We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful B&B”
Review of Chillington House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chillington House
Ranked #1 of 6 Chillington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Troon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful B&B”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We spent a delightful week in Chillington House in June. We cannot rate it highly enough. The bedroom was tastefully decorated as was the rest of the house. The shower room was clean and spacious. Home from home!

Jeannie and Adam are first class hosts and Adam's breakfasts are beautifully served and cooked.

We enjoyed having a lounge to sit in of an evening on our return from eating out.

All in all we cannot fault this hotel and would highly recommend it. Angus and Pat Drummond

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PatTroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    12
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
70
5
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Skipton
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We were attending a wedding locally so booked a 4 night stay at Chillington House in early June. We were pleasantly surprised at how spacious and comfortable our room was. Everything was immaculately clean and tidy.
Jeannie & Adam were very hospitable and did everything to make our stay perfect. Even provided 2 slices of cucumber to soothe my tired eyes!! The breakfasts were fabulous with a good choice available. They recommended the local pub for dinner which was excellent and you could walk there safely! The pub finished serving food at 9.00pm though.
With a guaranteed car parking space you could leave your car and go off exploring by bus.
I would definitely go back and highly recommend it to friends and family.
Thank you for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: We had room 4 on the ground floor situated on the corner/front of the building but did not really he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elvisskipton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We enjoyed our three night stay here in a spacious modern room with lovely bathroom and excellent breakfasts. We also thought Chillington was in a good spot being quite close to Dartmouth and even closer to Kingsbridge - we even used the bus a couple of times as it was so convenient and made a nice change from driving and parking! We would definitely recommend Chillington House.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mrs T H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Stayed again and still a great place to stay very clean and real nice owners with the best breakfast in Devon. You wont be disappointed trust me.
Bedrooms are really clean as is the whole place and very quite at night.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank offint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

The rooms are nice, clean and bright and the breakfasts are enjoyable.

Check out is pretty early being 10.00am.

Whilst it is clean etc., it was the least atmospheric of any of the places we stayed in terms of its welcome- which I would describe as business like.

We stayed locally in a number of farm based B&Bs - clearly these are not listed with the larger search engines (such a booking.com and laterooms)- but they are readily available in this area and they provide a very different kind of experience. Of course it depends what you are after!

Personally, there is something wonderful about looking out over fields, having milk and fresh eggs fresh from source- for me this was much more of a complete break from everything. Devon is blessed as such BBs are abundant in this area and accordingly they are worth seeking out. In my experience this results in one's stay feeling more like Devon and less like a London.

The house is described as a hotel and BB but in essence it is a BB- as no other services are offered. So you may have to travel further afield if you wish to dine at any time after the allotted breakfast time. The local pub in Chillington has closed down but there are some nice local pubs within 1-3 miles away which are worth checking out- Stay Bay (I think that's right, is a few miles away and has a great pub which serves fantastic seafood). Alternatively it is about 4-5 miles from Kingsbridge if you want to tap into its amenities, as there is little to nothing in Chillington which is a bit unfortunate.

It is clean, the rooms are nice but it left me cold. .

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 113jojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Chillington House is lovely hotel that was recently completely modernised by the current owners, a charming couple who take pride in their venture and take great to ensure the comfort of their guests.

On arrival I was greeted with a friendly greeting from the owners and a nice pot of tea.

The room was a very nice large with a big comfy bed, flat screen telly, tea making tray all in tasteful modern style. The bathroom had a walk in shower, again all new.

What makes this B & B slightly unusual is that guest have the use of a big lounge, this has a couple of sofas, a big fire and, very thoughtfully, a pile of board games and books to while away the odd hour should the weather be bad.

Breakfast was excellent, a very wide range of cereals, breads, fruit and jams followed by a delicious cooked meal. I opted for a cheese and ham omelette which was first rate. The great thing is that breakfast is served in a conservatory overlooking a charming cottage style garden.

All in all a very pleasant stay, I would certainly go back, a hotel to be thoroughly recommended.

Incidentally If, like me, you are an Ikea aficionado then you will just love this Hotel as the rooms, lounge (and if you have a peek) the kitchen are all from Ikea. I had great fun discussing with the owner the merits of Hemnes, Ektorp and Liatorp.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weybourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

A lovely relaxing long weekend in beautiful surroundings. Now live in Devon but first time we had been to this particular part of the county. We chose Chillington House on its ratings and we were not disappointed. The accommodation was excellent and the food really first class, Thanks for making a birthday treat so enjoyable. The local pubs (as recommended by the B & B) also served excellent evening meals

Room Tip: Whilst our room adjoined the "main" road, we were not disturbed by traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lordduke50129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Chillington House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chillington House

Property: Chillington House
Address: Chillington TQ7 2JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Chillington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Chillington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adam & Jeannie welcome you to Chillington House, a privately run Bed & Breakfast. Opened Spring 2011, decorated in a relaxing and comfortable style. Children & Dog friendly, open all year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chillington House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chillington House Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing