We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simply fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brookhouse Guest House
Ranked #3 of 5 Clapham B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 September 2012

i will try and keep this short and sweet
what a great little place and thoroughly deserving of all the accolades its received
1 - quiet, warm comfy room
2 - quiet, quaint little village location
3 - the food
4 - the food again
5 - oh my.....the food!
6 - the little extra touches and attention to detail
myself and my husband had a relaxing, child free night away and couldnt have picked a nicer place. i would go back here in a heartbeat. i am still thinking of the meal we had, so so delicious.
well done to everyone at the brookhouse.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greecegirlBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claphamguest, Owner at Brookhouse Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

simply a big thankyou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2012

Arrived on the 6 September for our Anniversary weekend (the 7th September in case the wife reads this). Left on the 9th September 2012.
Has to be one of the best B & B's we have stayed in - thanks to you Alan and the girls!!
We stayed in the room 'White Scar' which was superb. Fab king size bed and room facilities.
Now to the best bit!!!
Make sure you book the evening meals, as it was like dining in a five star restaurant every night. Congratulations Alan. Good choice meals, wines and local Yorkshire ales. Breakfast is excellent, good choice of menu.
This is definitely Clapham's little secret.
When staying in the Village, do walk the trail that leads up to the caves. On the way back, do drop-in to Richard's Sextons shop across from the New Inn, amazing!!
Thank you Alan for making our Anniversary weekend so special, we will be definitely returning to see you all again.
Bob & Wendy

Room Tip: Visit Alan's web site for information on his rooms; we stayed in White Scar as mentioned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claphamguest, Owner at Brookhouse Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

thankyou for taking time to putting your review on trip advisor and we will look forward to seeing you agian i hope you have a good season on the ship

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We were cycling the Way of the Roses with friends and this was our first overnight stop after catching the train to Lancaster. All our four bikes, and those of two other WoR cyclists, were stored in a warm back room of the guest house, which also had drying racks for wet clothes, and, as was to prove handy next morning, a good bicycle pump.

Our room (no. 3) was clean and pleasantly furnished. The bathroom – for our use only – was across the corridor, so we could see out both sides of the house. The beds, 2 singles, were very comfortable.

But it was the food where our host, Alan, really excelled. We had decided to eat in as we’d heard the only other place in the village was nothing special. And what a great meal it was; one of the best we’ve ever eaten, and stunningly presented. Three of us went for the lamb shanks and one for the steak – they were simply melt-in-the-mouth delicious. The sweets which followed were superb, and the wine which accompanied the meal was excellent. It couldn’t have been better even though Alan had had to manage entirely on his own, as his helper hadn’t turned up. Breakfast was extremely good too and once again, very nicely presented.

Definitely worth a return visit – it would make an excellent good base for exploring the Dales and nearby towns. Alan offers special deals for longer stays too.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Altraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claphamguest, Owner at Brookhouse Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

thankyou for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

The B&B is beautiful, really quaint. The owners really looked after us. 4 of our group were leaving at 0530 to walk the 3 peaks for charity & they put cereals/toaster/juice out for us so we didn't miss out on breakfast. Our evening meal & breakfast was to die for being absolutely delicous. The village is also quaint boasting it's own waterfall. Will definately stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gill t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claphamguest, Owner at Brookhouse Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

fantastic thankyou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

This was the first time my husband and I had been to this part of the country. We stayed for 10 nights. Alan's skill in the kitchen is exceptional! The food was always a feast for the eyes and a joy to the palate! Our room 'White Scar' was quirky and comfortable. The bed is one of the most comfortable we have ever slept in. The window seat is great for reading. The 10 nights flew by so fast, plenty to out and about and a warm welcome when you return. Certainly one of the best places we have stayed anywhere in the world. Most highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claphamguest, Owner at Brookhouse Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

thankyou for your review it will nice to see back in clapham"s little secret

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

After two years time we came back to this lovely guest house. The intention was to spend a couple of days walking in the Dales before going to Scotland, and check the services of Brookhouse, you never know...
I am very happy instead to give an extremely satisfactory judgement, which is the result of a continuos effort to improve that Alan and his staff exhibit in running their business.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robertolong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claphamguest, Owner at Brookhouse Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

thankyou roberto it was nice to see back in clapham and we are always trying to inprove i hope you had a nice time in scotland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Just got back from a weekend in the Yorkshire Dales and stayed here with friends. All reviews concentrate on the cleanliness and friendliness-true but certainly for me the food was truly exceptional for a guesthouse. It is the type and quality of food I would normally only expect to find in a reasonably smart and aspiring city restaurant, Alan works hard to source local quality food which is evident and clearly cooks with passion and skill. The food is well presented, there is a choice of about 6 imaginative dishes for each course,it is very reasonably priced and the portions are generous. If you are in the area and cannot get one of his 4 rooms then eat there anyway (open to nonresidents) as I doubt you will get better in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stokietravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claphamguest, Owner at Brookhouse Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

thankyou for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clapham
0.1 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
556 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
609 reviews
4.5 mi away
Marton Arms Hotel
Marton Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ingleton
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
357 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Lion at Settle
The Lion at Settle
#4 of 4 in Settle
507 reviews
2.3 mi away
Moor View Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookhouse Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookhouse Guest House

Address: Station Road | Nr Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Clapham LA2 8ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Clapham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Clapham
Price Range: £69 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brookhouse Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are clapham"s little secret in the heart of the village offering a warm welcome 4 bedrooms with a resturant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Brookhouse Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookhouse Guest House Hotel Clapham
Brookhouse Guest House Clapham, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing