We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in North Yorks”
Review of New Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
New Inn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clapham
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I stopped here with my wife in March this year. The hotel decor is beautiful throughout and the room we had large and light. The bar carried a good range of drinks including some local real ales all at very reasonable prices. The food was excellent. Presentation was like something off a tv gourmet show and taste and variety just as good. Many meals on the menu were not what you would expect from such a small hotel in a little village and their website does not show the full menu available. I feel this is a shame because if it did it would probably attract a lot more diners I would definitely recommend eating here and if possible stay the night or two..the breakfasts are every bit as good as the dinners. I give this hotel ten out of ten and will definitely be going back to stay again.

Room Tip: Upgrade to superior for a little extra charge. Well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seymours2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (566)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

444 - 450 of 566 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2014

My wife and I stayed in the New Inn Hotel at the end of February 2014 for a three night stay through an online offer.

The hotel has only just been thoroughly refurbished and everywhere is fresh and clean. Our room was spacious and comfortable, very clean.

We arrived on a Thursday night and the hotel was fairly quiet. The bar has a good choice of real ale plus the usual lagers. The wine (according to my wife) was delicious. It was warm and comfortable with a wood-burning stove. There is a separate alcove with a (discretely quiet) TV and a separate smaller bar on the opposite side of the main bar. It got a little busier over the weekend and I imagine in the summer months would be very popular with residents and visitors alike.

We ate at the New Inn each of our three nights and chose to eat in the main bar. There is a separate restaurant area which has the same menu as the bar if you prefer more formal dining. The menu was excellent - definitely a cut above standard pub grub with some unusual combinations (such as goats cheese parcels with beetroot and raspberry salad which was, apparently, "lovely" . Portions are generous and the food was well-cooked and presented. Service was very friendly and efficient. The very friendly Australian owner, Ron, is excellent at extolling the virtues of the various dishes on the menu and will happily talk you through each of them. There is also a daily specials board. We tried the fish and chips from the specials board one night and the fish was massive - more like whale and chips, as the waitress joked.

There is a notice outside the hotel which says that dogs are welcome in both bars - and a number people took advantage of this. It didn't bother us that there were dogs in a room where food was being served (and it did add the 'country pub' atmosphere) but I know some people dislike this so thought I would mention it. I imagine the restaurant is dog-free.

Clapham is a delightful small Dales village with a stream running through the middle, a post-office/ corner shop and is surrounded by some beautiful scenery. There are many easy walks along the valley or more challenging terrain to the north of the village. Clapham is one of the recognised starting points for the walk up to Ingleborough, one of the Three Peaks of Yorkshire and the fact that there is a large National Trust car park in the village hints at how popular this area will be in high season.

Overall, very highly commended. We will return!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeffWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

In a lovely location recently renovated to a high standard. The public rooms and bedrooms are superb. The staff and owners are very friendly and helpful. The food is good and reasonably priced. Good breakfast. What more do you need. We are walkers and the laundry was a perfect place to wash muddy outer clothes and boots and we left them there to dry off.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed good. It is in a village in the countryside so noise wasn't an issue. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ruth j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We booked the hotel through Groupon, though we had stayed last year before the refurbishment which is very well done. At the last minute we had to bring along our ageing black Labrador but the hotel accomodates pets in the annex, not the main hotel, which we were very happy with.
The annex room had been recently refurbished and we have absolutely no negative comments. It was warm, comfortable and the shower/bath were fantastic.
We took meals on Friday and Saturday nights, one in the bar and one in the restaurant. Both were fantastic quality, both in presentation and flavours.
A long walk up Ingleborough, followed by shopping in Kirby Lonsdale made for a perfect weekend.
(We had such an enjoyable time, we failed to make it to breakfast on Sunday morning.)

We have no hesitation in be booking again as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

This is the first visit back to The New Inn since all the renovations have been finished, and we were blown away!
Everything was very tastefully done and to really high standards. Our room which was one of the 2 dog friendly rooms, was just perfect for our needs. The power shower puts ours at home to shame!
We enjoyed delicious food from a varied and interesting menu on both nights of our stay.
We were made to feel very welcome by everybody and can only write positive comments about our experience.
We hope to return very soon - can't wait!

Room Tip: We only saw our room, which was one of the 2 dog friendly rooms, totally perfect for dog owners, sit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura B, Owner at New Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review.

I am delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable visit to The New Inn Clapham and had a chance to experience our newly renovated building and philosophy!

We all all look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Kind regards,

The New Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Booked through groupon for a weekend away with husband. On a arrival, given a tiny room with bunk beds! Really disappointed, even though we booked 3 months in advance! Rest of hotel gorgeous, and food really high quality. What a shame that we were down graded for booking through Groupon!

Room Tip: Make sure if you are a couple and want t double bed, you confirm you get this before you book!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Recently refurbished this was a great find. Our room was a good size and comfortably furnished with good quality furniture, bedding etc. The bars were warm and welcoming and the food excellent. Throw in some local ales and it was just what we wanted, though the wines seemed a little pricey for a pub/hotel. Breakfast was good but a little strange that you made your own tea/coffee from hot water and made your own toast - the sort of set up you get in a budget chain, and seemed at odds with the standard of the rest of the place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fiftyandchildfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clapham
1.5 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
617 reviews
4.7 mi away
Marton Arms Hotel
Marton Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ingleton
298 reviews
15.9 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
368 reviews
10.4 mi away
Beck Hall Malham
Beck Hall Malham
#1 of 1 in Malham
1,040 reviews
16 mi away
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Inn Hotel

Address: Old Road | (Near Settle), Yorkshire Dales National Park, Clapham LA2 8HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Clapham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clapham
Price Range: £84 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — New Inn Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 18th century coaching Inn that has recently finished a major overhaul of the whole hotel. Now featuring 19 newly renovated rooms, a luxury bunkhouse, Bistro and Bars, The New Inn offers fine dining and relaxing in a tranquil setting. Located in the Yorkshire Dale National park, The New Inn is in a prime location for the Three Peaks walk as well as a visit to the famous local caves. Recently awarded an AA 5 star Inn rating, why not see what everyone is raving about? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your New Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hotel Settle
New Inn Hotel Clapham, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing