We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hosts,great food,quite,”
Review of New Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
New Inn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clapham
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 21 April 2014

thanks to all the staff we really enjoyed our stay worth the money the owner Leslie was great,helpful,and friendly as we're the staff. food was top notch if only all inns were like this one I'll keep the number in my phone

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drew w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura B, Owner at New Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for taking some time out to leave us such a positive review! On behalf of all the staff at The New Inn, we appreciate your review and look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Kind regards,

The New Inn team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (549)
There are newer reviews for New Inn Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

398 - 404 of 549 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

This newly refurbished hotel is really lovely, very pretty furnishings, friendly staff (the two young girls working all the time we were there particularly nice!) Our room was clean and spacious and had everything we needed. The big thing that let it down was the connecting door to the room next door! No sound proof so we could hear EVERYTHING said from the family next door...not good when one of the occupants had a cough all night!
The other thing that lets this lovely hotel down is only having wifi in the public areas..it never ceases to amaze that hotels still dont listen to customers reviews about wifi being in all areas.
We ate in the hotel bar but the bar menu isnt available at night so we could only order from the restaurant menu. This was very disappointing as we really liked the look of the bar menu and had to settle for fish and chips. Nice but not really worth over £10. In the morning, i managed to have a shower but when my husband went in there was no hot water, what i mean is not a drop! only water came out on the cold setting. The breakfast was superb with plenty of choices. We would recommend this hotel to friends but not the room we stayed in with a connecting door!.

Room Tip: dont stay in room 9 unless you want a connecting door to room 8.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed for 2 nights with dinner included on the first night. The hotel has recently been tastefully renovated to a very high standard. The bedrooms are well decorated with very comfortable beds, which was great after 2 days walking. The bathrooms are really well equiped with a lovely power shower. The evening meal was prepared to a very high standard, so much so we booked to eat there on the second night, praise goes to the chef for his presentation. Ron's recommended beers did not dissapoint as we retired to the bar after a long days walking. The staff were all very friendly and willing to help with any needs. I would highly reccomend this hotel and will definately return for more.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rallyhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura B, Owner at New Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review.

I am delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable visit to The New Inn Clapham

We all all look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Kind regards,

The New Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The hotel has been recently refurbished and is attractively decorated throughout. Our room was large with a comfortable bed. However, as a vegetarian, I found the breakfast disappointing, particularly considering that it is quite expensive to stay here. There were no veggie sausages/hash browns offered - simply a breakfast without the meat. The coffee was lukewarm and kept running out. The evening meals we had were reasonably good, apart from one side dish that tasted like a mashed up jacket potato, skin and all.

The location is excellent for walking. Ingleborough peak is close by, as are the Ingleton waterfalls trail and White Scar Caves.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sootysdaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We were made to feel very welcome on arrival. Asked if we needed help with our bags.
The room was very well decorated and very clean. We found the only drawback was no chairs in the room but this hotel is a work in progress and having spoken to Lesley and Ron the owners they assured us that this will happen soon..The food is of very good quality and the chef knows his trade! The only drawback is water pressure on the first floor which is probably due to the age of the building.The general state of the building interior is excellent. Clean, tidy and pleasant to be in. Well done to all. Staff very pleasant and helpful.Lesley takes pride in the refurbishment of the place. It is obviously "her baby"

Room Tip: We had room 10 at the front overlooking the beck, or as Ron terms it "a trickle" Quiet des...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susy500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura B, Owner at New Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed the food, your bedroom, and the service we provided during your stay! We appreciate your understanding of the restrictions a 300 year old building places sometimes. We look forward to welcoming you back back in the future, if you visit this summer you can see the true beauty of Clapham and it's beck in full bloom!

Kind regards,

The New Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is a lovely hotel in a wonderful settling in the village of Clapham. The village is a great place to visit for strolling or long walks. The New Inn is the icing on the cake. Recently refurbished to a high standard with a lovely restaurant serving beautiful food. The bar is also well stocked with real ales and malt whiskies. All in all a great place for a long weekend.

Room Tip: We stayed in an outside room which was a good size with a very large wet room set up for disabled us...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank standishwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

After a long walk from Clapham to Ingleborough then down to Trow Gill back to Clapham 11.5 miles, a beer at the pub was most welcome. We were surpirsed that they allowed dogs into the well decorated and cream covered seats, but they did.
People in the group ate and it looked excellent, it was devoured quickly. Would like to go back and sample the food myself.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bolton56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clapham
15.9 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
410 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
604 reviews
22.5 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
4.6 mi away
Marton Arms Hotel
Marton Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ingleton
292 reviews
5.8 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Inn Hotel

Address: Old Road | (Near Settle), Yorkshire Dales National Park, Clapham LA2 8HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Clapham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clapham
Price Range: £105 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — New Inn Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 18th century coaching Inn that has recently finished a major overhaul of the whole hotel. Now featuring 19 newly renovated rooms, a luxury bunkhouse, Bistro and Bars, The New Inn offers fine dining and relaxing in a tranquil setting. Located in the Yorkshire Dale National park, The New Inn is in a prime location for the Three Peaks walk as well as a visit to the famous local caves. Recently awarded an AA 5 star Inn rating, why not see what everyone is raving about? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your New Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hotel Settle
New Inn Hotel Clapham, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing