We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfinished Business”
Review of Crooklands

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clapham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Crooklands
Ranked #4 of 5 Clapham B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We went to Clapham to do the climb up Ingleborough which I'd attempted in 2004 and had been driven back by extreme weather conditions. We stayed at Crooklands and it was superb, John and Diane gave us a warm welcome and we had tea and biscuits in their lovely lounge area. Our room was spacious, warm, comfortable, beautifully decorated, fresh,and had a nice en-suite with a large shower cubicle. The views from the window where spectacular. The breakfast menu was mouth watering, we had a bowl of fresh fruit every day with home made yoghurt, cereals, and a varied selection of hot items including black pudding if required, home made jams and marmalade for your toast, all were locally sourced. A lovely setting, and a lovely couple, the accommodation is about 1.5 miles outside Clapham, so eating out does involve a car journey, however this slight negative is easily overcome by a multitude of positives so I would recommend this accommodation to anyone without reserve.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gareth t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crooklands, Owner at Crooklands, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

We are very fortunate. Yes, we have a lovely old house and yes, the views are superb but it's you, our guests who make it easy to provide a good service. We have met so many lovely people over our three years doing this.
So, thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
There are newer reviews for Crooklands
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2013

My wife and I, together some friends of ours booked into Crooklands for the night after completing the Yorkshire Three Peaks, and we’re delighted to have done so.

The B&B is set in the most idyllic setting, with beautiful views from all sides. The B&B itself is gorgeous – and appears to have been recently refurbished, looking new, clean and fresh in all areas. Our bedroom and the common areas are all spotless and tastefully furnished.

The bedroom itself was very comfortable, with all of the usual amenities. Special mention to be made of the additional fine touches – not least of all – a hot water bottle for those colder nights!

Our hosts were extremely friendly and welcoming, and were very helpful in navigating us to site. For reference, the B&B is not in the heart of Clapham, actually being a mile or two in the direction of Ingleton.

The breakfast was very tasty, though if I were to offer a constructive criticism – I would say the portions were too small – one sausage and one rasher of bacon isn’t really enough to start the day (for me), and I found I had to fill up on toast instead. I’m sure that had I asked for extra servings they would have been readily forthcoming, but I’m quite shy when it comes to things like that. My advice perhaps might be for the hosts to ask the guest how much they would like.

This was a very small matter compared to the overall loveliness of the stay, and I will definitely be back in the future.

One last tip - if you head into Ingleton for food and drink, get there in good time as all of the establishments had seemed to stop serving food by 8:45!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

John, Diane and their dog Jack were so welcoming. The sitting room cosy and our bedroom spotlessly clean, tastefully decorated and with a breathtaking view over the Dales. After our walk up Ingleborough with an en route visit to the cave, we were offered tea and biscuits and a friendly chat.
Breakfast was of the highest quality..we can't find fault at all here. Every little detail to make your stay perfect has been thought of. Good value for money. We will be back soon!

We didn't have dinner at Crooklands as we fancied eating out and found a superb pub in the next village called the Gamecock. French chef, good portions and a cosy little bar with a number of excellent local beers.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nunezMumInEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Wonderful place to stay. John & Diane are very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. The bedroom was well furnished and very clean and fully serviced each day. The breakfast is delightful with fresh juice, fruit, home made yoghurt and bread. You can even have honey from their own bees. Diane is a wonderful cook and will provide dinner (2 courses). She makes the best ice cream in the world! Despite excellent restaurants in the area we strongly recommend that you have at least one evening meal at Crooklands. There is a lounge just for staying guests and also a delightful garden. This is a wonderful place to stay and we have no hesitation in recommending it. It is ideally located for walking or for a trip on the Settle - Carlisle railway.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diktoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Fabulous B&B. Beautiful, warm and cozy, spotlessly clean and very friendly owners, although we only got to meet Diane and lovely doggie, Jack. Our room was clean and spacious and the bed very comfortable with lovely crisp linens. The room also had a window seat looking out onto the most gorgeous view of the gardens and the Dales. Breakfast was delicious! Gorgeous local eggs, homemade bread and local jams and marmelade and fresh fruit salad every morning. Very well located for exploring the Dales.

Room Tip: There are only two rooms, both beautiful.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Very easy & pleasant booking experience, we received a very warm welcome, wet clothes and shoes taken off for drying, bedroom was very clean and comfortable with excellent attention to detail, tea served downstairs, lift given into next village (and collected), very good sleep, breakfast incl home-made yoghurt, fresh cut fruit, fresh oj, good coffee, home made bread, full english with the best black pudding I've ever tasted etc. Altogether and excellent stay and very much recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyHook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

My friend and I stayed at Crooklands as part of a cycling trip from the Lake District all the way down to the Southeast. We had cycled a tough 50 miles when we got to Crooklands and John and Diane greeted us warmly and John brewed us a warm mug of tea with lots of delicious biscuits. After we were showered and clean John gave us a lift into nearby Ingleton so we could try the local pubs. He then collected us when we needed picking up again! The room was immaculate and breakfast was a delicious affair, served in the quaintest of rooms, overlooking breathtaking scenery. I cannot recommend this B&B enough should you be lucky enough to be in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clapham hotels
1.5 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
551 reviews
1.1 mi away
Moor View Bed and Breakfast
1.5 mi away
Brookhouse Guest House
Brookhouse Guest House
#3 of 5 in Clapham
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crooklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crooklands

Address: Crooklands Old Road, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Clapham LA2 8HY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Clapham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Clapham
Price Range: £28 - £37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17th century former farmhouse on the edge of the Yorkshire Dales National Park & close to the Forest of Bowland AONB and about an hour from most of the Lake District. Picturesque Clapham village is just over a mile away. We have one double en-suite and one double or twin en-suite, both good-sized rooms facing south with views over the garden to the valley beyond. It is quiet & peaceful, ideal for touring, walkers & cyclists - Ingleborough, one of the Yorkshire Three Peaks is easily accessable by paths within 10 minutes walk of here. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crooklands Clapham, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing