We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eccentric”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auberge Manoir des Saules
Ranked #1 of 2 La Saussaye B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 August 2013

The place is eclectic to put it mildly. But that is fine although having a fake xix century lamppost in the bedroom is not really what I expect from Relais and Chateaux branded place. The service was very good and the place was very well maintained. The dinner however was a disappointment. The portions were huge. I got with my older son a pullet and after we have eaten breasts with some vegetables we have received solo the rest of the chicken. It was like a bad joke. The French family at the next table was laughing as well. The deserts were fantastic but the cod for the main course was dull as a badly staged opera. The dinner was overpriced beyond belief. We have spent for 4 of us almost 400 Euros and I do not mind the money but the quality was not even near the pricing. The breakfast was however great. Great choice and very fresh.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pawel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2013

Auberge is the atmosphere. A very comfortable house with lots & lots of pictures & objets d'art, some for sale. Not a chateau & scarcely a manoir but a beautifully kept and quirky hotel to spend a night in. No willow trees except painted on the lounge ceiling! Warm welcome from the friendly proprietor, & his minimal number of charming staff. We had a large, luxurious & comfortable room, but it lacked any sort of information pack about the hotel or the area. Did not locate any non-French TV channels - no guide. Dinner was to us terribly late & drawn out - no orders taken till 8 pm & first course arrived 8.45 - & terribly expensive. Costly ingredients not matched by real gastronomic treatment, & the "5-course" menu's amuse bouches are served as snacks with your pre-dinner drinks, the mignardises with coffee (extra), so really 3 courses for the money. We did not go for the "6" course option. Breakfast very good indeed, lots of fruit, dairy & bakery, excellent coffee, high price. Lacks grounds or attractive environs to wander in, it is in a plain little village, but OK for a single night.

Room Tip: Augusta is a spacious room with comfy sofa & chairs, a lovely big bed, roomy bathroom with spa b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frances S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We had heard several people rave about the Manoir des Saules (as a restaurant), though they warned us that it was expensive, so we went there on a special occasion. We had a pleasant aperitif with amuse-bouches in the cosy sitting room but after that it was all downhill. The menu, at 90 euros (more than the Michelin 2-star restaurant Gill in Rouen), had little or nothing in the way of choice; the replacement for the foie gras that I asked for was a plate of smoked salmon presented as it might be in a motorway eatery; the rest of the food was okay but lacking in imagination, refinement and visual appeal – a 30-euro menu masquerading as something extraordinary; the waiter forgot what wine I'd ordered and then brought a lukewarm Riesling. Yes, the building and grounds are impressive but the food isn't even worth half the asking price. Go there to have a look round and a cup of tea, but don't eat there unless you like wasting your money.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Fred L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We stayed here on the way down to the Ile de Re and again on the way back. A great halfway between the Cotswolds and the island. Such a pretty auberge with frolicking stone rabbits on the roof, in a really delightful courtyard garden, made more alive by the owner's very colourful shirts! The downstairs room was ideal for travelling with a dog (but would be perfect for any disabled person too). Delicious food and a very warm welcome. We would certainly stay there again. Also, very quiet, so an excellent night's sleep.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheCotswoldsWhizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2011

This hotel is almost comically awful. Almost, because it's not funny. For starters, we noticed that neither the bedside lamp nor the in room refrigerator were working. We were told..which one do you want because you cant have both.
We went to dinner and two of us ordered the steak "a point". One was extremely well done, the other almost raw. We pointed this out and were informed that we were idiots..that if we knew anything we would know that both were " a point". But the conversation was brief because as one of the owners said, the small medical convention at the hotel was far more important than we were.
The hilarity didn't stop there. When we asked for some light appetizers in the courtyard the next day, the other owner brought some, sat down, joined us, ate our food, drank our wine, and then presented us with a bill that was north of two hundred dollars.
We submitted our findings to Relais and Chateau. We have yet to receive a reply.
Stay away from this disaster, unless you're organizing a small medical conference. Even then, make sure one of your doctors knows how to deal with food poisoning.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank floats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sid0ine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank fredleila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Auberge Manoir des Saules? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Manoir des Saules

Address: Place Saint Martin, 27370 La Saussaye, France
Region: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Eure > La Saussaye
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in La Saussaye
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge Manoir des Saules 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Auberge Manoir des Saules reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing