We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and modern B&B”
Review of Chillington House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chillington House
Ranked #1 of 6 Chillington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clean and modern B&B”
Reviewed 15 October 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed in Chillington House for one night this September (2012).
There was ample carparking, a nice lounge and in some parts of the house Wifi which is always a perk, even more so as free!
The Breakfast was presented nicely and was within the conservatory over looking a tidy back garden. Cereals, yogurt, toast were available as was a cooked breakfast as well. All in all a very nice B&B
Our only small issue was that our welcome wasn't as welcoming as others have written about. I'm not sure it was because we were relatively young (29 & 32 year old) or because we had left no card details as we were paying in cash. He ushered us in a way which felt a little awquard and then made a few comments about us paying straight away. Both myself and my girlfriend commented on this and in the end had a giggle over it. Apart from the gentleman of the household being a bit off we had a great time but wouldn't necessarily rush back.

Room Tip: If you want to acess the free wifi then maybe ask for a room near the router!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    12
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
73
5
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

I don't normally get around to writing reviews, and this one has taken a while to get to, but we loved this place so much, I've reviewed it on another site as well! We really don't have a bad word to say about the Chillington House. Everything was absolutely lovely, the initial welcome, the beautiful room, the fantastic breakfasts (that helped me add several pounds of bodyweight), and Adam & Janine's always helpful suggesions even though they were always busy. The location is great for exploring the area and there are some great reataurants and pubs for when breakfast eventually wears off. My 11 year old daughter has made us promise to go back as soon as possible, not that we needed much persuading. Thanks again Adam & Janine for a lovely time and we hope the kids are giving you a bit of a break every now and then. Steve, Deb and Ellie

Room Tip: Don't worry they are all nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dodders013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Clean, modern and a great breakfast to start the day along with free WI FI makes this place a little gem! Never stayed in a B&B before so was hesitant however after reading the Trip Advisor comments i booked it and will be using this place again the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank offint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Lovely room with great facilities.Lots of homely touches like real milk in the room and good biscuits in a jar. Very comfortable bed even for those of us with a bad back- so big lost my partner in the night!!! Great shower with lashing of hot water.fantastic breakfasts. Great 3 nights in a lovely area.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonym26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Torrington, UK
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012 via mobile

What a great place to stay. The decor is excellent. The bed very comfortable and roomy. Welcoming coffee well received as were the biscuits in the room. Our room opened onto the garden which was delightful. Breakfast was terrific. The only slight flaw was no Wifi in the room we were in and poor tv coverage but this is only minor. Would recommend highly and revisit.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2012

An amazing room - huge, light and bright with doors that opened out onto the garden and two garden tables (if only the weather had allowed us to make use of them). Tea, coffee, a Kilner jar full of biscuits (that were definitely welcomed by my little man), wonderful soaps and a wet room that could possibly have housed a small family it was so spacious! We were only there for two days but as well as the beds being made and the towels replaced the carpets were hoovered within that time in our room - I don't think that has ever happened in any of the hotels I have stayed in before.
Breakfast was gorgeous - homemade jam, fresh bread that you slice yourself, different menu choices for the two mornings we were there and a place set perfectly for a two year old (plastic cutlery and crockery)!
Hugely helpful staff and owners that pointed us in the right direction for a cash machine (well the Post Office) so that we didn't have to drive to and we could explore the local play area before the wedding we were attending instead of trawling the countryside (excellent when little people are in tow) then confirming the suitability of Pennywell Farm for a trip on the way home (a fabulous place itself).
It was wonderful to have other children around the hotel, who were playing (having fun) and not just confined to a corner as you sometimes fell compelled to make them, and a huge toybox to explore that my little boy adored. The one and only downfall was no fault of the hotel ... crotchety older vsitors who on the second morning decided to pass, just loud enough to hear but not to my face, snide comments about my little boy playing with one of the toys that made noises (not running around screaming - just sitting and playing without even talking all that much). Tip - please don't spoil such a wonderful family orientated place that the owners have created with your intolerance ... it is not fair to them (if you want total child-free peace and quite check the website details before booking a place that specifies a toybox - if you want a great, friendly, happy place that is even better than my own home then book away - I'd go back tomorrow (diet out of the window!).

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We only stayed for one night at the Chillington House hotel - we were then staying in rented accomodation near Salcombe for the remainder of the week. The hotel itself is small but very welcoming, run by a young couple with 2 small children. A pot of tea/ biscuits were very welcome in the large lounge when we arrived. The hotel has been tastefully and extensively renovated over the past 2 years and there are plans to improve/enlarge the conservatory. The garden was large and had plenty of room for younger guests to play.
Our bedroom was large and very comfortable, with a good en-suite shower room. Although on the main road from Kingsbridge to Dartmouth, it is very quiet and only a short distance from Start Bay. Breakfast was freshly cooked and beautifully served, with a good selection of both cooked and 'continental' fare - lovely breads too.
Chillington House reminded us of the many stylish, good value B&B's/small hotels in which we stayed along the Garden Route in South Africa - praise indeed!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank macna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Chillington House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chillington House

Property: Chillington House
Address: Chillington TQ7 2JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Chillington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Chillington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adam & Jeannie welcome you to Chillington House, a privately run Bed & Breakfast. Opened Spring 2011, decorated in a relaxing and comfortable style. Children & Dog friendly, open all year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Chillington House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chillington House Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing