We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality. Family. Time.”
Review of Mirabelle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asnieres-la-Giraud
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mirabelle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Quality. Family. Time.”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My second stay at Mirabelle compelled me to join TripAdvisor and write a review of this beautiful place. The first time I visited Mirabelle was also my first visit to France, real France I mean not Calais. On arrival I had a "bit" of a nightmare with the car rental, (you need a credit card for future reference!) so I had to get a taxi to the Gite. After 100km taxi ride I arrived at the Gite to be welcomed by Paul & Michelle. I told Paul of the diliemma at the airport and he took me and my family to a local car rental place and booked me a car on his credit card. Immediately I was taken back by this act of generousity and knew that this was going to be a good stay.

The Gite was amazing, we stayed in Saffron which was a converted barn which kept some of its original features but was modern, clean and very comfortable. The pool was the main attraction for my family. My kids would spend 8 hours in the pool every day and it was nigh on impossible to get them out!

First time we stayed at Mirabelle we venured out into the local town St. Jean D'Angeley which is stunning btw but we were a little overwhelmed by the differecne in culture from the UK.

On our second visit this year we found our confidence in how to "deal" with the French and ventured out to La Rochelle, Royan, Saintes (Amazing), Cognac (Amazing) even the locan village of Asnieres-la-Giraud had a church that is beautfiul.

I would recommened Mirabelle if you like to following things:

- Spending time with your kids
- Feeling welcome and comfortable
- Leaving the TV off for a week
- Watching your children become mermaids in the pool
- Seeing some stunning parts of France
- Bike riding on desolute roads and through fields of sunflowers
- Eating an amazing barbecue with Paul & Michelle
- Stargazing
- Escaping the pace of consumerism

Try L'Annexxe in St Jean for a truly French beautiful meal.

Room Tip: All rooms are great but I recommend Saffron for a family as its lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Luke A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    0
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dagenham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Our first visit to Mirabelle gites but the rest of the family have stayed there before and highly recommended it so we went with them. Quite a lot of us on this trip x10 adults and 4 children but more than adequate accommodation for us all in the different gites we had. Great place for the kids with a lovely pool and a kids club in operation so some free time for the adults!!!! Pool bar for beer/wine/ice creams and sunbeds also by poo - bonus.

Lots of chill out space outside each gite inc your own BBQ and other events organised by owners and at great value. You should try the Horse riding (adults and kids) they also had a great BBQ night with great food and lots of fun for the family. La Rochelle and Cognac worth a visit! have fun Mel

Room Tip: 2 of the gites have nearer access to the pool one had a back door so great if you had kids using poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melanie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We spent a week at Mirabelle in June staying in Vanille. There are some wonderful things about the place: the location is beautiful and peaceful, and near to a number of very interesting places to visit, parts of the buildings are beautiful (especially the old barn) and there are lots of great outdoor toys for children (a pirate ship, swings, etc..). The kids club is also a nice luxury for parents. But there were also a few things which we thought could be improved.

Firstly, we thought our property smelt of damp/mould quite strongly, including the only chest of drawers (which meant we couldn't really unpack). We did raise this with the owners who have been very prompt to respond and very friendly but dispute any problem with mould in the property, though they have said they'll look into it for future guests. This left us at a bit of an impasse. My husband is a building surveyor and is convinced the problem is lack of adequate ventilation to the building. To their credit the owners waived our final cleaning fee (this is an optional extra, along with towel hire, which isn't included in the rental, and the kids club) in recognition of our complaint.

Secondly, we were really concerned about pool safety. The pool has a cover (which the owners tell me meets the safety requirements in France) but this is not on during the day and although there is a fence around the pool there are two gates which have to be secured by bolts to prevent children entering the pool enclosure. Inevitably people forget to lock the bolts and we often found the gates open (as they don't swing shut on their own) or unlocked. Whilst the owners do make a point of saying that parents should supervise their children at all times we found the other places we stayed, which had proper child-proof, self-closing gates, a much more relaxing experience as we didn't have to worry about children ending up in pool.

In general terms there are, as I have said, many nice things about the place, but a few things which could be done better / updated / improved.

Room Tip: Vanille is very spacious and has two bathrooms - it faces on to the courtyard which is sociable in t...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller3375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy015, Owner at Mirabelle, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Hi Traveller3375
Thanks for your feedback and we glad that you enjoyed most of your holiday at Mirabelle. We have checked the 'damp' issue. The chest of drawers were mistakenly pushed over a bathroom vent which did cause a damp patch behind the chest of drawers as the moisture was trapped. We are sorry this happened and these have now been treated and moved away from the vent which should resolve the problem.
The pool does conform to French law BUT we have to rely on parents to keep gates closed and not leave children unattended near the pool (which very few would at any pool). The heavy springs which close gates automatically can be very dangerous for small children's fingers but we will try and find a safer solution.
Many thanks
Paul and Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We have recently returned from a holiday at Mirabelle Gites during which we stayed in the main house. Prior to booking this holiday we had searched high and low for an affordable family friendly place to stay in France. We wanted lovely accommodation and good facilities to keep our 5 and 6 year old children happy and entertained. There are several places in France that provide what we were looking for but all were extremely expensive. My husband didn't want to spend a week in a rustic gite and anything above a basic standard seemed to be much more expensive. We, much like most people, wanted somewhere lovely without the price tag and that's exactly what we got at Mirabelle gites! I was almost braced for disappointment when we arrived as I'm always skeptical that I might get a good deal. I need not have been braced as the house was a lovely as I had hoped. It is homely and welcoming. The decor is lovely. We were delighted. We stepped outside and the children were then equally as delighted. The surroundings felt instantly safe and we could feel ourselves relaxing right from the start. The children also loved the kids club as well as feeling instantly happy and safe in Philipa's care (who runs the club). Michelle and Paul, the owners, couldn't have been friendlier and made us feel instantly welcome. BBQ night was a lot of fun and the food delicious. We highly recommend Mirabelle Gites and would love to return however this summer and next are booking up fast which doesn't surprise me in the slightest! A lovely holiday with great facilities and accommodation. And all at a very reasonable price. Perfect!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We tried to book for the summer but as it was fully booked we snapped up the chance to visit during May half term and although the weather wasn't amazing, the place, the set up and everything in the surrounding areas made it a wonderful holiday for us and our 3 children.

Firstly our Gite Vanille was spacious with a great set up for our family; the large living area was in the centre with our bedroom and ensuite on one side and the children’s bedroom with 3 lovely matching beds and their ensuite on the other side. There was a box of toys which the kids loved and a well set up kitchen and a washing machine. The beds were beautifully comfortable with lovely bed linen and the gite was absolutely spotless.

What exceeded our expectations was the space and the set up for the children, we have a 7 year old and 4 year old twins and it was fortunate that all of the guests children at half term were 6 and under, there was also the bonus of the owners 12 year old son and his 12 year old friend who had come for half term, they were the most well mannered, lovely boys I have ever met and were absolutely wonderful at entertaining our 7 year old son, they even arranged 2 camp over’s on the field which was one of the highlights of my sons holiday! The owners provided a sleeping bag and mattress etc and I provided the snacks - memories he'll treasure for a long time.

The other play equipment and enormous safe space was amazing, the children ran and played to their hearts content, they loved the woods and the tree house - while we were able to sit and relax, which doesn't happen very often!

The pool isn't heated, which I imagine isn't a problem when the weather is warm, unfortunately as with the UK at half term this year, we also got some mixed weather so the kids braved the cooler pool - and once they were in - they all loved it. It was nice as many of the other guests children were also in the pool at the same time, so they all played together.

So when the weather isn't great, the only thing to do is to get out and explore which there is loads to go at. The Aquarium at La Rochelle is unbelievable and then to spend the day in and around the old harbour is a real treat. The Zoo is also great. The beach at Playa sur la Mer is beautiful and great for kids who want to explore as is the old Chateau where the prehistoric caves are, the children even saw wild otters there which they loved.

Saintes food Market is a must and a wonderful experience for everyone and even a day in nearby St Jean Angeley is fun filled. We only managed to use the kids club on one day as we went out in the mornings and spent the afternoons by the pool or playing on the field. The kids club is ace and Philippa who runs it is brilliant with the kids.

My husband had a great time at the guest’s v's locals - Dad's football match that they owners arranged, watched avidly by all the families who cheered them on with supper time picnics and glasses of wine, while the kids ate ice creams and played on the zip wire.

A lovely concept is the BBQ night on the Thursday; this was a good opportunity to chat and get to know the other guests while the children all played. Philippa and her husband spoilt us all with their fabulous cooking and were excellent hosts. There were a few headaches the following morning...

It was an idyllic week which echoes the reviews that we read before we booked. Really great holiday which our kids loved every minute and we actually got to relax. THANK YOU MIRABELLE - see you again next year!

Room Tip: Vanille had a great sun terrace which was perfect for the afternoons and evenings
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheSinclairs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from an average week at Mirabelles Gites. The website promises the Best French Gites and luxury. I beg to differ. Maybe luxury should be looked up in the dictionary. We stayed in Citronelle. It was filthy with dead flies and cob webs everywhere. A sofa that has long seen it's sell by date and fusty smelling towels that we had to hire. I was later informed that they were definitely clean having been washed back in September for the following May? Really? When we informed the owner that we weren't happy we were met with a rather sarcastic reply followed by a week of no communication. We had dared to complain and apparently we were the very first to ever do so! The owners son and friend had pitched a tent very close to the gites and so we had to endure 3 nights of teenagers being up until 1.30am. Not the relaxing holiday we so badly needed. The pool wasn't heated so was of limited use. If you cater for young families then heat the pool. Surely that's common sense? The Gite (read shed) was damp and generally very unhomely. We will never ever go back. The absolute best thing about the week was Philippa who runs the kids club and the weekly BBQ. She is fab and made us feel welcome, unlike the owners who couldn't have cared less. They did in fact go and buy a new sofa, and so they should've given the existing one was old, uncomfortable with a lovely damp patch on it. There is so much competition out there for family friendly gites. We won't be entertaining these again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank boolia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy015, Owner at Mirabelle, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Hello Boolia
Thank you for your comments and we are genuinely sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay. It is deeply unfair to say we couldn't have cared less as we offered you a full refund and responded to all of your demands immediately (see below).
We know that you wanted to stay in Vanille, and you wanted beams etc but all other gites were booked when you made your reservation and we cannot control that. The photos of our gites are accurate representations of the accommodation. From your pre-arrival emails we know that you considered not coming and wanted details of the other children staying to ensure your child had playmates (which he did). When you arrived you gave us a long list of things that you were unhappy about and we offered a full refund but you didn't actually ever say if you were going to take this up or not so it was left for other guests to tell us that you may or may not leave. Now let's state how we dealt with each complaint.
Cleanliness: When you told us that your surfaces were not clean Michelle came over immediately, apologised and cleaned them. She offered to re-clean anything that you weren't happy with but you chose to 're-clean' the gite without showing us and then come and tell us afterwards so it was impossible to verify what was wrong. I also gave you a complimentary bottle of wine as a goodwill gesture.
Sofa: You told us on Sunday that the sofa was uncomfortable and by Monday I had removed it, bought a new one, hired a van and delivered it to your gite. You will remember this as you sat in your car and watched us remove the old one and replace it and never even acknowledged that we had done this.
Towels: You complained that they weren't fluffy and fresh enough so Michelle immediately provided a brand new set (with labels) and you then asked us to wash them to make them 'more absorbent'. We did not charge you for either set.
Pool: The pool is not advertised as heated but it does have an excellent solar cover and is normally warm enough to swim in and your child swam with the other children quite happily. It was not a warm week but we opened it so people could use it if they wished. Most gite complexes don't even open their pool until peak season but we know it is important to children.
Tents: We put up tents all summer so that children can enjoy camping out in a safe environment and we placed it at least 50 metres form your gite. On the 2 nights that our 12-year-old son and guests camped out they were asleep by midnight and after you complained we stopped them from camping out.
We are happy that we could not have done any more for you during your stay so to say that we didn't care or respond is blatantly not true. We hope you enjoy your future holidays.
Paul and Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Just back from our first ever week at Mirabelle Gites and we already can't wait for next year :) It was just fantastic. Paul was running the show and he is a great host. He made us feel at home straight away with his big friendly smile and was so helpful all week. Horse riding, BBQ night and kids club were all great. The swimming pool was gorgeous and our 2yr old had a great time with all the swim toys and all the space to run around and toys to keep him entertained for hours on end in a really safe environment. It is a beautiful part of the French countryside and a really relaxing holiday. Would not hesitate in recommending this to anyone... but might just keep it a secret ;) Roll on Sept 2014 and our 2weeks in lavande :)

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Mirabelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirabelle

Property: Mirabelle
Address: 29 Chemin de Saint Hilaire | Chez Cornet, 17400 Asnieres-la-Giraud, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > Asnieres-la-Giraud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Asnieres-la-Giraud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Mirabelle France/Asnieres-La-Giraud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing