We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming informal place with awesome service”
Review of La Casa Sul Lago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Casa Sul Lago
Certificate of Excellence
Maniago, Friuli, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Charming informal place with awesome service”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We spent 3 nights at La Casa Sul Lago (actually sleeping in the B&B Emporio, see review I made of it for details regarding the room).

This place is classified as an hostel, but it really feels like an hotel with an informal, but still very professional, feeling.

We were welcomed by Agnese, who showed us the room. After that she checked us in and explained us some of the things around, i.e. where to go, where to eat, ... She was really very helpful, nice, and fun as well.

Our dog was very welcome as well.

We decided to dine directly at Casa sul Lago, and it was a good surprise. The restaurant featured a somewhat
small but varied selection, with tasty food and properly sized servings: both the lasagne and the octopus salad were great, and so was the Catalan cream. It was very nice to discover that they were fully equipped with gluten free choices (one of us is on a gluten free diet): they even had gluten free pasta.

Breakfast featured a variety of choices, ranging from ham/cheese to cakes and cereals. They also had gluten free cereals and snack. The last day, since the main building was closed on Monday, they left a quite big breakfast in our room. We found an handwritten letter by Agnese along with the breakfast, which was a very kind gesture since she didn't have the chance to see us before the last morning.

The staff members are clearly passionate about their work, and do a great job in helping you, making you feel welcome and ultimately treating you like a friend. This place feature ad unique standard of service and friendliness, and I would therefore recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lordarthas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    47
    28
    10
    9
See reviews for
22
74
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wilton. CT
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

La Casa Sul Lago is a very unique hostel with a lot of soul. It sits right on Lago Trasimeno which one of the most beautiful lakes I have come across -- it is so big and the water is such a beautiful color. There are beautiful small towns all around the lake that you can access by bike easily with lots of beaches along the way. The staff is very helpful and most speak good English. Any time I had a question about how to get somewhere or ideas for what to do, they would take lots of time to help me figure it all out. They also picked me up and dropped me off at the nearest train station by car whenever I needed. Overall -- excellent service! I was very impressed with the cleanliness of the hostel -- the rooms and halls were cleaned everyday. The pool was very nice and they also have a hot tub! There are lots of hammocks and lounge chairs to relax and read a book. And the food was amazing! Everything was fresh and local and sooo delicious. Overall -- this hostel is AMAZING and I would love to return for another visit one day!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SixBix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

I was disappointed by this hotel, or rather hostel. It had some good points, like a lovely pool, adequate parking, a great location near the lake and the main road, large rooms and a reasonable breakfast. However, the wifi didn't work and even the hostel computers were a bit tempremental. Also, because reception is closed until 8 am, and from 3 pm until 7 pm, so are all the public areas and so are the computers, so you can't even get at the computers when the wifi is down, which it always was. Finally, I had no hot water in my bathroom. I reported both the faults but neither was fixed. So, it's an interesting place with nice staff but it doesn't quite all fit together.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simonshearer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights with a group of 9 to 13 year olds. It has recently been refurbished and is now in a great condition. Rooms are spacious and very comfortable. The food is fantastic, typically local in flavour and just keeps coming. The staff are friendly, welcoming and helpful and speak pretty good English. The only problem we had was that the WiFi wasn't working when we arrived, but they arranged for someone to come and fix it very quickly. Being a former seminary college, it has great character and its position on the shore of Lake Trasimeno is beautiful. I would go back in a heartbeat.

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Kit H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 December 2012

La Case sul lago is an amazing place. The personnel of the hostel is so sweet and they really take care of their clients. They do everything for them to have a pleasant stay. The rooms are spacious and the beds are comfortable, witch is the most important. The place has a good situation. It is easy to get in, but it is hard to leave...I have just positive things to say about this place.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie-Cristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights in this homely old school converted to a guest house. We had such a warm welcome by Jacko the host/manager who treated us like old friends. Jacko's assistants were lovely ladies who couldn't do enough for you. Although not 4 or 5 star as far as accommodation goes, the service was excellent. Dinner was very cheap at $15 € each, but what a fantastic meal, not sure how they do it so cheap! The rooms were very spacious and clean with a ceiling fan only. The lake is walking distance and you can catch a boat over to the island for a day trip. There are some great wineries nearby...some have wine bowsers so you can fill your flagons...so cool!

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonny021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Getting here & getting away is a commitment. Torricello is not all that well serviced by public transport so unless you have your own car be prepared to drop off the grid for a while. Transport around the lake is scarce and non existent on Sundays.
The hostel is inviting albeit big. It plays host to large student groups which can get a bit rowdy and imposing.
The rooms are spacious but the bathrooms are tiny compared to the sleeping quarters. Feel like banging your knees against the shower when you use the toilet?
During orientation I was told I could use the kitchen. One evening I went in and a staff member rudely told me to get out. No reason given (??) I also requested hot water for a cup of tea around 8pm only to be informed that the machine which makes hot water was turned off (??)
The owner is energetic and accomodating - offering free use of a canoe for a paddle around the lake, lifts to and from the main station...but the staff are a mixture of surly, helpful, lax, friendly and blasé. If the hostel could benefit from anything it would be a more thorough philosophy and training approach.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melbournetraveller20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torricella di Magione
3.2 mi away
La Vela
La Vela
#2 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
219 reviews
2.2 mi away
Albergo Le Tre Isole Villaggio
Albergo Le Tre Isole Villaggio
#2 of 2 in San Feliciano
114 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Cavalieri
Hotel Cavalieri
#10 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Kursaal Umbria
Hotel Kursaal Umbria
#1 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
449 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Lido
Hotel Lido
#6 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
211 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#8 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa Sul Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Sul Lago

Property: La Casa Sul Lago
Address: Viale del Lavoro, 25, 06063 Torricella di Magione, Magione, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Magione > Torricella di Magione
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Torricella di Magione
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — La Casa Sul Lago 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Informal accommodation suitable also for family stays or groups of guests. At walking distance from Trasimeno Lake is the ideal place to spend their holidays in a natural hub, such as the one in which it is located, to visit the legendary Umbrian hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your La Casa Sul Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Sul Lago Torricella Di Magione, Province Of Perugia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing