We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“weekend break”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of New Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
New Inn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clapham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“weekend break”
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We have just returned from alovely week end break at the new inn. We went withour son and his partner and 11 month old grandson. All the staff are really pleasant and the owner, Ron, was very helpful and approachable. We were fortunate to stay in newly refurbished rooms which have been done to an extremely high standard. The beds were very comfortable and the bathrooms very modern and beautiful,our room had a wonderful shower, our sons bathroom was larger with a lovely bath and shower over the bath. The ongoing refurbishment work did not disturb us. The food was excellent. We cant wait to go back and look forward to seeing the end result when all the work is finished. Good luck to Ron and all his staff. They are doing an excellent job.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1927nora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraBenson, Manager at New Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Work on the restaurant and bar has now started, please come back and see us again in the future and experience the finished picture!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    119
    52
    29
    13
See reviews for
64
291
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
71 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We stayed at the New Inn for 2 nightsrecently and were arriving late in the evening as we were driving straight from work. I had a call while we were on our wayto check that we were still coming and to my (pleasant) surprise was asked of we would like some food to be kept for us. We are so usedto food not being available when we arrive on a Friday night that we had already bought dinner from a service station en route and eaten in the van but how nice to be offered! We had terrible traffic and I warned the owner that we would be later than expected but in true Aussie fashion his response was don't worry we'll be here!

Refurbishments are still underway and I'm guessing as we were travelling with dogs we weren't given a refurbished room but the bed was comfortable, sheets good quality, food good, lovely location and service great so overall rating of very good despite the room! We were told that refurbishments will be complete by August and the owner seems passionate about the improvements to the hotel, the food and of course the quality of the beer!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claret78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraBenson, Manager at New Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review! It was our pleasure to try and help you with your stay as much as we could, We know how exhausting and unpredictable travel can be!

As you did point out, the whole place is undergoing a renovation, we can't wait till its finished and we can show you the fruits of our labour! Don't forget when you stay with us next that we have 2 new rooms that are pet friendly, just ask for one when you book!

We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We had dinner there yesterday - for the first time in years, the bar and restaurant were busy but staff still had time for everyone. Agree with others that it is a short menu, but this means it is all fresh and our chicken goujons, steak pie and pasta dishes were all good. The restaurant meals are improving on each recent visit but still have a way to go - but nothing a little more focus, practice and time under the new management won't remedy - that and a touch more seasoning on things...

The high standard of beer deserves a mention - crisp, clean Copper Dragon bitter - lovely.

Apparently, the bar and exterior renovation starts in early June. Once the refurbishment is complete, the New Inn should, at long last, return to its place as a well-renowned hostelry in the Dales. Well done to everyone there so far - keep up the good work.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lgsv520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraBenson, Manager at New Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
As always we are thrilled to get feedback from someone who has been a past customer. Our barman takes great pride in the beer and its great to see that acknowledged! We can't wait to have our renovations done and bring this place back to its old glory!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Nothing too much trouble for staff.New owner Ron is very approachable and helpful.Stayed in one of the refurbished rooms which was finished beautifully and very comfortable.Nice evening meal ,not a huge menu but gives a fair selection and cooked nicely.Good breakfast selection and served promptly.
The new management have only been there a short while,but are turning a tired old hotel in a wonderful area into something special.The ongoing refurb did not interupt our stay and we will definately return to see the finished result.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anhony m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraBenson, Manager at New Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
On behalf of the staff we are thrilled to hear about your experience, we look forward to seeing you back when our Renovations are fully completed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We stayed at the New Inn recently and unfortunately for us hadn’t seen a KGB deal and paid £105 per night B&B for a ‘refurbished’ room. This price would be ok when the rest of the hotel (inside and out) have been upgraded but at the moment seem very expensive. Our room was nice but had obviously just been finished with the following comments/omissions:

No sockets anywhere near the mirror and the hairdryer provided didn’t reach

No waste bin in the room, only the bathroom,

No chair

No stool near the dressing table

TV too small for the room

Mini bottles of shampoo, shower gel and conditioner weren’t replaced on the second day.

Bottled water would have been nice

The wardrobe hadn’t been dusted following the refurb and white dust transferred to our clothes

The area we walked through to our room was a ‘mess’ with bare floorboards, large bags of linen and a spare bed.

The food was generally good, particularly the French toast at breakfast but at dinner (which has a relatively small menu) I chose Caesar salad which came with watercress instead of lettuce which was strange.

An extra waitress at breakfast would have been better as there was only one waitress who had to deal with everyone and she was very stresssed.

So in summary, good value at the moment if you get a deal but if you are paying full price you may want to wait for the refurb to finish later in the year. The new owners are very friendly and hopefully they will do well but in this climate they should be aware that people like value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonynLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraBenson, Manager at New Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Thank you for your comments. As you are aware, we are renovating the entire hotel and starting with the bedrooms. The rooms have been stripped back to the bare walls and ceilings. Everything in the rooms, from the Barker & Stonehouse furniture, to the crisp white linen is all 100% brand new.

The weekend of your stay was the first time these rooms had been used (hence the missing items) Not admissions, just late deliveries. All the rooms are now fully fitted out.

Most of our guests are enjoying seeing the before and after transformation happen to this hotel as it is restored to its former glory.

We are striving to ensure our guests are not unduly effected and are pleased to announce we are halfway there!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Stayed at the New Inn last weekend , the location of the hotel is great and situated in a beautiful village. The hotel is under renovation and will be loveley when completed .
The hotel is under new managment , nothing was to much trouble for them and made our stay very welcoming with good food and a very good atmosphere .

Thanks to Ron and his family .

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraBenson, Manager at New Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
WE are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay! We hope you will come visit us again when our renovations are complete!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

My wife & I stayed here for 4 nights, last week 30/04/13 to 04/05/13, after an initial mix up on room allocation in the old part of the hotel, which was quickly rectified by mine host we were allocated a refurbished room in the outside courtyard, which although not quite finished requiring some minor touches which the friendly landlady pointed out were all in hand was most delightful. Being of a good sized room, light & airy, with a good bathroom, along with adequate heating system.
All the staff were very friendly,from the new owners to the cleaners.
Food was excellent, & the beer was par excellence, nice to see Good Local ales on draught, well kept & served.
Great village position, we look forward to returning when all renovation work is complete, the new owners deserve to succeed in this major venture of a total renovation of this well known Inn.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraBenson, Manager at New Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed one of our new renovated rooms and hope you will visit us again. Since your stay we have added all those little touches you mentioned, the rooms are 100% complete and the next stage of rooms are not far behind.

We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clapham
1.5 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
560 reviews
16.0 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
381 reviews
5.8 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#3 of 4 in Settle
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
280 reviews
18.5 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
5.8 mi away
The Lion at Settle
The Lion at Settle
#4 of 4 in Settle
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Inn Hotel

Property: New Inn Hotel
Address: Old Road | (Near Settle), Yorkshire Dales National Park, Clapham LA2 8HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Clapham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clapham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — New Inn Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 18th century coaching Inn that has recently finished a major overhaul of the whole hotel. Now featuring 19 newly renovated rooms, a luxury bunkhouse, Bistro and Bars, The New Inn offers fine dining and relaxing in a tranquil setting. Located in the Yorkshire Dale National park, The New Inn is in a prime location for the Three Peaks walk as well as a visit to the famous local caves. Recently awarded an AA 5 star Inn rating, why not see what everyone is raving about? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your New Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hotel Settle
New Inn Hotel Clapham, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing