We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yorkshire little gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brookhouse Guest House
Ranked #3 of 5 Clapham B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yorkshire little gem”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Just spent a weekend in Clapham doing the Yorkshire 3 peaks challenge . Had a great meal at the B&B on our first night to set us up for the trek, food amazing. The B&B is top draw, Alan is a lovely host and the rooms are really nice - what more can you ask for.
Its our second time at Brookhouse and we will defintately be back - thanks
Yorkshire's little gem.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keeley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claphamguest, Manager at Brookhouse Guest House, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
thankyou for taking time to right a review and see you next time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    21
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
106
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

No Not the London one .... in deepest Yorkshire surrounded by beautiful Hills, dales and rivers. Ideal spot for a few days away. Not a lot of rooms so you have to book early rooms are recently modernised and have good facilities

Room Tip: Book the evening meals if available they are excellent , so it follows that the breakfasts are truly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claphamguest, Owner at Brookhouse Guest House, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
thankyou for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
833 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed at the Brookhouse guest house for three nights over a bank holiday weekend. Firstly with the positives. Alan.! He is a superb host, very informative and as other reviews might suggest, an excellent chef.
Had dinner on one of the nights and the food was very good. The slow cooked lamb would just melt in your mouth.
The B&B itself is very well located in the heart of a beautiful village – Clapham. There are a lot of walks nearby and the Ingleborough Cave is just a 40 minute walk from here.
The rooms would definitely need some TLC. Off the three nights, on the second day, the rooms were not cleaned (sheets not changed, towels not replaced, bins not cleared) which was slightly a let down.
We were at The Whernside – which states on the website that, it has a private bathroom, which is outside the room.
Ending on a positive note, the breakfast was sumptuous and was always cooked very well; especially liked the smiley face hash browns.
Would I recommend for dinner – Yes.
Would I recommend staying – Would contemplate.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank varun_mukthi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claphamguest, Owner at Brookhouse Guest House, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
if you needed a clean towel you should of asked no point going home then mentioning it and the beds or made clean for every new guest and when you are only staying a few nights we dont change the bedding every day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Set in the lovely village of Clapham, the guesthouse is set close to the nearby beck. The booking in and service was welcoming and efficient. The room was clean and tidy, with a very nice shower.
Breakfast was great with a choice of fruit and cereals, the full breakfast was very nice with good portions.
The highlight was the evening dinner. Incredible food, I had the belly pork which was lovely. Definitely 10 out of 10 for the food and service.
All in all a lovely guesthouse.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dolly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claphamguest, Owner at Brookhouse Guest House, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
thankyou for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Brookhouse is a lovely B&B in the heart of Clapham village. After completing the 3 peaks we arrived tired, achy and in need of a meal and good sleep!
We arrived later than we had expected but Alan provided a delicious 3 course meal. The food is really very good as other reviewers have said.
Fell asleep before 10 and the bed was super comfy. Excellent facilities in our room, shower, bath small TV etc. All furnished in a modern way aswell as being clean and comfortable.
What we really amazed us is how Alan does it all on his own! Host, Waiter and Chef! He serves evening meals quickly and efficiently which put alot of restaurants to shame and then manages to juggle multiple people for breakfast, tea, coffee, fruit and yoghurt, cooked breakfasts.
At no point did we feel we waited long or were under pressure.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claphamguest, Owner at Brookhouse Guest House, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
thankyou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2014

It was indeed tidy, marvellous and excellent !
We had a very welcome break and were well taken care of.
I'd be happy to go back and also to recommend Brookhouse to others on the basis of our experience. :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DWFord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night and as many people have said little gem. We was made to feel welcome as soon as we approached the door and was given a lot of local knowledge on all ingleton had to offer. The room was great unfortunately we did not have our evening meal here but we had breakfast witch was amazing and I'm sure dinner would be no exception. I would defiantly recommend a visit here.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AdamTodd8776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clapham
0.1 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
517 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
575 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
5.9 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#3 of 4 in Settle
327 reviews
16.0 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookhouse Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookhouse Guest House

Property: Brookhouse Guest House
Address: Station Road | Nr Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Clapham LA2 8ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Clapham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Clapham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Brookhouse Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are clapham"s little secret in the heart of the village offering a warm welcome 4 bedrooms with a resturant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Brookhouse Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookhouse Guest House Hotel Clapham
Brookhouse Guest House Clapham, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing