We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location for Ingleborough walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of New Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
New Inn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clapham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent location for Ingleborough walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Booked with 5 friends for Bed Breakfast and Evening meal on a Sunday. Even provided a breakfast when we arrived at 9 am on Sunday and let us check our bags into the rooms. Rooms well refurbished, loads of hot water after a wet day on the fells. Great choice of food on Evening meal menu. Nothing was too much trouble.
They deserve to do well.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    120
    53
    30
    14
See reviews for
65
293
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southport
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Another Sunday and the end of an 11 mile walk (mainly in North Yorkshires finest rain) and we arrive at our pickup point with an hour to spare. We enter the New Inn ... and what a surprise ... gone was the dingy and dark and in was light and airy and modern and comfortable. Splendid Australian landlord sat and chatted with us for a while. The chips I have to say were the best chips I've had for decades. Simply just right! The high quality decor got several of our group chatting (so full marks to the landlady for her selection of colours and wallpaper and fittings).

So a totally transformed establishment. We will go back next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrNifty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
317 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

The New Inn is situated in the lovely village of Clapham. We enjoyed a great meal that was good to eat and the menu had a good selection of dishes. The service was very good.
The New Inn includes a friendly pub and a hotel. It is currently completing an extensive refurbishment and is very stylish. The Australian landlord is very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelaofcastleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

I visited this pub in July, just after the dining room had been ripped out, and enjoyed several excellent Peronis after returning from a walk on Ingleborough.The landlord described how he hoped it would look in September.I am pleased to say he and his team have made a wonderful job of the renovation. What is more the food was excellent .....way above what you would normally expect in a normal pub restaurant.The duck was fabulous and there was a delightful choice of 'puddings'. Breakfast was equally good.

The general decor has a fresh, modern feel and the finish is very neat.Our bedroom was well presented.The landlord was very pleasant and sociable as were all the staff.

Clapham is a lovely village and Settle, Skipton and Mallam are all worth a visit.

I can recommend this hotel.....I will be going back soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marske-by-the-sea
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

My husband our puppy Frankie and I have just returned from a mid week break at The New Inn.The owner Ron made us very welcome and showed us to our very comfortable,clean and newly renovated bedroom.We were on the ground floor with our own entrance at the back of the hotel and had our own outdoor seating area,one of two doggy friendly rooms[at no extra cost]a rare find.We had a very comfortable double bed,our en-suite was spacious with a low bath and a shower over it with lovely fluffy soft white towels and high quality toiletries.The public areas of the hotel have been renovated to a very high standard and are nearly complete.As the only pub/hotel in the village I think the 'locals' are very fortunate that Ron had the vision and experience to take on the New Inn and improve it to such a degree when lots of country pubs have fallen into a state of disrepair and have had to close down.Welldone to Ron and his staff for managing to keep open throughout the whole process.
The bar area is comfortable and very well stocked with Real ales,tasty ciders,good wines and other drinks.The barman Ryan was very friendly as were Chloe and Sarah the dining room staff.
The breakfasts were very good with a choice of hot food or cold table.Food was served all day.The evening meals were exceptional - not Pub Grub - High quality restaurant meals at reasonable prices.The chefs Simon and Simon have plans to expand the menu range when the kitchen is renovated.Our son is at The New Inn now with his girlfriend and they are as impressed as we are.A great Inn a lovely village in a fabulous location! What more could you want?

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 doggy rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stayed here are the end of August y and were pleasantly surprised from start to finish. We bought a voucher online and were not sure what to expect having had some "interesting" stays in pub bed and breakfasts.

We checked in around 5 and were show to our room (room 5), which had just been refurbished to a very high standard, exposed beams, lovely double bed and a good sized bathroom with a good shower, everything was decorated tastefully and it was spotlessly clean. The only fault we could find with the room was the "secret drawers" in the chests of drawers, we couldn't find out hairdryer or information books until a cleaner told us about the "secret" drawers in the furniture. What was especially nice about the room was that is was separate to the actual pub so there was no residual noise.

When we checked in the owners were extremely friendly and helpful and offered to reserve us a table for our evening meal as they get busy on Fridays - it is easy to see why. Far from offering "pub-grub" the restaurant attached to the pub offers a really tasty high quality menu and we thoroughly enjoyed our meals (Scallops, Duck, Pork). I would highly recommend eating here, our meal cost £50ish for two and we both had starters and mains and a lovely bottle of malbec.

Breakfast wasn't included in our room price, but was definitely worth paying for, it was large, well cooked and definitely set us up for a day of wandering.

The hotel is perfectly situated for plenty of walks, if you don't fancy anything too strenuous I would recommend going to the caves, it maybe takes 45 to an hour depending on you pace and is a lovely walk with great views.

We would definitely come and stay here again

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToniER2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

We have just returned from two nights in the new inn and had a fantastic time. We could not believe the quality of the rooms, food and service. But most of all, fantastic owners, who went out of their way to make us welcome. We will be going back soon. Bryan and Vickie Owen

Room Tip: Number one and two good if you have dogs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bjoandvao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clapham
1.5 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
16.0 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Lion at Settle
The Lion at Settle
#4 of 4 in Settle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
18.5 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Inn Hotel

Property: New Inn Hotel
Address: Old Road | (Near Settle), Yorkshire Dales National Park, Clapham LA2 8HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Clapham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clapham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — New Inn Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 18th century coaching Inn that has recently finished a major overhaul of the whole hotel. Now featuring 19 newly renovated rooms, a luxury bunkhouse, Bistro and Bars, The New Inn offers fine dining and relaxing in a tranquil setting. Located in the Yorkshire Dale National park, The New Inn is in a prime location for the Three Peaks walk as well as a visit to the famous local caves. Recently awarded an AA 5 star Inn rating, why not see what everyone is raving about? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your New Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hotel Settle
New Inn Hotel Clapham, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing