We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view of Canal, rooms are basic and bland. 1 b/r = studio room too”
Review of The Marina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Marina Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mindarie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Highlights are the very comfortable King Bed, Free WiFi, large balcony with views of canal and the large renovated bathroom with great twin head shower. I paid for a $195 1 bedroom and got a hotel studio room, thus their advertising is a bit misleading. Lowlights were Polished concrete floors in the room, ducted A/C is noisy and struggles in Summer, small desk to work from, tiny fridge with no mini bar, single seater chaise to watch TV, no foxtel. Dined at the "Boathouse" with just about the entire menu being fried - thus it was ordinary too say the least.

Room Tip: You would want to be upstairs for a canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brad290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2013

Cannot comment on the accommodation but the Boat pub/restaurant is pretty good if more than somewhat crowded on weekends. We usually visit during the week and have found it to be a good lunchtime watering hole and eatery. The fish cakes and squid are particularly enjoyable. Maybe a tad expensive but not bad value for money considering where it is. Beware marauding gulls and don't leave you food unattended if eating outdoors!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BQ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

We were here on a Sunday afternoon and had to wait for seating as they were packed to the gills. The food was nice, a bit pricey but typical of WA, and the view across the marina is lovely. Don't go here if you want a quiet romantic moment though.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank cruisingal133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

We took overseas visitors to the 'Boat' recently.
Food not as good as usual, the fish was good but sliced very thinly, service was crap and wait staff had 'attitude'..... the bar manager also had 'attitude' when we spoke to her about the lousy service and the GM did not reply to my email detailing problems we encountered. This place is also getting very pricey for what you get.....never go here again...lots of other venues around. The dining/drink area was only 3/4 full on a public holiday......it has always been crammed with patrons in the past....obviously other people feel the same as us now.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank terimakasih50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We stayed here as we wanted to get out of Perth for Australia Day. Both my Husband and myself along with our two girls aged 8 and 6 were amazed. The room was big beautifully decorated and clean. We had an amazing night and would stay here again

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I booked a room for a special occassion recently, which was advertised as Marina or Ocen View Spa room. We were given Room 2, where the room itself was nice, not over-furnished (to the point that the walls were bare) with polshed concrete floors with a large bathroom with a single spa bath fitted. Downstaris there a a couple of hotels offering good food an other specialty shops etc.

However, you do have a balcony which is fitted out with a table chairs to enjoy the view over the back end of the Marina, but more importantly your main view is the outdoor beer garden and smoking area of one of the hotels below. Not to mention that there was live music being played in this area also, so the balcony doors could not be openned due to cigarette smoke and noise to enjoy the experience.

There is a pool available which was not clean at the time and the space around the pool was 'bland' with no furniture to make you want to use the facility.

Recerption closes at 6pm and if you have any after hours issues, you have to locate the on duty Security Officer.

Woulkd I stay there again, no I would not.

We were given Room 2

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LincWesternAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Trying to find a sub $300 hotel room in Perth at short notice was proving pretty difficult, so I ended up in Mindarie Marina about a 40 minute drive north of Perth. This far north of Perth I was expecting something a little special for this sort of money. I was unfortunately about to be disappointed. Arriving just before 9pm I was a little surprised to find the hotel in darkness and seemingly abandoned. After searching in the darkness I came upon a sign that stated reception closed at 6pm. Luckily my mobile phone wasn’t quite flat so I rang the mobile number on the sign. A very helpful security guard soon came and took my credit card details and kindly showed me the way to my room. Large and minimalistic would be the best description with polished concrete floors and a balcony overlooking the Marina. I was also slightly hungry so I looked for somewhere to eat, I was informed that the kitchen shut at 9pm and as the only other choice was an Indian restaurant, I settled for a beer and some nuts. Not too bad so far. Sleep proved to be slightly difficult, Room 1 overlooks the beer garden and the revelry and laughter arising from there didn’t enable a rapid transit to the blissful state of sleep. I did eventually get to sleep only to be woken very early by the cleaners washing down the beer garden. I would suggest avoiding Room 1 at all costs. Breakfast at the Dome café was pleasant, although a little pricey ay $23, for bacon and eggs on toast, an orange juice and tea. But then again I do find the costs of food in WA to be pricey compared to other states. On trying to checkout, I again found that reception was closed, it doesn’t open till 8am. Luckily the same security guard who was on duty the night before returned my call and let me in, he sure works long hours. The nice lady on reception also arrived early and helped me out so I managed to just get to my meetings by 9am. Lovely and helpful staff at Mindarie Marina, but I don’t think I would stay here again, especially at $250.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 1, it over looks the beer garden and is noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stewart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mindarie
Joondalup City Hotel
#4 of 4 in Joondalup
52 reviews
Ocean View Motel
#1 of 1 in North Beach
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Scarborough
Ramada Vetroblu Scarborough Beach
Joondalup Resort
#1 of 1 in Connolly
259 reviews
Hillarys Harbour Resort
#1 of 1 in Hillarys
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marina Hotel

Address: 33 Ocean Falls Bvd, Mindarie, Wanneroo, Western Australia 6030, Australia (Formerly Mindarie Marina Hotel & Villas)
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Wanneroo > Mindarie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mindarie
Price Range: £101 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marina Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 30 minutes from Perth City the Marina Mindarie is the perfect location whether you are looking for a holiday, weekend getaway, function/wedding venue or a relaxing afternoon by the ocean. The Marina Hotel is ideally located on the Boardwalk at the Marina. All Hotel rooms and villas have luxury king size beds, air-conditioning, flat screen LCD TV & DVD, FREE Wi-Fi and private balconies that overlook the Marina. All rooms also contain tea and coffee making facilities, small bar fridge, iron & board and outdoor balcony settings. Enjoy ocean side dining and craft beer at the Indian Ocean Brewing Company, The Boat Ale House and a number of other waterfront establishments on site including Dome Cafe. Enjoy our fabulous Cabana Pool, Bar & BBQ area, its the perfect place to relax. The one bedroom suites are modern and stylish with polished concrete floors with the two bedroom suites being fully carpeted. The complex also has two 3 bedroom self catering villas ideal for longer stays. There is also FREE WI-FI throughout the complex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Marina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing