We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Food, Lovely Stay”
Review of New Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
New Inn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clapham
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We found this place through a deal from Groupon which included 2 nights B&B and one 3 course dinner.
We were encouraged by the good reviews of the food so we decided to take a look. We got there very easy, the village of Clapham is fairly small but very cute.
We were placed in a double room, everything new, nicely decorated and cosy.
We decided to have dinner on the first night as we arrived late and did not have the chance to have lunch. The menu had several options for starters and mains, all very impressive: duck, venison, lamb etc. The food was AMAZING, my husband and i have been to many of these deals but this was by far the best. The following night we were planning only to have one course (instead of the 3), but it was very difficult to resist! We end up having again 3 full courses and a bottle of Australian wine and we were not disappointed.
The owner is very nice and walks around asking people if they are happy with the service, food, etc. The staff is friendly and very attentive.
We went for a walk around the village and did a 1.6 mile walk to Ingleborough cave. The cave was closed but the views and the walk was really good. I highly recommend the New Inn Hotel, everything is new, the food is incredible.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnaVL186346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (566)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

486 - 492 of 566 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2013

Me and my partner were staying in a b&b nearby and decided to call in for dinner. We were expecting pub food and were pleasantly suprised when we got our 5star meals. Good presentation, good portions and exquisite taste. The staff were lovely amd welcoming. Will be calling back next time we visit the area

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

Please be warned.I enquired via email regarding 2 night stay on a groupon offer with 3 small dogs. This was confirmed as acceptable. only to find out that on booking a firm date via the phone they would only accept 2 dogs.Should i maybe turn up with 2 Great Danes or 3 Cavaliers?feeling annoyed !!!!

Stayed: November 2013
6  Thank Gilli-of-The
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraBenson, Owner at New Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

I am very sorry you had this experience. The staff member who replied to your email did so in error. However it is quite clearly stated on our pet policy (found on our website) that we have a 2 dog maximum in our rooms. It is also stated on the Groupon deal that our website should be checked for terms and conditions. Should you wish to come stay with 2 dogs only, we will be happy to try and find you a room for your preferred dates.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Hotel newly and very tastefully decorated by owners. Our room had retained some of the original features (section of original plaster and an old stone wall) and was quirky and spaceous. Great attention to detail and only stairwells and corridors to finish off. Food was good and with a good range to choose from, emphasis on local produce. We agree with other reviewers that the owners andf staff were very friendly and made us welcome. Service was excellent. Some of our party were making a early start and were given a breakfast pack the night before including instant porridge). Others of us enjoyed a leisurely breakfast in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

after fleeing from Whoop Hall in Kirby Lonsdale with a headache from hell, we descended upon The New Inn, Clapham for some sustenance. We were given a warm welcome along with some headache tablets to boot. The owner, Ron (resembling said Viking described on website) was both knowledgeable and hospitable so we decided to take a look at the rooms and chance a stay. We were delighted with all the rooms Ron showed us as they were all newly decorated with beautiful décor and soft furnishings. It was a most welcome sight after the horror of Whoop Hall.. The Inn is in a lovely spot overlooking a river with a short walk to the nature trail and the Caves. As lunch was exceedingly good we just knew we were in for a treat for dinner and again we were not disappointed. The food was of a high standard, full of flavour, well presented with attention to detail and presentation. Ron and his staff deliver old style values and believe in the art of conversation with their guests Nothing is too much trouble, every effort is made to make your stay as comfortable and as enjoyable as possible. The staff are treated well and this is reflected in the way they in turn treat their customers. So it our great pleasure to dub thee Sir Ron - Arise Sir Ron, and all who sail with you, Long may you reign! See you in the New Year - we can't wait.

Room Tip: Every room is excellent with two rooms adjoining for those with dogs or a disability with good wheel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lesleyann17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

spent a lovely two day's at this hotel, work was still going on but was made to feel very welcome, the staff & owner were great.our room was very modern & chic as was the whole hotel & the food was delicious.a great place to stay to enjoy the country, lovely village location.hope it doesn't get to expensive when finished as would like to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Booked with 5 friends for Bed Breakfast and Evening meal on a Sunday. Even provided a breakfast when we arrived at 9 am on Sunday and let us check our bags into the rooms. Rooms well refurbished, loads of hot water after a wet day on the fells. Great choice of food on Evening meal menu. Nothing was too much trouble.
They deserve to do well.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clapham
1.5 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
618 reviews
4.7 mi away
Marton Arms Hotel
Marton Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ingleton
298 reviews
15.9 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
368 reviews
10.4 mi away
Beck Hall Malham
Beck Hall Malham
#1 of 1 in Malham
1,041 reviews
16 mi away
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Inn Hotel

Address: Old Road | (Near Settle), Yorkshire Dales National Park, Clapham LA2 8HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Clapham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clapham
Price Range: £84 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — New Inn Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 18th century coaching Inn that has recently finished a major overhaul of the whole hotel. Now featuring 19 newly renovated rooms, a luxury bunkhouse, Bistro and Bars, The New Inn offers fine dining and relaxing in a tranquil setting. Located in the Yorkshire Dale National park, The New Inn is in a prime location for the Three Peaks walk as well as a visit to the famous local caves. Recently awarded an AA 5 star Inn rating, why not see what everyone is raving about? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Hotels.com so you can book your New Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hotel Settle
New Inn Hotel Clapham, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing