We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best option for Sodwana Area”

The Lighthouse Restaurant & Cocktail Lounge
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Sodwana
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: The owners Jenny and Tarryn Smart are dedicated to service and quality. We are on the main road to Sodwana bay beach, surrounded by beautiful coastal dune forests. Our pizza basis are thin made fresh daily as well as our homemade pastas. We also do, tender steaks, burgers, salads and delectable desserts. Come enjoy our cocktails or a espresso if you like.
Durban
Level Contributor
413 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“Best option for Sodwana Area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

One a five day visit to Sodwana, we ( a group of 6 of us) ate at The Lighthouse twice. We stopped for lunch and enjoyed it so much came back for dinner another night. Having tried a few other establishments in the area, I can honesty say nothing comes close. The service was excellent with attentive staff and management presence. The menu includes an amazing selection of smoothies and cocktails. Some of our group were fussy eaters and made a special (non menu) request from the waiter and after consulting with the manager (owner?), a plan was made which was really appreciated. The group had a mixed order from halloumi cheese starter to burgers, fish and chips, steak and pizza. Everyone without exception raved about their food and the final bill is not going to break the bank. If you are in the Sodwana area and want an above average meal then Lighthouse is your number one choice.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NauticalVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    33
    9
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A gem in the bush”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

I have been comming to Sodwana for the last 18+ years and looking for a new place to eat stumbled upon the Lighthouse. The menu is varied but Pizza seems to be their speciality and with a great thin crust. The staff and management were very friendly and went that extra mile to ensure we had a good dining experience. The menu is well priced and there are also a number of smoothies you can order which is a nice treat in the heat not to mention a decent wine list.

The ambiance of the restaurant is warm and inviting, it feels like you are sitting in the middle of the bush, wait; you are!

I had the Rump Steak on my first visit with an exquisite sauce and then pizza on my second visit and will definitely fit in two more visits before I leave.

They have become so popular that one needs to book to ensure you get a table in the evenings, that is saying something about this exciting venue. With not much of a selection in Sodwana, this is a pure gem and definitely a restuarant to be visited.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter_Driessel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delicious and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

What a surprice to find such a nice place out of the way. Very friendly service and excellent food. The steaks are very delicious.

Helpful?
Thank Joachim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very pleasantly surprised!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

When going to Sodwana we normally opt for self catering as there were limited options for eating out. But now that we have discovered the Lighthouse that will change! The food is imaginative and VERY tasty, the service friendly and efficient and the variety of items on the menu really good. We kept wondering about the logistics of getting interesting ingredients (for example Camembert for one of the speciality pizzas) to such a relatively remote location. Even our children were delighted with the kids options.

The setting is beautiful. We sat outside among strings of fairy lights and gorgeous green trees.

It is good value for money too, not pricey at all considering the quality of the food.

We will definitely be back each time we go to the area.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MelChrisJacobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Recommended!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Not a lot of options in Sodwana if you are not self-catering. We went to the Lighthouse pretty much for all our meals. We had fish and chips, steak and a range of their pizzas. Food was of good price and quality. The chicken in a chili sauce was the best. The owner is very friendly and helpful. One night we arrived after their kitchen was closed and he managed to offer us a bowl of chips - we were so grateful otherwise we would not have anything to eat at all. The cocktails seem to be very popular but we didn't try them. We were glad to have found the Lighthouse!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ludalua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lighthouse Restaurant & Cocktail Lounge also viewed

 
Sodwana, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Sodwana, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to The Lighthouse Restaurant & Cocktail Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing