We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Hotel, Great Sunsets”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Club Hotel Casapueblo
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Punta Ballena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2012

This is one of the most unique hotels that we have ever stayed at. The hotel owner is a famous artist who designed the hotel which is built into a cliff overlooking the ocean. The hotel is about a 10 minute car ride to Punta del Este. The sunsets each night are amazing from anywhere on the property. There are no rooms that are the same, each are different with different shapes. To get to your room you have to decend down the cliff in an antique elevator. The staff is very friendly and helpfull. We had dinner one night on the terrace watching the sunset, the food was good but service was slow. I wish that the breakfast was better, really no hot items to choose from. If you are looking for a romantic hotel then this could be a great choice for you.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (410)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

40 - 46 of 410 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2012

We've been here a few times, alone and with friends. It's always a great visit. The building is amazing but showing it's age. We've not stayed at the hotel but have been in the rooms. They look fine. What everyone goes for is the sunsets. Priceless. Huge high veranda with bar overlooking the ocean as the sun goes down. If you're visiting Punta and are going to stay a few days, I'd try to do it here for at least one day. Note that the place is sort of remote. Not hard to find but nothing's really around it. So you're stuck at the hotel...or need a car...or a lonnngggg cab ride.

And the food there is good too.

Room Tip: Try for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosco1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

The building is art work, very impressive. The rooms are spacious, clean and have balconies.
We ate two dinners and a lunch in the hotel and liked the food and the presentation.
The location is good as it's richt on the sea and south-west facing.
The staff (at reception and in restaurant) is not unfriendly but generally disinterested in the customers. We didn't have a problem but if you did I think you would find them inflexible.
We had a 50% discount. If we'd paid the full price our rating would have been lower.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael18859075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We stayed in Hotel Casapueblo for two nights in the end of February 2012, for a weekend getaway without our kids. We splurged on a stay in Hotel Casapueblo as the concept of staying in Carlos Páez Vilaró´s sculpture, which looks like it was transported from Greece, was fabulous! I´m glad we made this decision. The hotel is a feast for the eyes at all times of day (particularly as the sun is setting) and features three brilliant blue pools (2 outdoor and 1 indoor) as well as access to the Rio Plata if it is calm enough to take a swim. We watched a violent thunderstorm come across the Rio Plata from our room one night, which was amazing. The hotel itself is a labyrinth of hallways that descends down a cliff (from ground floor to -9) and since it was built gradually and into the side of a cliff, there are lots of dead ends and interesting twists and turns (making it easy to get lost if you don´t follow the "salida" signs!). Also, the motion sensor lights make the hallways a bit spooky and cave-like, sort of reminiscent of Star Wars. The rooms themselves were very simply decorated (sparse white washed walls), brilliant natural wood floors, antique wood furniture and a balcony that overlooks the water. The bathrooms were also quite sparse, with European design (white tile and traditional fixtures). Each room features an animal, not a number, which is displayed in blue painted tile - we were in the Mariposa (butterfly room).

Overall, we appreciated the artistic nature of the building and the simple, sparse decorating style. My only disappointment was that for the price I thought the hotel could have made a better effort on some of the details - like higher quality towels / toiletries, robes, etc. Even the information on the hotel services / rules was provided on a simple computer print-out, which I thought was a bit odd for a $250 USD per night stay.

The restaurant had a small but delicious menu and decent wine list. It was a hub of activity in the afternoon but very quiet in the evening, which made for romantic water-side dinners. The breakfast buffet in the morning was quite good with a variety of breads and pasteries, meats / cheeses, cereals, yogurts, fruit and juice/tea/coffee (no hot food like eggs though).

The location (Punta Ballena) is a bit far removed from Punta del Este, which can be a benefit (it is quiet, except for all the tourists visiting Casa del Pueblo during the day) but also a detriment as it is a 20+ minute taxi ride into Punta del Este (which costs a hefty $25 USD). Buses serve the area but only to the intersection of the main road and highway, so if you want the flexibility to come/go I highly recommend renting a car. There is a beautiful beach within a 10-15 minute walk with a gorgeous view of the jagged rock Punta Ballena, but little else within walking distance from the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WeylandFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

I've always dreamed about staying at Casapueblo. The architecture is simply AMAZING, and the sunset views are indescribable! Though I've read all the critics here about the service, I decided to stay there either way because I always wanted to do, and so I was kind of prepared to deal with a bad service, but that was not even close to what really is like there...

The service is the worst I've ever seen in any hotels, and I've been travelling A LOT, in whole europe, america and some part of asia. In the beggining we were feeling bad about how this hotel is so amazing and still lacks in so many simple things...basically good service. Aparently they don't have enough staff. And the ones they have, don't seem very happy about working there. There's NO ONE at the pools, so if you want a drink, you have to go yourself to the restaurant, order and wait because you have to take it youserlf the things to where you are staying. Besides that, I had a terrible experience with the waitresses in the restaurant, and the worst part is: if the service sucks, you don't really have any other options to have dinner nearby, because the hotel is really isolated. They really MUST improve the service and the stuff, because it's such a wonderful place, hate to see it going that way...

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anipanqueca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

My husband is from Uruguay and we visited Casa Pueblo on one of our outings just to see it and get pictures of the view. When you first walk into the main entrance (where they charge you $120 pesos each just to get in the door, although they discount it from whatever you eat or drink in the restaraunt) the view is breathtaking! Its almost like being in Portofino with the ocean view and the building built into the side of the cliff. We started to take the stairs thinking it would be neat to see the architecture as we walked down but we were told you can only get the the restaraunt via antiquated elevator. (Although someone commented on the elevators I thought it was part of the charm) We got to the restaraunt and the terrace was full. Upsetting because the day and the view were beautiful, we sat inside near a window. We were told to wait since there were only 2 people working and that we would be served in the order we arrived. We waited for about 25 minutes just for a menu. Not very extensive. We ordered about 10 minutes later and got our food about 30 minutes later. When the waiter got to our table with the food AND drinks at once (I would think they would give you your drinks while you are waiting but they dont) my beer was warm! I asked him if he had a cold one and he said "No, we dont have any cold at the moment" Instead he brought me ice to put in my beer?!
When you are done eating you have to go to the bar and ask for your bill and pay it. The service is absolutely HORRIBLE!!!! The only redeeming quality of this place and what they bank on is the beautiful views and unique architecture.
I definitely recommend going if for nothing else but that.
Dont expect much more from this place~

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eguerns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Our 2 bedroom 2 bathroom suite was a great place for my family of 5 during our 7 day stay in PDE. First impressions are all good. This rock/adobe hotel and its museum is the stunning landmark of Punte Ballena. Bus loads of people flock here to see romantic sunsets every night and enjoy the cool breezes. We never tired of our ample semi-private balcony and bedroom views.

Your in the middle of admirable architecture but, like Frank Wright's work, the result is often impractical. As a hotel it is loud, has too many stairs, and suffers to a pair of ancient 2 person elevators trying to transverse 9 floors. That said, we appreciated residing in a big museum for a week.

The other positive to Casapueblo's location is its proximity to good beaches -- one within walking distance east -- the bustle of PDE, good restaurants in every direction, Bellina Winery, and many small coastal towns. You need your own car to stay here.

This aging structure is pretty well maintained and seemed clean. Service was as good as we asked for (nothing was offered). The front desk was helpful, the grassy seaside patio help always had towels and drinks available (both at 1-2 U$D price), the restaurant we simply avoided. The unit's kitchen was adequate to prepare occasional meals not eaten out. I'd recommend staying here, for couples or families, at least for a couple of nights.

Room Tip: Higher floors have more noise from the museum crowds. All rooms face west to the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TahitiJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Ballena
2.4 mi away
Solanas Punta del Este
Solanas Punta del Este
#3 of 9 in Punta Ballena
659 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Del Lago Golf & Art Resort
4.2 mi away
Hotel Art & Spa Las Cumbres
Hotel Art & Spa Las Cumbres
#1 of 9 in Punta Ballena
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Hotel Puesta del Sol
Hotel Puesta del Sol
#9 of 9 in Punta Ballena
20 reviews
4.9 mi away
De La Plaza Hotel
De La Plaza Hotel
#9 of 23 in Maldonado
49 reviews
3.2 mi away
Punta del Este Arenas Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Hotel Casapueblo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Hotel Casapueblo

Address: Punta Ballena, Maldonado, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Maldonado Department > Maldonado > Punta Ballena
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Punta Ballena
Price Range: £150 - £511 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club Hotel Casapueblo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Club Hotel Casapueblo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casapueblo Hotel Punta Del Este
Casapueblo Uruguay
Club Hotel Casapueblo Uruguay/Punta Ballena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing