We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet Weekend Getaway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auberge Refuge du Trappeur

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Auberge Refuge du Trappeur
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet Weekend Getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

Hi!
My boyfriend and I stayed at "Auberge du Trappeur" for two nights. Overall, we really enjoyed the experience and would return. We were looking for a quiet getaway to observe Quebec's wildlife/landscape without travelling too far from home.
Here is my review:

Room: We stayed in a ''tourist friendly" tipi, meaning that they installed a wooden platform so we were not sleeping directly on the ground. Fire pit inside with lots of self-serve fire wood. Equipment is extra $ (matt/ sleeping bag/flashlight/towel/small bar soap) It all seems very simple, but it was comfortable, and quite large inside.

Shared Bath Facilities: Very well maintained. Although basic, it was exceptionally clean. No hairs clogging the shower drains, and no puddle of water accumulating at your feet- that's a big deal for me. I did not even have any spider encounters ! (3 showers/2 toilets/1sink)

Onsite Restaurant: Dinning was the least enjoyable part of the trip. Menu options,quality of produce and presentation is lacking. The service was good, but they really need to invest some effort into the restaurant. If you have any dietary restrictions, I highly recommend you notify them in advance because the Chef is not terribly accommodating. Better yet,bring your food from home.

Staff: It is my understanding that the establishment has been under new management since last year. The new owners,and all staff, are very friendly and welcoming. Unfortunately, I get the impression that the new owners do not have any prior experience in the hotel/restaurant industry. They do make every effort to please their guests, and with time they will surely improve the areas that are lacking.

Activities:
Bear Viewing: meeting time 18h30. 5 min. drive from hotel. Total time 1.5 hours.You are in a shelter and bears are approx. 100 m. away. We saw 3 bears, it's pretty much guaranteed that they will be there as they are fed. Great photo opportunities.
Moose Viewing / Canoe: meeting time 4h00.45 minute drive.Total canoeing time 2.5 hours. Level of difficulty: easy/no current on lake. Bring your binoculars. Unfortunately the only animal viewing was 2 frogs, but paddling on a peaceful lake as the sun rises was nice. If you think you will be upset to wake up at 3:30 am and not see a moose -stay in bed.

Cost: 2 people / 2 nights / prices in CAD
Tipi = 50$/night
Sleeping equipement=42$
Restaurant=170$ ( 2 x dinner + 2 x breakfast)
Activities= 200$ ( bear + moose viewing)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThePrimChicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    60
    32
    26
    25
See reviews for
75
53
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Girona, Spain
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

We stayed for 1 night, in a tepee, and were stupid enough to sign and pay IN ADVANCE -TIP INCLUDED!!!!!!- for the "gastronomic" dinner. The service was terrible. The waitress spilled my soup. This is fine, anyone can make a mistake I suppose, but she did not change my plate (so I had half a soup) and she DID NOT CLEAN THE MESS. When my son spilled some water on the table and I asked for some paper napkins she was so rudely disappointed that I could not believe it (and I had to ask twice). Meanwhile, I was eating with a soup puddle under my feet...

The gastronomic dinner was a bad joke, served on plastic tablecloth and with paper napkins. The soup was mainly yellow water with some floating objects (the alternative, a vegetable juice). The main dish was ok for the children and the dessert was simply INSULTING: half a see-through Panetone slice with some canned pear on top. There was no alternative. They had "run-out" of apple pie, although the restaurant was almost empty.

The tepee experience was nice, and the amerindian employee was really sweet with the kids. He advised us to leave most of our things in the car and I am so glad he did because the smell of smoke in my vanity case has not gone out yet four days after.

My advise: do not go there, unless your kids really want to sleep in a tepee and you cannot find an alternative place.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank casimir67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saint-Mathieu-du-Parc hotels

Maassluis, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2010

We stayed for 3 nights. The first night we were left alone, in the middle of nowhere, without any attendance and no possibility to eat. The third night we could only eat from 19.00h on. At day there was a constant annoying hard noise from the nearby museum (keep your windows very closed). Although there was WiFi, we were not allowed to use it. The towels and the room were not kept clean, the towels smelling dirty from the beginning. But we have to pay a lot of money, for what? They made a very clever use of our credit card. In all, a very disappointing visit, not characteristic of Canada.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Job_van_der_Meer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2010

We stayed here so that we could do the Moose and Beaver Kayak trip, which was amazing. The staff here a very accommodating and friendly, we ate in the hotel and the food was lovely. the room was nice but a bit stuffy need the windows open but very quiet , as this place is deep in the stick on the entrance to the National Park. The other activities they have on site at the hotel are good but do not cater to well for English speaking tourists .

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scotty30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Mathieu-du-Parc
14.6 mi away
Hotel Sacacomie
Hotel Sacacomie
#1 of 4 in Saint-Alexis-des-Monts
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
10.8 mi away
Auberge Le Flores
Auberge Le Flores
#1 of 2 in Grand-Mere
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
12.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Shawinigan
Comfort Inn Shawinigan
#1 of 6 in Shawinigan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Auberge Saint-Mathieu du Lac
Auberge Saint-Mathieu du Lac
#1 of 5 in Saint-Mathieu-du-Parc
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
19.6 mi away
Pourvoirie Du Lac Blanc
Pourvoirie Du Lac Blanc
#1 of 5 in Saint-Alexis-des-Monts
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
9.2 mi away
Auberge du Lac-a-l'Eau-Claire
Auberge du Lac-a-l'Eau-Claire
#2 of 5 in Saint-Alexis-des-Monts
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Refuge du Trappeur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Refuge du Trappeur

Property: Auberge Refuge du Trappeur
Address: 2120, chemin St-Francois, Saint-Mathieu-du-Parc, Quebec G0X 1N0, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Saint-Mathieu-du-Parc
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Mathieu-du-Parc
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Auberge Refuge du Trappeur 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Inn "Auberge du Trappeur" is located at the entrance of La Mauricie National Park. 10 Renovated comfortable rooms, teepees and holiday cottages. Nature lovers can experience a variety of outdoor activities: guided black bear watching, moose and beaver watching, canoeing, kayaking, walking trails, dog sledding, snowmobiling, and snowshoeing with trapping interpretation. Our restaurant offers a variety of wild meat specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Auberge Refuge du Trappeur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Refuge Du Trappeur Saint-Mathieu-Du-Parc, Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing