little more about Coral Divers - Sodwana Bay and the diving. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Coral Divers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing