We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect place to escape”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Whitehouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chillington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Whitehouse
Ranked #4 of 6 Chillington B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“The perfect place to escape”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Everything was perfect about our stay, including the sunshine! The Whitehouse is stunning, from the interior decor to the beautiful garden. Ali our host was very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. We really felt completely relaxed and we'll definitely return, especially to hang out with the marvellous Percy, Bertie & Jack.

Top tips -

We stayed in Room 4 which is light & airy with an incredibly comfy bed.

Try the Beach House for a great lunch by the sea on a sunny day

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tottster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    12
    10
    7
    3
See reviews for
5
59
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I booked a romantic weekend away through Mr & Mrs Smith for me and my partner and on arrival our first impressions were good. We arrived in the dark having struggled to find the place as there is no signage whatsoever, but once we parked up and approached the house, it looked beautiful and very inviting. The Mr & Mrs Smith overview described the dress code as 'casual but groomed', which is more than can be said of the staff, who were disappointingly shabby....more basic B&B than upmarket hotel!

The place had a nice quirky feel with open fires crackling away and to top it all we were immediately advised that we had been upgraded....yay!....a near perfect start! We were shown to room 6 in the Attic, which is a very good size, with a huge bed and nicely appointed bathroom and on the whole, it appeared to be very comfortable. However, as we started unpacking a few things hit a bum note. My partner realised that there was no dressing table, which one might expect as a minimum requirement and I noticed that the double wardrobe had a measly six hangers for us to share. On top of this there was a suspicious stain on the otherwise inviting sofa....the sort of stain that you check out to make sure it's not going to make a mess of your clothes.....How could they leave that for a guest to worry about.....I just don't get it! The blinds in the room, one of which was extremely tatty, would have been more at home in a kitchen and with a little more thought the furniture could have been re arranged to create a much more comfortable space. The duvet, pillows and linen were of the finest quality and we both agreed that it was probably the most comfortable bed that we had ever slept in....and the largest!

Some of the common areas were dressed with quirky and interesting furniture and art but other parts were sparse. A few rugs and some curtains would not go amiss to soften the feel of the place which, without the benefit of the open fires, was rather less inviting during the day.

A very good breakfast is served in the lovely bright dining room, overlooking the garden and terrace. The garden is one of the outstanding features of the place and I imagine, something very special in the summer.

On departure I noticed that a charge for our afternoon tea on the Saturday had been added to our bill. This should have been complimentary as I had made the booking via Mr & Mrs Smith, and the charge was subsequently removed. On the Friday we were not offered afternoon tea on arrival but we put this down to arriving a little late at around 5.30 ish. I mention this because others have made similar remarks about complimentary afternoon tea not being offered and in hindsight I'm a little bit miffed with myself for not taking this up during our stay.

This place is not cheap and on the whole there were more negatives than positives, with very amateurish service and a little suspect on overall cleanliness and maintenance standards. This is a shame because with a little more money spent on the interior and a lot more effort service wise, this place could be a real gem!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

If you're into design, attention to detail, great service and delicious food - this is the place to go.

The building itself is gorgeous, the design of the communal spaces is second to none and the rooms ooze style and class.

Food wise, they only serve breakfast, but what a breakfast. The usual cereals and fruit etc, then a choice of freshly prepared hot breakfasts which were totally delicious.

The only slight downside was the WiFi range.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
295 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

From the moment we arrived, we felt welcome here. Even some other guests, sitting in the garden, smiled and said hello as we came up the path from the car park, as if it was their hotel. On entering, the owner (Ali?) was warm and friendly. Offers of help came quickly but not in an over-pushed way. Our room (No. 1) was on the back of the house and overlooked the garden. It had windows on three sides so was light and well aired. The bed dominates. It's massive. The hidden fridge is a good idea and so is the Nespresso machine. Bath robes, slippers and excellent gels, etc. Nice touches. A couple of small issues - no door on the toilet cubicle: very "now", but not to everyone's taste, I suspect. Also, more shelves and hooks would be a help. We stayed 3 days and so had more stuff than for a normal weekend.

Overall, the decor is "shabby chic" - arty and well studied (many design books are dotted about the place). The "public rooms" are well, and quite expensively, furnished - big leather chairs and sofas; large lamps; books and a big table on which games can be played. There was a sense that this would be a good place in the winter as well as summer. In the garden, there is ample, comfortable furniture of a very "in" design.

The breakfast room is a well designed annex to the original (Georgian?) house and the breakfasts were a veritable feast. Home made stuff all over the place - marmalade, compote, fruit salad. We ate heartily and to the point that we skipped lunch on all three days. The local haddock was excellent but I went for the "full English" on 2 out of 3 days. Black pudding, sausages and bacon all tasted wonderful. Toast, and croissants, etc came too.

Overall, this is close to as good as you can expect and the pricing is very reasonable, all things considered.

Room Tip: A room at the back of the house is likely to be quieter than the front, which is on the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IOWman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed for a long weekend in July 2013, having booked through Mr and Mrs Smith. The house is on the edge of Chillington village, a couple of miles from the beautiful coastline in that part of Devon. Dartsmouth, Kingsbridge and Salcombe are all easily accessible by car, and Dartmoor is less than an hour's drive.
The room we had was large, with a beautiful and unusually large bed (Rm 3) with a . It was
clean, and the bathroom spotless. The shower was impressive, and the bath big enough to wallow in. There was a Nespresso-type coffee machine in the room, with fresh milk daily in the chiller. The gardens were well kept, and the house had a good library and DVD collection for when you just want to stay in. Breakfast was deliciously excellent - we didn't need lunch.
This is not really a family place, rather more for couples wanting a relaxing and romantic break away from busy lifestyles. The village is a little isolated, and it is necessary to drive to nearby towns, or book taxis well in advance. The nearest pub, the Tradesman Arms, does excellent food, and is a 15 minute walk away - the landlady (who was very sweet) kindly lent us a torch for the walk back. We also ate at the Cricketers in Beesands, which was excellent as well.
Ultimately, for two very busy people, this was a lovely relaxing weekend. Not cheap, but worth every penny.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Europamonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

Every time I visit it just reminds me how a hotel should make you feel, totally relaxed, welcome but also that you can kick your shoes off and curl up in front if a fire with a large drink and a book. Amazing place with wonderful hosts. We were once again in our favourite room 5 but all others are great, wonderful comfortable bed, beautiful bed linen and amazing choice of breakfast. Can't wait for the next visit, can't come too soon.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cakebakermummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

I stayed here for a long weekend in July. First impressions were great- the garden is gorgeous and turned out to be the perfect spot for a refreshing G&T from their bar before taking the 20min stroll to the local pub.

The house is also beautiful. The rooms are bright and airy, with lots of quirky design features. And the bed left me unconscious for the entire night! Perfect.

Breakfast was delicious- lots of fresh fruit, granola, and loads of hot options in addition to the standard full English, all cooked with lots of care and attention.

The hosts were friendly, informative and obviously really wanted to give us the best experience possible.

We booked through Mr and Mrs Smith, and got one night free as a result. If I had been paying full price, there are a handful of things that would have made the stay even better...

Firstly, having just had a 4 hour drive from London, it would have been nice to have a couple of complimentary biscuits offered on arrival. I know this sounds like a really minor point, but it's something that often seems to come as standard in many cheaper B&Bs I have stayed in. Instead, we had to delve into the (fairly expensive) mini bar for a few snacks.

Secondly, it would be good to have bar prices on display. As mentioned above, we had a couple of drinks from their bar. At £5 for a single gin and tonic, this felt a bit steep and it would have been a bit of shock to see the bill on the last day if we'd used their bar regularly.

Finally, dogs! I must confess I am not an animal person at all, and I did know the B&B had dogs and cats when we booked. The cat was there the entire time and I didn't notice it at all. The dogs were only there on the last day, but spent most of the morning running around the garden and jumping all over the furniture, which wasn't particularly relaxing. I'm sure if we'd asked, the owners would have kept them in the house, and it definitely wouldn't stop me from coming back, but something to bear in mind when booking.

All in all however, a fantastic trip, and I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chillington
4.4 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
6.6 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
734 reviews
17.5 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 89 in Torquay
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
7.6 mi away
Thurlestone Hotel
Thurlestone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurlestone
528 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cutlands Barn
Cutlands Barn
#3 of 6 in Chillington
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitehouse

Property: Whitehouse
Address: Chillington TQ7 2JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Chillington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Chillington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whitehouse is our small and intimate home from home in the small sleepy coastal village of Chillington in South Devon. Tamara, Matthew and Ally have designed six unique bedrooms with bold statement lighting, practical, clever interiors and touches of vintage glamour making Whitehouse an individual place to stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Whitehouse Hotel Chillington
Whitehouse Chillington, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing