We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Management”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Club Hotel Casapueblo
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Punta Ballena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

I am loathe to write a negative review, especially for a property as beautiful as Casapueblo, but the experience I have had with the hotel has been quite disappointing. On a brief sojourn from BA, I came with the expectation that I would be able to work remotely using the hotel's wi-fi. However, in the wake of a recent storm, the Internet has not been working. I was told the issue would be resolved within an hour, only to find out the problem had not been fixed. I was directed to a nearby (~10 min) gas station for Internet use. Upon returning, the issue was still unresolved and I was told by the front desk that the wi-fi would not likely be fixed tomorrow, either. I asked about canceling the reservation as I could not stay given the circumstances, and I was ultimately told that this request could not be honored given the "72-hour cancellation policy" - basically "tough luck". With nightly rates in excess of $350, this response is unacceptable, especially given that the trip itself was predicated on being able to work remotely. Management's apathy and terse response is unbecoming of a boutique hotel which should be best-in-class. Customer service is clearly not a focus.

Stay for the view and in spite of the aging fixtures and hope that you have no serious issues for which the hotel will surely not be accommodative. Otherwise you'll be back at the gas station, as I am, to warn other potential guests while booking another hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
4  Thank Evondy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (414)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

28 - 34 of 415 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2013

The view is fantastic but the hotel is awful, go for a15 minutes to experience the view but don't stay. We booked a suite and the room was not as pictured in the online advertising, the living room/ sitting area are two single beds pushed against the wall. The light fixture in the bathroom is a 2 foot bare fluorescent tube, food on the stove. The hotel is predominantly a condominium units so there is no hotel front desk service which is a problem is you don't speak Spanish. The restaurant closes early and the front desk could not even direct us to a local restaurant.

Room Tip: We moved to Serina Hotel, same number of star rating but a world of difference. Serina was a great s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We had a wonderful time in Casapueblo on our first leg of our honeymoon. The room was beautiful. The view was breathtaking. Great rates in Oct/Nov. Shower was tiny and breakfast was ok. But the view and the beauty of hotel made up for it. The staff helped us take some pic w our wedding attire. Highly recommended. Very romantic!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lizmats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Great place, great building, bad managed, bad manteined.
The location is the best ,like being in the middle of the sea. The view is superb.
The feeling of the place is magic.
It's a pity such a beautiful place managed like a 3 stars hotel. It should be 5.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Unatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

I did not stay at the hotel, buy it is a beautiful place. I went there for like 2 hours, and it was one of the highlights of my stay in Uruguay. I saw the sunset while listening to Carlos Páez Vilaró reciting one of his poems "Ceremonia del sol", it was a magical moment.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
Thank bebsmau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Casapueblo is a habitable sculpture, in Punta Ballena, near Punta del Este. It was initially hand made by uruguayan artist Carlos Páez Vilaró (father of one of the Los Andes Tragedy survivors and friend to Dalí, Picasso, De Chirico and Calder amongst others) around 40 years ago. For its resemblance with those houses in Greek islands and astonishing views to the Atlantic Oceans by the cliffs of the Punta Ballena seemed a great place for a Hotel and expanded following Paz Vilaró's style. There is a Museum with his paintings and sculptures and also if you are lucky you might visit his atelier.
The 4 stars are because of all the stuff I stated before.
The hotel has different open and indoor pools, restaurant, gym among other amenities.
Rooms are big and have a wonderful view. Mine had a small but nice balcony a living room with 2 beds, a kitchenette, a bathroom with 2 beds, and a bedroom.
The rooms are stuck in the 80s or before. Furniture, air conditioning, tvs, bathroom toilets, lights and basins needs to be updated. Elevators are slow and old. Restaurant menu average price is pretty high, at least for Uruguay and Argentina. A Milanesa (steak covered with breadcrumbs) to the room i think it was about 27 or 29 dollars.
I love Casapueblo, it is a magical place because its location, its views and architecture and that´s why I gave them 4 stars.
But if it wasn´t for that I would have given 3 stars.

Casapueblo es una escultura habitable en Punta Ballena, cerca de Punta del Este.
La hizo el artista uruguayo Carlos Páez Vilaró (padre de uno de los sobrevivientes de La Tragedia de Los Andes y amigo de Dalí, Picasso, De Chirico y Calder) friend to Dalí, Picasso, De Chirico and Calder amongst others) hará unos 40 años o tal vez más.
Por su parecido con las casas de las Islas Griegas, tipo Santorini, y su vista espectacular al Océano Atlántico desde los acantilados de Punta Ballena, parecía un gran lugar para construir un hotel. Siguiendo el estilo de su autor creció el Hotel sobre la ladera del acantilado.
Hay un Museo con sus pinturas y esculturas y también tiene allí su atelier. Si Páez está por allí, y les interesa comprar su obra, tal vez pueden tener suerte y visitarlo.
Las 4 estrellas las doy por el lugar en el que está y lo mágico de su vista y arquitectura.
Es realmente hermoso. Especialmente al atardecer.
Tiene piscinas abiertas y cerrada, restaurant, gimnasio y otros servicios.
Los cuartos son grandes con una vista hermosa. El mío tenía un balcón, un living comedor con 2 camas, 1 dormitorio con 2 camas, 1 baño.
La decoración se quedó en los 80s o antes. El equipamiento, muebles, aire acondicionado, tvs, loza de baño, etc tiene que ser renovado. Los elevadores son lentos y viejos. El menú del restaurante es caro, al menos para Uruguay y Argentina. Una milanesa a la habitación si mal no recuerdo fueron 26 o 29 dólares.

Amo Casapueblo. Me parece un lugar mágico no sólo por su arquitectura y cómo fue creciendo sino por su ubicación privilegiada y su vista espectacular. Por este motivo le di las 4 estrellas, pero sino le hubiera dado 3.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank max1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We recently had a great experience at Club Hotel Casapueblo. While researching options, we contacted many nearby hotels but after talking with Freddy (with Group Sales) we decided to reserve a mid-size room block for our corporate incentive trip.
From our initial contact through check-out, Freddy and his colleagues were professional, thorough, and courteous.
We all were very impressed with how clean and comfortable the rooms were and also loved the location. We also had a great dinning experience!
Our group plans on visiting again next year and our Group Leader has already insisted on staying again at this Hotel.

Stayed in April 2013, traveled on business

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AtlanticTravelGroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Ballena
3.5 mi away
Hotel Del Lago Golf & Art Resort
20.3 mi away
Solanas Punta del Este
Solanas Punta del Este
#22 of 67 in Punta del Este
686 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Art & Spa Las Cumbres
Hotel Art & Spa Las Cumbres
#1 of 1 in Las Cumbres
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Hotel Puesta del Sol
Hotel Puesta del Sol
#6 of 6 in Punta Ballena
20 reviews
6.6 mi away
Conrad Punta del Este Resort & Casino
4.9 mi away
De La Plaza Hotel
De La Plaza Hotel
#7 of 20 in Maldonado
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Hotel Casapueblo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Hotel Casapueblo

Address: Punta Ballena, Maldonado, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Maldonado Department > Maldonado > Punta Ballena
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Punta Ballena
Price Range: £117 - £446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club Hotel Casapueblo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Club Hotel Casapueblo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casapueblo Hotel Punta Del Este
Casapueblo Uruguay
Club Hotel Casapueblo Uruguay/Punta Ballena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing